Dell Laptop User Thread

r3f3r3e

eh...i just received dell inspiron 6400 today but then i found out that the screen got red dots on it...OMG~ think LCD defects...

WHat should i do? calling the dell ? aWWWW

btw...wanna ask about the warrantly... how come theres no warrantly card or using online warrantly liao? but i cannot find the webby for the online warrantly register?

Garf83

r3f3r3e said:
eh...i just received dell inspiron 6400 today but then i found out that the screen got red dots on it...OMG~ think LCD defects...

WHat should i do? calling the dell ? aWWWW

btw...wanna ask about the warrantly... how come theres no warrantly card or using online warrantly liao? but i cannot find the webby for the online warrantly register?
Yes, the first thing u shld do is to call Dell. There's no warrantly card... look at the bottom of your lappy... :) u shld be able to find a sticker that says something like 'service number' for you to quote when u talk to the CSOs. :) tell then the defects damn bad... erm... they shld be willing to change the LCD for you. Erm... but dont forget you hold the "Trump card" - 30days money back gurantee. :) But dont worry, the CSOs shld be helpful n friendly enough to solve your problems.

samuel21

garf83, i just purchased one from him but havent receive, it costs 20 bucks with 1 dollar mail fee, hope it helps~!

r3f3r3e

Garf83 said:
Yes, the first thing u shld do is to call Dell. There's no warrantly card... look at the bottom of your lappy... :) u shld be able to find a sticker that says something like 'service number' for you to quote when u talk to the CSOs. :) tell then the defects damn bad... erm... they shld be willing to change the LCD for you. Erm... but dont forget you hold the "Trump card" - 30days money back gurantee. :) But dont worry, the CSOs shld be helpful n friendly enough to solve your problems.
if they accept the deflects laptop, then will they send another laptop back here or something? or singapore has a dell store to change the LCD? Cuz there should be either 1 collecting/delivering the faulty laptop back

r3f3r3e

o yea.... the CSO says he will send a engineer coming my house and MAYBE doing for a LCD change for me....

hai....quite troublesame

TrueB1ue

Battery Recall

Dear Dell Customer,

Dell has identified a potential issue associated with certain batteries sold with Dell Latitude™, Inspiron™, XPS™ and Dell Precision Mobile Workstation™ notebook computers. In cooperation with the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission and other regulatory agencies, Dell is voluntarily recalling certain Dell-branded batteries with cells manufactured by Sony and offering free replacements for these batteries. Under rare conditions, it is possible for these batteries to overheat, which could pose a risk of fire.

Potentially affected batteries were sold with the following models of Dell notebook computers or separately as secondary batteries:

Latitude: D410, D500, D505, D510, D520, D600, D610, D620, D800, D810
Inspiron: 500M, 510M, 600M, 700M, 710M, 6000, 6400, 8500, 8600, 9100, 9200, 9300, 9400, E1505, E1705
Precision: M20, M60, M70, M90
XPS: XPS, XPS Gen2, XPS M170, XPS M1710
In addition, these batteries may have also been provided in response to service calls. The batteries were shipped to customers between April 1, 2004 and July 18, 2006. The words "DELL" and "Made in Japan" or "Made in China" or "Battery cell made in Japan, Assembled in China" are printed on the back of the batteries. If your battery does not reflect one of these markings it is not part of this recall, and you may exit the site.

There is a two (2) step process to identify if your battery is affected:

Check if your battery model MAY be affected. If your battery is not listed, you are not affected.
Check if your specific battery PPID (Dell Part Piece Identification) is affected. This step is necessary to identify if your battery is affected. Only some batteries within each model are affected. If the battery is subject to this recall you will be automatically connected to a replacement order form.
Step 1: Is your battery model affected?

The following battery models, only, may be subject to recall:

1K055
C5340
D6024
JD616
U5867
X5333

3K590
C5446
D6025 JD617 U5882
X5875

C6269
F2100 KD494 W5915 X5877

6P922
C6270 F5132
M3006 X5308 Y1333
C2603 D2961 GD785 RD857 X5329 Y4500
C5339 D5555 H3191 TD349 X5332 Y5466

These part numbers are printed on the back of the battery packs as illustrated below.

Step 2: Is your specific battery affected by this issue?

To determine whether your battery is affected by this issue, you should Click Here. The website will direct you to find and enter an identification number from the back of your battery pack so as to determine whether the battery is affected by this issue. If the battery is subject to this recall you will be automatically connected to a replacement order form. Dell will also provide a means for you to return the affected battery packs for proper disposal.

You can also write to Dell Inc., Attn: Battery Recall, 9701 Metric Blvd., Suite 200, Austin, TX 78758.

Please note that only the described battery packs are subject to this recall and not the notebook computers themselves.

Batteries subject to recall should not be used while awaiting a replacement battery pack from Dell. You may continue to use your notebook computer using the AC adapter power cord originally provided with your notebook.

Dell apologizes for the inconvenience caused by this issue. Shipment of quality products always has been and continues to be Dell's foremost concern. As always, if you have questions or concerns about this or any other subject, please feel free to contact Dell Support in your region.

Sincerely,

Dell Inc.
Attn: Battery Recall
9701 Metric Blvd. Suite 200
Austin, TX 78758
USA

Garf83

r3f3r3e said:
o yea.... the CSO says he will send a engineer coming my house and MAYBE doing for a LCD change for me....

hai....quite troublesame
Electronics are lidat de... see wat the engineer says. cheer up :)

Mantotrakkre

Hi guys I have a dell inspiron 8600. Thinking of upgrading my ram anyone to recomemd to do this. Called dell and their charges are steep

Garf83

samuel21 said:
garf83, i just purchased one from him but havent receive, it costs 20 bucks with 1 dollar mail fee, hope it helps~!
:) update us when u receives it. haha... it really looks 'cool' in the pictures.

PierceLee

samuel21 said:
huh my 640m like made in china leh...how chiu know urs in korean?
He's talking about his 640m's battery being made in Korea (not the laptop itself). The first 2 letters (sticker on the battery) shows the country, like KR or JP.

Garf83

PierceLee said:
He's talking about his 640m's battery being made in Korea (not the laptop itself). The first 2 letters (sticker on the battery) shows the country, like KR or JP.
yeah yeah... Remove the battery to see the sticker. :) The charger is made in China, battery is Korea.
The lappy itself has components from everywhere... so cant really say made in 'where' :) but its assembled in Malaysia. hee... :s22:

Mantotrakkre

Hi guys I have a dell inspiron 8600. Thinking of upgrading my ram anyone to recomemd to do this. Called dell and their charges are steep

Garf83

Mantotrakkre said:
u gotta see wat brand/type of RAM u are using then go to SLS n find got any cheaper deals. :)

Garf83

samuel21 said:
hi all, my 640m keyboard cover is really great. I recommend all of u to geddit! =)
wah seh... :) making us tempted huh. haha... it's custom made for ur lappy? really sounds cool... look for who sia?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.