Democracy is useless

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Jarlaxle

i hv many malaysian friends and my facebook is still gettin spammed by election news.

i find it very sad that the govt can do so much blatant voting scams and got exposed by its citizen for more than once.

yet, the citizens can do nothing about it n they got away with it.

1) phantom votes (boxes of votes coming out of nowhere)
2) phantom voters (ppl voting on behalf of others who have not vote. end up the actual person holding the IC cannot vote too)
3) issuing IC with expiry date to FT so that they can vote. and IC expires after election.
and probably more.

its crazy.

actually any govt can do wat the msian govt did. lol

Geforce3

the guy on the ic was adopted by a chinese family lar

Jarlaxle

the guy on the ic was adopted by a chinese family lar

thats true too.

but theres a lot of others lah

like registered as voter in 1950 but born in 1982.
or registered as voter in 1979 and born in 1979!
WAHAHA

cancer81

fake IC or not these "voters" still have to physically vote...

the more disturbing one is how a box just appear after a "fortunate" blackout.... :look:

Providence

Malaysia is quite big in landmass size so it is hard for anyone to stop fraud in an election. The ruling party wants to retains its power over the country desperately so some of its supporters will do anything to accomplish that. I guess the leadership of the ruling party does not have full control over its subordinates in a way.

Jarlaxle

Malaysia is quite big in landmass size so it is hard for anyone to stop fraud in an election. The ruling party wants to retains its power over the country desperately so some of its supporters will do anything to accomplish that. I guess the leadership of the ruling party does not have full control over its subordinates in a way.

bo lah.
u look at sweden, canada or even the US.

got so blatant ?
if they cheat until like that, i tink the ppl will go siao and revolt.

cancer81

USA various states had republicans trying to push for so called Voter Identification laws.

Remember over there, you do not always have a photo-id

It was a quite blatantly a way to stop various people from voting (most likely for Obama) by making them have to produce a photo-id to vote.

Then there are also cases of people not allowed to vote because of "felonies"...

vote right "denial" is real almost everywhere. Yet I rarely hear of such accusations here.

The more problematic one would be the in your face vote stuffing.

tequila_powered

Malaysia is fast becoming Thailand where the government is depending solely on populist strategies for the rural poors to stay in power regardless of the damage to country. It is not Malay vs Chinese/Indian. Larger amount of educated urban Malays voted in opposite to their rural cousins (Chinese/Indian votes alone didn't carry Selangor and Penang for PR). Democracy is useless, per title, producing/retaining a corrupt ruling party due to short-term-ism of majority of [poor] voters. But as always, Democracy is still the best form of government.

Now that they managed to get their collective snouts back in the trough, UMNO elites will get back to what they do best in-between election years ... fighting each other in the shadow for who gets which piece of financial pie. I wouldn't be surprised if they boot out Najib like Badawi before next GE. UMNO could then turn even more Malay-supremacist plus MCA/MIC reduced to nothing.

cancer81

probably wun happen since Dr M has reigned in his faction...

with the central party committee mostly friendly to Najib and are aligned behind him. It is unlikely anyone can mount a challenge for party leadership. Especially with Dr M not doing anything.

Iqamah

Allow me to translate what is written on the photo.

"He is Chindia. His father is Chinese and his mother is Indian. We would like to retrieve and apologize for publicizing this photo this morning - PemudaGombak.com"

320839_10152789369335594_875499360_n.jpg

i hv many malaysian friends and my facebook is still gettin spammed by election news.

i find it very sad that the govt can do so much blatant voting scams and got exposed by its citizen for more than once.

yet, the citizens can do nothing about it n they got away with it.

