Dell Laptop User Thread

kohyokechye

hmm... the one i refering to is the red circle. latitude got some kind of slot infront but precision dun hv. or is it thats the battery? :s11:

kohyokechye

d620io4.jpg

d620hu8.jpg

benoit

inside the batt compartment, there's a SIM card slot, any idea how to play with it ? cos Dell didin't provide the software.

Diavonex

benoit said:
inside the batt compartment, there's a SIM card slot, any idea how to play with it ? cos Dell didin't provide the software.

I believe this is for Mobile Broadband or Wireless Wide Area Network (WWAN) e.g. 3.5G

kohyokechye

benoit said:
SIM as in the mobile phone SIM cards? :s31: ohh!! i just realised my M65 also hv that

Diavonex

kohyokechye said:
SIM as in the mobile phone SIM cards? :s31: ohh!! i just realised my M65 also hv that

Yes mobile phone SIM card; check your manual for WWAM or Mobile Broadband.

bananakid

Bought my Dell 6400 during the June PC show this year in Singapore. Sadly the laptop broke down on saturday. Can't boot...can't even power on. As this my 1st laptop...tot siao liao lah.

Cos Dell ppl only work 5-day week, have to wait until Monday to call. Here, I would like to say...they have given me one of the best after-sales service i ever experienced. The consultant arranged over the phone for a tech guy to come on site to service my laptop the next day. Mind you, i am not in SG, but in JDK in Perth, Aus...some ulu place lah.

Over the phone they suspected is the MB problem, so tech guy brought a new MB as planned. My 6400 was take apart like " five horse split corpse". But in 50mins, the job was done and its as good as new. Of cos all FOC cos under cover mah.

Just wanna say for a brand that is still considered inferior to others, their after-sales service is superb. My mate got a branded one and it took the company 2-weeks just to replace the fan (cos have to send to Sydney and back).

Will consider extending the warranty for 2 more years when i go back as SG...cos thinking of adding more RAM.

Also would like to highlight some issues on Gaming.

---Raven Shield:
The game was damm jerky (serious keyboard lag). Did a search and realise that my laptop was not optimised for Duo Core ( i suspect it's a batch problem).
Came across a website that explain how to tweak the registry to solve the problem (well...do it at your own risk...but its not that difficult lah).

http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=60416

After that was done, the game run as smooth as silk.

---NFScarbon
This game after i installed, can't even start...KNN..gave me the Blue Screen of Death somemore.
Realise it's the ATI Catalyst Control Centre that was giving the problem...so i uninstalled and replace with the Omega Driver/Control Panel. Problem solved.

http://www.omegadrivers.net/ati/win2k_xp.php

That's all....Merry X'mas everyone!

benoit

yes, as a matter of fact, Dell does provide world wide warranty, I've colleagues who travelled to England, US, Hong Kong, even India, and got their laptops fixed overseas. So as long it's covered, but as for if it's cover under world wide, that I dunno how to check, but all you need is the service tag, call the local Dell service number and they'll provide "next business day" on site.

BradenHeat

Add me into the family Inspiron 6400

My First questions
1) After charging, do i leave the battery in the slot or must I take it out for safty reasons?

2) Is there a way to check my current warranty?

Hope to hear some replies soon

kohyokechye

BradenHeat said:

My First questions
1) After charging, do i leave the battery in the slot or must I take it out for safty reasons?

Dell is smart enough to stop charging once ur battery is fully charged. so its ok to leave it in there. the system will automatically stop charging and use the AC instead.

u can check the warranty online.

cracker

Hi, I will like to know which type of warranty programe did u purchase ?

Currently Dell is offering 640M with C2D 1.6 base unit at 1399 (exclude delivery fee) with 512 RAM, 120 GB HDD and the standard 1 yr warranty. The extra 2 warranty programs are in the region of 2xx dollars..( is it good to have).

Is it better tp get the additional 512 RAM from SLS or from DELL..heard of compatibility problem in the past if bought from outside.

Thx.

BradenHeat

kohyokechye said:
Dell is smart enough to stop charging once ur battery is fully charged. so its ok to leave it in there. the system will automatically stop charging and use the AC instead.

u can check the warranty online.
0.0, wow that is some good technology investment they have.
Athough mine isn't a gaming laptop, but it really doesn'y heat up or lag too much when I DotA

Dell laptops might look like plastic, but with
-good speakers
-Battery similar to iMACs? Stops charging automatically? I've yet to test it with the NHC
-very, very good cooling

And personally, I find their design is quite streamlined
'cept for the the Word "DELL" imprinted right below the screen. Guess the age of the laptop is coming soon.

Diavonex

BradenHeat said:

My First questions

1. You can leave the battery in the computer. There is protection against over-charging. The 6400 is very well design because the battery is located at the coolest part of the computer.

2. Check your warranty here:

http://supportapj.dell.com/support/...ems_info/en/details?c=sg&cs=sgdhs1&l=en&s=dhs

jasontaycs

aiki_fantasy said:
Hi, like to ask if it is worth config a 6400 from a 2x512MB to a 2x1GB SDRAM for US$164 in the US site? Would it be cheaper to purchase a 1GB SDRAM from SLS, what is the type of SDRAM is compatible and rough price. Thanks.

Intending of getting a 1x1GB for the config to allow future upgrade but there is no such option. Would 1GB be enough to run vista smoothly? Thanks.

I bought a 6400 with 512. Went to MemoryWorld at SLS - they have guaranteed compatibility and great service. Bought a 1GB 667 DDR2 so total is 1.5GB. Been using for 6 months - no problems - blazing fast.

Note: I bought from other shops 3 times with problems, b4 going to MemoryWorld. Just quote them your laptop/PC brand & model and they'll key in to their database for the compatible model.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.