Dell Laptop User Thread

BurgerLim

hi pros, i would like some nice advice as to why my laptop feels laggy during gameplay... playing crysis and fifa 08... fifa 08 seems even more laggy than crysis... any suggestions on what i can do??

I'm currently using a DELL XPS M1530. C2D 2.2GHz, Nvidia 8600M GT and 4GB RAM (shown as 3.5GB)... there seems to be 70++ processes running when i start up the task manager... in the meantime, i'll try to scan for viruses again~~

About the lagging, did you perform a full clean reinstall? usually installation from vendors sucks (my point of view - due to the restore setting that consistently monitoring your nb activity, inefficient utility or restore partition. Also check any pre-install utility from vendor.. those r usually the culprit.. either try remove as much of those or do a full reinstall and only install needed driver.. to keep the OS lightest possible . HTH. :s8:

reflush

Hi All,
Anyone know which shop at sim lim that offer notebook service that can be trust ?
Hear some rumor, they fix the notebook, but at the same time, they takeout some part and replace it with the item (chip or resistor) they know only can last 2-3 weeks.

Cheers :)
Dany

Hi Dell users,
Anyone know where service place that quite OK to service my Inspiron 4150.
My notebook suddently can not on, the 2nd light next to the power button keep blink and the light on right side (power and HD) steady on.

Thanks for any info/ reply.

hellfire190

About the lagging, did you perform a full clean reinstall? usually installation from vendors sucks (my point of view - due to the restore setting that consistently monitoring your nb activity, inefficient utility or restore partition. Also check any pre-install utility from vendor.. those r usually the culprit.. either try remove as much of those or do a full reinstall and only install needed driver.. to keep the OS lightest possible . HTH. :s8:

hi, care to elaborate on steps to undertake? anw, fifa 08 seemed like a disaster during team setup n team choosing... it was ultra laggy~~ but gameplay was extremely smooth... any idea why this is happening? I think i spent more time choosing team / setting up team than gameplay... qte sad haha~~

BurgerLim

Hi, there,

for my everynotebook, i will clone a disk image (just incase) then whola! clean reinstall everything just to make sure nothing unnecessary get in to the disk.. (my hp 8710p works like a rocket after that.. vista benchmark form 4.x ~ 5. XP super responsive..
for steps by steps guide you may want to google a bit for your model..

HTH

PrinCe_iL

Hi All,

I'm using Dell Latitude D630. Got it from SNBB when I signed a 30mths contract with them. The problem I faced currently is the "cracking" sound coming from my lappy. The "cracking" sound appears whenever I started to play mp3 songs. The song which I played are not with heavy bass, but just normal chinese mandarin pop songs. I've tested with the lappy's PC speaker having the same problem. I tested it with my ear phone, having the same "cracking" sound as well.
I've also tested it with my old speakers, and it's the same thing, same "cracking" sound. I used my mp3 to test my old speakers and confirmed the speakers is working fine. The mp3 player plays MUCH MUCH better sound compared to the Sigmatel Sound card from my Dell D630.

As such, cannot tahan, went down to SLS to purchase an Altec Lansing speakers for $89. Went home tested my lappy again, AND THEN have the same cracking sound! Updated the latest drivers from dell's homepage and still facing similar issues. Haiz, no choice called up their hotline to get their engineer to come down tml morning.

Any1 facing the same problem as me? :( :(

PC_Dreams

Featured Distributor for Notebook Clinic
The Latitude D series had a known audio problem among the community for a couple of years now.
Can't remember exactly what it was, but something to do with power supply line interfering with the onboard audio or something like that, causing hissing and cracking sounds. You can search about this news.

PrinCe_iL

PC Dreams, i've went to dellcommunity, but they did not state any "power supply line interfering with the onboard audio" leh. Are you able to provide me the link pls?

PC_Dreams

aliensg

the hissing or whining issue seem to have been reported for all the new dell laptops including inspiron and vostro, not just the d630. i am not sure how severe the problem is or whether it happens to every laptop... some say it is due to the intel chip, but i think this cannot be.

PrinCe_iL

i'm currently writing to dell to feedback some horrible experiences encountered. Tak boleh tahan man!

BurgerLim

Hi, PrinCe

care to how to hear the hissing sound? i mean how to trigger it.. or just play any music source will do? cos gonna get the D630 (singtel) this wk.. anyone else is having this issue?

PrinCe_iL

BurgerLim,

bro, when u play an mp3 song in media player, you will notice the distorted song. Even when u don't maximise the volume in windows, u will notice the distortion already. Haiz.. sian man really this problem

PC_Dreams

BurgerLim,

bro, when u play an mp3 song in media player, you will notice the distorted song. Even when u don't maximise the volume in windows, u will notice the distortion already. Haiz.. sian man really this problem

Every laptop has its flaws, some tolerable, others not so.
The D630 is meant for business use which do not really need multimedia features like good audio or fast GPU, what it makes up for is with a good build quality.

PrinCe_iL

Every laptop has its flaws, some tolerable, others not so.
The D630 is meant for business use which do not really need multimedia features like good audio or fast GPU, what it makes up for is with a good build quality.

erm, strange you seems to be on the same wavelength with dell support. Are you from dell? Well I have to disagree with your statement.

