Dell Laptop User Thread

Diavonex

The 3 years warranty does give you peace of mind.

The LCD and motherboard can cost more than $500 to replace.

sue88

bernier said:
which lcd cover color did you get?I just placed an order now but I choose the red color which takes 4-5weeks to deliver...

Coffee. I recieved a confirmation email from Dell, in there it's estimated 10 days, in the end it's shortened to 2 days...

Diavonex

sue88 said:
I didn't get the extended warranty, cost closed to $300 so not sure if it's needed.

You can extend warranty a month before it expire.

After the warranty runs out, you will incur additional costs to get your system Re-certified. I think approx. $70.

sue88

Diavonex said:
The 3 years warranty does give you peace of mind.

The LCD and motherboard can cost more than $500 to replace.

Oh, you mean they breakdown that easily?

Diavonex

Radeon_Tan said:
but after 2 years dont know if they have the parts to replace boh? :s34:

If they do not have the parts, they'll probably give you a "new" computer. :s13:

2007-09-03_210931Medium.jpg

natas

sue88 said:
I ordered a 1420 online on 30th (Thurs when Comex started) and it's now ready for delivery. Thought I would have to wait for at least 2 weeks but this is really fast!

Same same, ordered 1420 online on 30/8, deliver tmr 4/9 in the evening. :s12:

alex76

Diavonex said:
You can extend warranty a month before it expire.

After the warranty runs out, you will incur additional costs to get your system Re-certified. I think approx. $70.

Hold on guys, I'm a bit confuse with the waranty here, I called Dell, they can't seems to give me an understanable explanation....

My questions:-

1. Can I buy the extended warranty when my current normal limited warranty is about to end about 1 yr later?

2. I believe the come-together limited 1 yr warranty does have "complete cover" like spillage, drop, breakage...etc.... right? so if i buy only one year extended, it will run concurrently with the limited warranty right?

3. if I find getting 3yr extended warranty is too ex, can I buy 1 yr first, then renew it yearly when expiring, like our car insurance?

I ask Dell about the extended warranty she told me I dun need that now since I'm home user cos it covers late night and weekend service which usually company need that to reduce downtime.

blurr blurr :s22:

alex76

sue88 said:
I ordered a 1420 online on 30th (Thurs when Comex started) and it's now ready for delivery. Thought I would have to wait for at least 2 weeks but this is really fast!

They only deliver mon-fri 9-6pm right? my home nobody at home everyday till 7pm.... how ar? they deliver on weekend?

alex76

li_chenwei48 said:
I think I got it cheaper too when I ordered my BT from the Dell Kiosk

Ya the delivery very fast.

It was supposed to be after CNY I'll recieved but install I got it 2 days after I ordered, abt 3 days before CNY

the bluetooh not by default already opted-in meh???

alex76

I've booked mine on 3 Sept 07.
Specs:-
Dell Inspiron 1420
Intel Core2 Duo Pro T5250 1.5 GHz, 2MB cache 667MHz FSB
Window Vista home Basic
14.1" WXGA (normal)
Alpine White with integrated 2MP webcam (upgrade)
1GB SDRAM 667MHz dual channel DDR2
120GB SATA HDD (upgrade)
Internal 8x DVD+/- RW Combo drive Dual layer write
Intel integrated Graphics
Intel Wireless N mini card (upgrade)
Dell wireless Bluetooth module
9cell 85Whr Lithium Ion (upgrade)

$1166.30 nett

Hope it can serve me well for my basic usage

natas

alex76 said:
They only deliver mon-fri 9-6pm right? my home nobody at home everyday till 7pm.... how ar? they deliver on weekend?

They deliver till late in the night, they called me telling me, they will deliver to me between 6-10pm. Weekend I dunno.

alex76

westkimi said:
How come have 30c? You ordered online?

Last day at Comex have free webcam/colour kit and anti-virus software.

what is 30c?? yup, ordered online... wah buy at Suntec got free webcam and color kit? I pais $64 for that leh.... but my upgrade more than $100 so got $50 discount

alex76

alex76 said:
Hold on guys, I'm a bit confuse with the waranty here, I called Dell, they can't seems to give me an understanable explanation....

My questions:-

1. Can I buy the extended warranty when my current normal limited warranty is about to end about 1 yr later?

2. I believe the come-together limited 1 yr warranty does have "complete cover" like spillage, drop, breakage...etc.... right? so if i buy only one year extended, it will run concurrently with the limited warranty right?

3. if I find getting 3yr extended warranty is too ex, can I buy 1 yr first, then renew it yearly when expiring, like our car insurance?

I ask Dell about the extended warranty she told me I dun need that now since I'm home user cos it covers late night and weekend service which usually company need that to reduce downtime.

blurr blurr :s22:

anybody have any idea on this issue?

babydoll79

eh... i heard from a col that Windows Vista is able to track down unauthentic Microsoft Office softwares... true?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.