addict951

oh, funny, ram price going up??
cos it cost $192 to add additional 1Gb ram now on Dell ap :eek:

addict951

eh wait U can deselect the mouse and the price will go down by $54.
no need for the mouse lah, useless 1 :o

addict951

otacon said:
i know it's a stupid question to ask here, but is Dell really a good n reliable notebook? anyone regretted buying Dell?

i m looking at Dell m640 with the below specs:
1. Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo Processor T7200
2. Windows(R) XP Professional SP2
3. 100GB SATA 7200RPM Performance Hard Drive
4. Intel(R) Media Accelerator 950 Graphics
5. 14.1" WXGA TFT Display
6. 1GB (2 X 512MB) 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
7. Internal 8X DVD+/-RW Combination Drive with dual layer

Comes with 2-Year Collect & Return Warranty, Microsoft(R) Works 8.5, Targus USB Wireless Mouse and free delivery. All at a price of S$1,822.80

I just config-ed xps M1210 for you, think more hua
T5500
1Gb 667
Vista Home Premium
2 yrs xps premium support (warranty)
100Gb hdd 7200rpm
$1963.50

otacon

addict951 said:
I just config-ed xps M1210 for you, think more hua
T5500
1Gb 667
Vista Home Premium
2 yrs xps premium support (warranty)
100Gb hdd 7200rpm
$1963.50
but u said 1GB is just nice for Windows Vista and if next time upgrade ram, must throw away both rams n buy 2 x 1GB, so is this recommended?

actually this laptop is for my manager's daughter, i m not too sure if she is used to windows vista. do u foresee windows vista as a necessary OS in near future?

otacon

thought this might be quite gd if i decide to go with Windows Vista:
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo Processor T5500
1-year XPS Premier Service with 1-year CompleteCover
12.1" Wide Screen XGA display
1.3MP Web Cam
2GB (2 X 1024MB) 667MHz Dual Channel
Targus USB Wireless Mouse
100GB SATA 7200RPM Performance Hard Drive
256MB NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) Go 7400
9-cell 85Whr Lithium Ion Primary Battery

S$1,988.70

but this does not come with carry bag. when i tried to remove the targus mouse, cannot continue as it was part of the package. What do u think?

vapor77

vapor77 said:
Hi...wondering How much u bought the XPS M1210? At what spec?

Thanks. Thinking of buying 1 as well. 10yrs w/o a laptop already.

Guys...Need to check how much was the XPS going at the recent PC show? What spec.

Thanks!

O2crazy

yeah! Damn ex..
Sians.. i m using the inspiron 640m
dual core... 1 gb ram...
i tot of adding another 1 gb ram...but damn ex..
GUYS...any advise? what is the speed n such?
i want to go SLS to buy myself buy duno which is e correct one...
wonder how much it is selling in SLS...

a4su_skyhawk

addict951 said:
I answer 1st. :D

I got my 640m (14", T5300 with 2Gb 667) from Suntec show.
Great value, somemore pretty chio looking (albeit a bit thick)
the bestest thing is it's not hot at all! So, no regrets at all :s12:
I second that. Not only it is not hot but the fan also very quiet.
I bought mine at the beginning of this year, 6 months already and so far so good.

BTW, mine is 640m (T5500, upgraded my RAM to 1.5GB last month.)

a4su_skyhawk

O2crazy said:
yeah! Damn ex..
Sians.. i m using the inspiron 640m
dual core... 1 gb ram...
i tot of adding another 1 gb ram...but damn ex..
GUYS...any advise? what is the speed n such?
i want to go SLS to buy myself buy duno which is e correct one...
wonder how much it is selling in SLS...
Yeah, now SODIMM RAM is about $58-$60.
Bought mine last month at $55 for 1GB DDR2 667.

otacon

a4su_skyhawk said:
I second that. Not only it is not hot but the fan also very quiet.
I bought mine at the beginning of this year, 6 months already and so far so good.

BTW, mine is 640m (T5500, upgraded my RAM to 1.5GB last month.)
upgrade to 1.5GB got a lot of differ? then got to keep/sell/throw the existing 512MB ram loh

a4su_skyhawk

O2crazy said:
bro..where did u bough urs?
how do i see which ram is suitable for my inspiron 640m?
Bell.
Refers to Diavonex's post.

otacon said:
upgrade to 1.5GB got a lot of differ? then got to keep/sell/throw the existing 512MB ram loh
Normal task like office suite applications, surfing can't see the difference.
But I do notice some improvement in video rendering/encoding. The time taken is much lesser.

otacon

a4su_skyhawk said:
Bell.
Refers to Diavonex's post.

Normal task like office suite applications, surfing can't see the difference.
But I do notice some improvement in video rendering/encoding. The time taken is much lesser.
does upgrading the ram voids the warranty if u do it yourself?

otacon

how come when i customised 2 640M notebook; 1 with winxp sp2 while the other 1 with vista Home Premium, vista Home Premium costs $1843.80 while winxp costs $1,886.85? they trying to push for Home Premium instead of winxp?

is there a lot of difference in performance if i get 120GB hdd instead of 100GB 7200rpm hdd?

addict951

otacon said:
how come when i customised 2 640M notebook; 1 with winxp sp2 while the other 1 with vista Home Premium, vista Home Premium costs $1843.80 while winxp costs $1,886.85? they trying to push for Home Premium instead of winxp?

is there a lot of difference in performance if i get 120GB hdd instead of 100GB 7200rpm hdd?

You mean change from 5400rpm to 7200rpm hdd?
yes, Diavonex answered b4.

Actually I swopped 1 5400rpm hdd to a 7200rpm hdd on my sis' desktop, got quite noticeable diff. can feel 1.

eh, you just configurating for your boss' sis? xmm type is it?
haiyo, no need gibe such good specs also mah
get her the Turion model also can
just get Vista lah
Vista shuts down faster than WinXP

addict951

otacon said:
does upgrading the ram voids the warranty if u do it yourself?

all those detachable self-upgradable parts won't void the warranty 1
applicable to all brands

otacon

addict951 said:
You mean change from 5400rpm to 7200rpm hdd?
yes, Diavonex answered b4.

Actually I swopped 1 5400rpm hdd to a 7200rpm hdd on my sis' desktop, got quite noticeable diff. can feel 1.

eh, you just configurating for your boss' sis? xmm type is it?
haiyo, no need gibe such good specs also mah
get her the Turion model also can
just get Vista lah
Vista shuts down faster than WinXP
first time saw her, she quite big size. recently saw her, she down-sized a little and more pretty liao but still not my taste. anyway, i dun think i wanna get a turiion for her la, i think she is sec 4 liao. the above specs very good mah? i think she normal use only, maybe watch video, blogging, surf net, etc. 1gb ram shld b enuf for her hor?

addict951 said:
all those detachable self-upgradable parts won't void the warranty 1
applicable to all brands
ic, never owned a notebook b4, so i not too sure myself. thanks for clarifying

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.