1) phantom votes (boxes of votes coming out of nowhere)
2) phantom voters (ppl voting on behalf of others who have not vote. end up the actual person holding the IC cannot vote too)
3) issuing IC with expiry date to FT so that they can vote. and IC expires after election.
and probably more.

its crazy.

actually any govt can do wat the msian govt did. lol

cancer81

well someone's Malaysian contacts not enough

I knew abt the mistake on like 4th of May...

instead of looking at DOB and issue date (the hastily made ones seem to have issue dates same as DOB or simply impossible DOB)

in all likelihood, BN has lost it's credibility and legitimacy as a coalition. The next few years of cross-causeway relations may be rocky.

Providence

In my opinion, the various governments that have stayed in power for a long time actually received support from the US and Europe during the Cold War. These governments pledged to be friendly toward the US and avoid the Soviet Union at all costs. In the end, they began to dominate their homelands and ensured that everyone supported the regimes to prevent a communist takeover. It is all about propaganda during that time. Now every country is experiencing a similar event like the 'Arab Spring' as the Cold War-era regimes are not working in the post-Cold War period anymore. Everyone wants a change for the better.

Providence

Just like the US providing state-of-the-weapons to the Mujahadeen during the Soviet incursion in Afghanistan to repel the Soviet forces. Now some of the Mujahadeen forces have gone rogue and targeted the US with what they had learnt/obtained from the CIA. It is like karma biting your a$$.

The_Idiot

As the saying goes, for every crisis, there are opportunities. SG govt shld make use of this crisis to sway the Malaysian PRs to convert to citizens by lowering the cost of living, ensure middle-age sgians have jobs and old sgians can retire comfortably.

I have Malaysian frds who are 2nd gen PR, served NS, got their deg and master in SG but die die refused to convert to citizen. Malaysians are the best candidates for SG citizenship. Govt can forget abt the angmos: They are not stupid to give up their homeland (unless they are rich enough to migrate anywhere, anytime.)

Jarlaxle

As the saying goes, for every crisis, there are opportunities. SG govt shld make use of this crisis to sway the Malaysian PRs to convert to citizens by lowering the cost of living, ensure middle-age sgians have jobs and old sgians can retire comfortably.

I have Malaysian frds who are 2nd gen PR, served NS, got their deg and master in SG but die die refused to convert to citizen. Malaysians are the best candidates for SG citizenship. Govt can forget abt the angmos: They are not stupid to give up their homeland (unless they are rich enough to migrate anywhere, anytime.)

i totally agree.
and msians dun hv all those shabby degrees n certifications that the peenoy or chinaman hv

Jarlaxle

Allow me to translate what is written on the photo.

"He is Chindia. His father is Chinese and his mother is Indian. We would like to retrieve and apologize for publicizing this photo this morning - PemudaGombak.com"

my bad. quote without knowing

cancer81

i totally agree.
and msians dun hv all those shabby degrees n certifications that the peenoy or chinaman hv
as if...

A good amount likely to have local diploma or uni degrees. Hey FT snatch Sinkie poly/uni place anyone?

There are so many private universities and schools giving remote study degrees in Malaysia that I lost count already. There are many who went overseas but these are quite often in Universities that are not top 100 (ie lower than NTU/NUS).

Most Malaysians stay PR mostly because they still have a deep love for their motherland. It changes if they marry a Sinkie though.

Besides, there are quite a few skilled and talented people from Philly or China. It wasn't that long ago when Malaysian = Cheap Labor.

cybercom8

probably wun happen since Dr M has reigned in his faction...

with the central party committee mostly friendly to Najib and are aligned behind him. It is unlikely anyone can mount a challenge for party leadership. Especially with Dr M not doing anything.

the madhatter worked out a deal with majib (aka magic box najib) already...his son is parachuted in as mb of his home state even though there are a lot more capable and senior members waiting in the pipeline.

cancer81

in UMNO, no faction support, you have godlike performance also useless.

cscs3

bo lah.
u look at sweden, canada or even the US.

got so blatant ?
if they cheat until like that, i tink the ppl will go siao and revolt.

Basically. In Malaysia cheating is part of the life. From right at the top to ground level.

Annwa has to defence it otherwise he has to quit base on what he has promised!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.