Did you realise that it’s usually the specs from lousy schools that like to ask others for their NS rank?

Peasantboy

It’s a bit like how when asked where you stay, one doesn’t say <insert landed / condo name> but just the landmarks nearby?

It’s only good manners to just talk about the unit you were from or the things you did rather than your rank .

Or how one doesn’t talk about the rank in your company / branded school you were from.

gilcrest

Nahh you obviously no gov experience. Smlj ask for scholarships also they want to know NS rank.

Moi know manager in gov will ask applicants during interview they from which pri / sec schools sia, say won't hire neighborhood school and those not from local uni. Moi think this kind likely will filter based on ns too.

Gov ppl care about ns ranks, which school you go etc. Even if you got phd and experience likely tio hiam sia.
Its true, government more elitist and how you fare as reservist also an indicator to your work progression.

gilcrest

When ppl ask me about ns, i just reply i do classified stuff, cannot share. I find that it helps to shut ppl up
The only classified unit is the lab whom Tony Tan ‘s son serb for 12 years. No one heard of it.

talk about classified when JANE openly publish data

Zinna

srsly me is very proud of my NS rank of Private 1st class.

not many holding this rank, think most hold a minimum rank of corporal or Sgt or even officer.
Now still got private first class meh? Usually straight promote to lance corporal liao ma
Even those fail ippt also promote to lance corporal. From there only need ippt pass to get corporal

jgrader

Highest rank is jhk come here snatch our job bto also our girls

erwinrommel

Nobody talks about NS rank at work la.

But sometimes through the way they work and lead, i will sometimes ask his ns rank and guessed he is either spec or officer.

Vinda99

I was in GPMG Cmdr Course, and there were 6 chaps from the RBAF attached to us, also in the same course.

Out of the 6, the highest ranking is a Sergeant, though I am not sure whether it is 3SG equivalent. The rank is 3 stripes.

One night, while we were doing defence, we chatted, and they asked me how long it took to get 3SG rank. I said about 5 to 6 months. Then I asked them how long it took their Sergeant.

They told me about 10 years.

And they are not behkan. These people are professional soldiers. Just for the MG trench alone, the 6 of them did 1 faster than 20 of us by about 2 hours.

To me, NS had its tough times and its fun times. It was a microcosm of society, and taught me how to deal with pressure when pushed to physical and mental limits.

Everything other than that is just cosplay. Your rank is only worth whatever respect people want to give it. You can be an ex-CDF, and still end up pui chow nua by ppl because of your manufactured umbrage, or playing Beyblade in a void deck wearing a shirt with the name of an SMC like some kind of dementia aid.

When you have to tell people to stand up when they talk to you because of your rank or status, you know that you are the only one who bought into it.

It's ok to talk about NS as nostalgia or some kind of PTSD coping mechanism, but once you start believing that rank gives you any kind of power or superiority over others irl, it is just sad.

Sforthought

NS is probably the most thing in my life, I will never talk about to my spouse or anyone.... even I was from a combat role ~ S'pore NS is a wayang & that military is largely an non professional organization.

u can talk to us here in edmw about your NS. we always do :cool:

Jack_Chen

To me, NS had its tough times and its fun times. It was a microcosm of society, and taught me how to deal with pressure when pushed to physical and mental limits.

I agree with this, It opened my eyes to a lot of things. Like how power corrupts.

Unfortunately some people adopt the same attitude into the real world, end up irrritating everyone else.

sharpshooter9

funniest is when those officers get married they always like to wear their no1 for wedding dinner and get their buddies to wear together to perform the sword ceremony.

find it very cringe and i unfriend all of them from my fb

begintoend

Simply BS
one of the most participated topics in threads and convo is NS. :sneaky:

tok or dun tok NS is got no status or wisdom tag...
if my impt customer boss wanna ask me my rank, i will also chat along.
avoid ki lan
:unsure:

crimsontactics

I noticed that these specs from lousy schools like to talk about SISPEC and ask you what you did in NS.

Like their career, education, not much achievements so they want to “boast” about having attended SISPEC. Which is kinda sad as a highlight. Also like to drive European cars ^.^

Is it cos of low self esteem so need to talk about it? The officers are too modest to boast or talk about OCS, the men couldn’t care less about NS.
I feel those 1SG are the most haoliao one because they are higher rank than the normal 3SG Bro Peasantboy! :(

mynickname

I noticed that these specs from lousy schools like to talk about SISPEC and ask you what you did in NS.

Like their career, education, not much achievements so they want to “boast” about having attended SISPEC. Which is kinda sad as a highlight. Also like to drive European cars ^.^

Is it cos of low self esteem so need to talk about it? The officers are too modest to boast or talk about OCS, the men couldn’t care less about NS.
Sjb. Everyone i know rather not care about ns.

chaiscool

funniest is when those officers get married they always like to wear their no1 for wedding dinner and get their buddies to wear together to perform the sword ceremony.

find it very cringe and i unfriend all of them from my fb
Moi think it's their SO that likes it, kinky haha. Hence, a lot of them use officer dinner and dance as a pick up line. Moi know chiobu who got a lot of such DM.

moonlighter_sg

NS rank is like nothing lah, we are just conscription cannon fodder with no pride.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.