Dell Laptop User Thread

PoshPosh

48dc7c1f.jpg

v3locity

fwah, my mobo is having serious problem i guess..

anyone had a similar problem and have an approx. amt how much they'll charge, etc?

richkid83

v3locity said:
fwah, my mobo is having serious problem i guess..

anyone had a similar problem and have an approx. amt how much they'll charge, etc?
wat sort of problem? ur warranty over liao?

richkid83

yo guys.. who got upgrade to dell dvd burner for his laptop? the dvd writing spd is onli 1 X is it? so slow sia

paulsurflee

Which laptop to buy???

hi, all.
i wanted to buy a laptop, but don't know which 1 is good?
should i get a dell or acer?
i've been to dell's web site. saw a few.. 6400 / 640m xps m1210
which 1 is good? can someone pls help...
how come got 6400 and 640m? what is main different?

xps m1210 look really nice... but how slim is it???
what's the different between the 64xx laptop?
y dell got so many model?
making me so confuse

what is the different between those model?

do we really need a graphic card if we use it for watching show?
how about if playing game? like maplestory?

paulsurflee

t13 said:
i went to dell kiosk to see the 6400 and 9400, quite ok built quality... dunno in the long run though

dell kiosk???????? where is it???
i wanna go have a feel of the size of their laptop

t13

paulsurflee said:
dell kiosk???????? where is it???
i wanna go have a feel of the size of their laptop

suntec city, near watsons below the escalator

Tucksoon

paulsurflee said:
hi, all.

making me so confuse

1210 isn't slim, it's abt 1.2 inches thick. The main diff is the 12 inch screen (smaller form factor) and optional dedicated graphics (can play recent 3D games).

Why so many models? Different models cater to individual's needs and preferences. Ask yourself why you are getting a laptop. Gaming? Work? Surf the Internet? Do you carry it around often?

No offence but I feel u should read the sticky thread "Laptop Newbie guide" first.

paulsurflee

hi Tucksoon. thank your for the reply.
really lost in chosing a laptop so i decided to post for help. and get some idea from expert like u .
getting that laptop is for work to be bring around. internet too... sometimes can play game maybe also can watch dvd.
is 12" screen a little too small?????

Geforce3

paulsurflee said:
really lost in chosing a laptop so i decided to post for help. and get some idea from expert like u .
getting that laptop is for work to be bring around. internet too... sometimes can play game maybe also can watch dvd.
12.1 inch is too small if u want to watch dvds

Tucksoon

paulsurflee said:

First I'm not expert lah, I'm also interested in getting a notebook, just like u :s13:

Geforce3 is right. 12 inch notebook is more for mobility, say u need to carry it around for work. If u game and watch DVD a lot, I suggest a bigger screen of at least 13.3 or 14 inches.

Drop by the Dell Kiosk for a better feel of Dell notebooks. Of cos, SLS for other brands =:p

ad359b

paulsurflee said:
hi, all.

making me so confuse

hi
dell 6400 is 15 screen n heavy abt 2.8kg.
dell 640 is 14 screen n abt 2.5kg.
except the screen size n weight, the rest of spec are abt the same. these two models different abt $100 also.

dcm_75

dial up error

I have an Inspiron 4100 which worked great until I upgraded the Harddisk.

I was able to reinstall windows (XP home) from the rescue disk provided with the laptop and even activate it online !!! after I installed the modem driver (Actiontec v92 MDC)..but now I am not able to use my dial up.

It is able to detect the modem, start dialing, even connect..but stops at the "Verifying username and password" stage with either "Response not received on time" or "The username and password do not apply for this domain"..The username and password are valid and correctly entered. I have enquired with my ISP and their systems are ok.

I also tried by removing the username & password from the dial up settings, so that I could enter it manually during connection..but surprisingly, it does not prompt for these during connection and goes on to show "Verifying username..." with the above errors.

Is it using some default/pre-set usename & password?..I have single logon account for windows without any password (the same setting as earlier, when everything worked) .This is a new formatted disk, so no question of mixup with earlier settings..

Is is an issue with the drivers/ Windows/ modem/ cable ??

thanks

PierceLee

richkid83 said:
hmmm nobody have any idea abt the dvd buner thing? :s11:
I have a 630m in front of me now, just checked that the drive is an NEC ND-6650A. According to the manufacturer's web page here, it should have 8x DVD+/-R write speed (slower for RW).

Yours will depend on what drive Dell puts in. And obviously it will also depend on the DVD media that you put in for burning. RecordNow (or whatever software) will give you a choice of "max", "8x", ..., "1x" (whatever is available based on the drive and media combination) when you burn it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.