We are not in the 286, 386 pc era, if we are in that era, i wouldn't care less a bout the sound quality. But we are currently moving towards communication, internet, entertainment, gaming & pentium 5 as the core attraction for customers. Of coz I would feel disappointed their so called higher end of lappy are giving out such "minor" prob which they ain't able to fix.

PC_Dreams

erm, strange you seems to be on the same wavelength with dell support. Are you from dell? Well I have to disagree with your statement.

We are not in the 286, 386 pc era, if we are in that era, i wouldn't care less a bout the sound quality. But we are currently moving towards communication, internet, entertainment, gaming & pentium 5 as the core attraction for customers. Of coz I would feel disappointed their so called higher end of lappy are giving out such "minor" prob which they ain't able to fix.

Probably because we know Dell and Getronics well enough.

The D630 is not meant for the average home user. It lacks things like:

- Expresscard slot for popular user peripherals, sticking to PCcard for legacy business devices.
- Firewire port (on the older D610, D620) as DV cameras are more home consumer items
- Card reader for SD/MMC/MS etc because these are not widely used for business data storage
- Gloss screen LCD for quality video viewing

Instead, it focuses on business oriented features like:

- Smartcard reader for security
- Biometric security fingerprint reader for more security
- Connectors for docking station which is not found on Inspirons or XPS
- Better build quality as business machines are expected to last, not changed when the users fancy
- Modular swappable components such as extended batteries and optical drive

The problems you face are the same as the rest of the latitude users world wide, take heart that everyone knows and dell would do something about it if they could. :)

tekman

simcard slot in my m1210 is it usable? wanna put in my singtel mobile broadband

You need the WWAN card which is not sold in Singapore or Dell Asia Pacific.
Need to buy the module online from either Dell US (5520) or Dell UK (5505)

BurgerLim

Probably because we know Dell and Getronics well enough.

The D630 is not meant for the average home user. It lacks things like:

- Expresscard slot for popular user peripherals, sticking to PCcard for legacy business devices.
- Firewire port (on the older D610, D620) as DV cameras are more home consumer items
- Card reader for SD/MMC/MS etc because these are not widely used for business data storage
- Gloss screen LCD for quality video viewing

Instead, it focuses on business oriented features like:

- Smartcard reader for security
- Biometric security fingerprint reader for more security
- Connectors for docking station which is not found on Inspirons or XPS
- Better build quality as business machines are expected to last, not changed when the users fancy
- Modular swappable components such as extended batteries and optical drive

The problems you face are the same as the rest of the latitude users world wide, take heart that everyone knows and dell would do something about it if they could. :)

Hmm... Not quite agree with your points, well.. my older iinspiron comes with docking port, firewire port but in matte screen (aka. antiglare). true that business notebook usually configured towards stability.. with 1st thing in mind i.e quaddro nvs graphics? but think its not fair to say "if all user is suffering then its ok" idea i think. be it from a "free" notebook? :s8: and definitely if we buy something with mentioned capability then it must work as it should.. dun you think so? a radio that could not receive well? what's the point of having it?

Well, being a regular dell user ( yes i recomments dell in our design office and home) i do believe they usually patch whatever possible. but there are times dell comes with no solution.. (pretty sad i say) i.e dell premium mouse will not work well with your CAD application with their lousy driver for the middle mouse / forward and back button.. (they amid that! and willingly accept refund and return/ this is 1000x better then HP here i think). but think this should still be solved.. will suggest to escalate the matters to their super and see what could be done, since not all 630 is having this problem.

Cheers!

PC_Dreams

Hmm... Not quite agree with your points, well.. my older iinspiron comes with docking port, firewire port but in matte screen (aka. antiglare). true that business notebook usually configured towards stability.. with 1st thing in mind i.e quaddro nvs graphics? but think its not fair to say "if all user is suffering then its ok" idea i think. be it from a "free" notebook? :s8: and definitely if we buy something with mentioned capability then it must work as it should.. dun you think so? a radio that could not receive well? what's the point of having it?

Well, being a regular dell user ( yes i recomments dell in our design office and home) i do believe they usually patch whatever possible. but there are times dell comes with no solution.. (pretty sad i say) i.e dell premium mouse will not work well with your CAD application with their lousy driver for the middle mouse / forward and back button.. (they amid that! and willingly accept refund and return/ this is 1000x better then HP here i think). but think this should still be solved.. will suggest to escalate the matters to their super and see what could be done, since not all 630 is having this problem.

Cheers!

Well, we are comparing the current generation of inspiron and your latitude now right?
The older inspiron 500/510/600m are the same as latitude d5xx/d610 series but the newer latitudes are different and better built.
For the audio issue, you'll just have to make do for now because there's no guarantee that even if they change another one for you the problem will not come back, worse case what if something else happens?

BurgerLim

Think true enough.. current lappy are more defined in different segments (to me its largely due to market and cost driven)..
for the "make do for now".. still, well.. would think they (dell) here should make something out of it... change another unit is def worth a try.. since no guarantee it wont work either right? also maybe they will be no problem at all for another unit?
no offence here :) .. just feel consumer here should have better consumer right. feel sometime or too many a time we are discriminated here.. (i.e for all i know there is not a return policy for HP if you brought something you dont like.. while in us they offer 21day refund no question asked..? ask if the price here is cheaper? not really if you ask me.)

cheers! ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.