Dell Laptop User Thread

PierceLee

Geforce3 said:
12.1 inch is too small if u want to watch dvds
I think 12" is quite ok for watching DVD. There are lots of 7" portable DVD players out there and people are watching those, not to mention the 2.5" iPod/Zen Vision"M. The high-end portable DVD players are also 12" (but would you pay $1200 for that, or pay $1500 for a real notebook :)). If you are watching it at home, hook it up to a bigger monitor if you have to.

richkid83

PierceLee said:
I have a 630m in front of me now, just checked that the drive is an NEC ND-6650A. According to the manufacturer's web page here, it should have 8x DVD+/-R write speed (slower for RW).

Yours will depend on what drive Dell puts in. And obviously it will also depend on the DVD media that you put in for burning. RecordNow (or whatever software) will give you a choice of "max", "8x", ..., "1x" (whatever is available based on the drive and media combination) when you burn it.

mine is the same as urs... but then i think the 8x is read speed not write spd.. tt day i dunno click which part.. then can choose cdr write spd and dvd write spd.. cd is 24X and dvd is 1x onli dunno real or not

Geforce3

PierceLee said:
I think 12" is quite ok for watching DVD. There are lots of 7" portable DVD players out there and people are watching those, not to mention the 2.5" iPod/Zen Vision"M. The high-end portable DVD players are also 12" (but would you pay $1200 for that, or pay $1500 for a real notebook :)). If you are watching it at home, hook it up to a bigger monitor if you have to.
personal preference bah :s13:

paulsurflee

thank u

Hi all.
thank your for all your kindness help.
ya 640m did not come with graphic card.
maybe i'll consider the 6400 as the 1210 had really small screen 12"????
hahah very tiny... eyes get tired if stare at the screen for too long.
think 14" should be safe.

will take a look at other brand as well.
thanks for all the effort.

by the way 1 more question
is apple good???

Tucksoon

paulsurflee said:
by the way 1 more question
is apple good???

An apple a day keeps the doctor away :s13:

Kidding, the new Macbook looks good. Anyway what's ur budget?

PierceLee

richkid83 said:
mine is the same as urs... but then i think the 8x is read speed not write spd.. tt day i dunno click which part.. then can choose cdr write spd and dvd write spd.. cd is 24X and dvd is 1x onli dunno real or not
Check the NEC site I linked above. Here's the URL: http://www.nec.co.uk/DVD_RW_ND6650.aspx
It shows DVD+/-R write speed is 8x.

I think you were looking at RecordNow, tools->options->advanced. It has a dropdown for CD with values "Max" and "24x", DVD with values "Max" and "1x". I think this is because no DVD media is loaded for burning. The blank DVD disc has the supported speed like "8x" hardcoded on the disc. Not all disc can be burnt at 8x. Just leave it as "Max". If you use a 4x DVD disc, it will burn at 4x, if you use 8x DVD disc, it will burn at 8x.

v3locity

Bah, it's official! one ram slot is down on my i6000!

Dell's sending me a quotation for a mobo change tomorrow.

Anyone had the same problem before? or better still know how much approx. they'll charge? :o

Geforce3

v3locity said:
Bah, it's official! one ram slot is down on my i6000!

Dell's sending me a quotation for a mobo change tomorrow.

Anyone had the same problem before? or better still know how much approx. they'll charge? :o
song boh hahaa, not too sure man :D never kana the problem before

richkid83

PISSED OFF

WOA LAO EH.. I AM DAMN PISSED WITH DELL NOW!!!

story..

i bought the dell for less than 1 month.. 1st thing keyboard spoil ok nvr mind.. they change
now got dead pixel i ask them to change.. they send 3 engineers to my house.. then they USE screw drivers and flat tips to open up my com to change lcd... in the end, the new lcd they brought still got dead pixel and i show them on the spot and they admitted it.. then after tt, i notice my dell is full of scratches because they open up the casing with the flat tips and screwdrivers.. and there are CRACKS on my laptop casing now.. I am realli piss off by this kind of stand :mad: so i called up the management and request dell 1 to 1 laptop xchange :mad: and she tell me manager off work tmr will reply me before 12

wtf service is this? use flat tip to open plastic.. got brains or not.. confirm will scratch one mah.. if they dun xchange i going to use dell return policy liao... return their fugging laptop :mad: :s27:

richkid83

beside tt.. one of the engineer use my phone to call up dell to confirm problem solved.. then later he actually chat with the person on the phone toking abt wat penang laksa...wtf... use my house phone for chatting... then the other 2 engineer is confirm new hands.... they dunno how to take all the things one.!! ask new hands come test my laptop and scratch it!! wtf... :s27:

t13

richkid83 said:
wtf service is this? use flat tip to open plastic.. got brains or not.. confirm will scratch one mah.. if they dun xchange i going to use dell return policy liao... return their fugging laptop :mad: :s27:

sounds bad... :(

donald83

hey widescreen laptop users, when u all watch videos, then is the image shown as widescreen as well or there are 2 black panels at the side? Last time i watch it with widescreen then after i format, now got 2 black panels. anyone can help? using a 6000 here.

Geforce3

richkid83 said:
WOA LAO EH.. I AM DAMN PISSED WITH DELL NOW!!!

story..

i bought the dell for less than 1 month.. 1st thing keyboard spoil ok nvr mind.. they change
now got dead pixel i ask them to change.. they send 3 engineers to my house.. then they USE screw drivers and flat tips to open up my com to change lcd... in the end, the new lcd they brought still got dead pixel and i show them on the spot and they admitted it.. then after tt, i notice my dell is full of scratches because they open up the casing with the flat tips and screwdrivers.. and there are CRACKS on my laptop casing now.. I am realli piss off by this kind of stand :mad: so i called up the management and request dell 1 to 1 laptop xchange :mad: and she tell me manager off work tmr will reply me before 12

the engineers are not from dell actually. sub contracted one

v3locity

woah ****.. i hope my mobo changed will not be witnessed by me.. else i surely kpkb one :mad:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.