Digital locks

daniel_83

Guys, just checking as I know there is Normal Mode and Safety Mode so what is the difference?

Does it mean that I will need to activate Safety mode if I want to rent the house to others or having renovation work ongoing with contractors going in and out of the house.

Need your advice, thanks.

i think in SG all is set to Safety mode by default
meaning that your PIN will not change even after a reset

Normal mode can reset PIN with reset

so if you forget your PIN, need change the whole lock

daniel_83

I see, the Retail price for the letter box digital lock is $199, they are the one who distribute to AnDigitalLock also which is also selling same price too. =:p

I do notice that there is the Gold Edition, model number is YDR424G, dun know what is the difference though.

YDR424G = Gate

carlover76

i think in SG all is set to Safety mode by default
meaning that your PIN will not change even after a reset

Normal mode can reset PIN with reset

so if you forget your PIN, need change the whole lock

So does that mean that the tenant is not able to change the Pin or register new RFID Card unless they have the Master Passcode?

Boeing101

So does that mean that the tenant is not able to change the Pin or register new RFID Card unless they have the Master Passcode?

I refer to Model 424.
If got Mater Passcode, the tenant will not be able to change anything, only the one with Master code can do alternation. But, if he is a lock expert, he can reset to factory setting first by taking out inter cover of lock set. But, dont think anyone will go to such extend as meaningless.

carlover76

I refer to Model 424.
If got Mater Passcode, the tenant will not be able to change anything, only the one with Master code can do alternation. But, if he is a lock expert, he can reset to factory setting first by taking out inter cover of lock set. But, dont think anyone will go to such extend as meaningless.

I see, still thinking whether to invest on 424 for my own room door. Saw the Igloohome Smart Lock which can be unlock by PassCode and Bluetooth.

For my home main door, I need something which has handle so confirm settle for YDM3115.

carlover76

Seems like the Igloohome is a better choice for Room doors which can be unlock by bluetooth via the Mobile App, you can set temporary passcode from the app without physically at the door.

You are able to view the status of anyone entering the flat when you register their phone with the Igloohome smart lock. Promotion price now only $169 which is cheaper than Yale.

Promotion ending 15th June so I decided to give Igloohome a try since the price is quite attractive. :D

Boeing101

Seems like the Igloohome is a better choice for Room doors which can be unlock by bluetooth via the Mobile App, you can set temporary passcode from the app without physically at the door.

You are able to view the status of anyone entering the flat when you register their phone with the Igloohome smart lock. Promotion price now only $169 which is cheaper than Yale.

Promotion ending 15th June so I decided to give Igloohome a try since the price is quite attractive. :D

$169 is for the lock. Must add $80 for installation.
Yale cheapest digital is $250 i think. I think include installation.

carlover76

$169 is for the lock. Must add $80 for installation.
Yale cheapest digital is $250 i think. I think include installation.

Yes, the model for yale do not have handle and you cannot link up with the app to provide one time passcode if anyone want to enter your room temporary.

Lost_Found

Wow, $699 = Price for Yale YDR424.

There is a promotion for YDR424 at $699 and comes with a free gift of the Letter Box Digital Lock worth $199. I am still thinking whether to go for it or not. =:p

That's a good deal, look like I got the shorter end of the stick. But Gataman is made in Korea hence i think still worthy of the px ba

carlover76

That's a good deal, look like I got the shorter end of the stick. But Gataman is made in Korea hence i think still worthy of the px ba

Ha Ha, you mean Gateman? Yes, Gateman is made in Korea and it is under Yale, only market within Korea while Asia is market as Yale.

I was told that the Gateman Z10 locking mechanism is different from the Yale YDD424 as the locking is slot in between the door while the one in Z10 is on the back plate mounted on the internal layer of the door.

For those who want to know more :

Forum-Igloo-FB-V2.jpg.f20f8880b91908f90add77c2f4af13cd.jpg

daniel_83

Ha Ha, you mean Gateman? Yes, Gateman is made in Korea and it is under Yale, only market within Korea while Asia is market as Yale.

I was told that the Gateman Z10 locking mechanism is different from the Yale YDD424 as the locking is slot in between the door while the one in Z10 is on the back plate mounted on the internal layer of the door.

For those who want to know more :

Forum-Igloo-FB-V2.jpg.f20f8880b91908f90add77c2f4af13cd.jpg

mafan leh no RFID or fingerprint

carlover76

mafan leh no RFID or fingerprint

Ok lah, just launch the App on your phone and it will unlock. You can remotely assign temporary pin if anyone want to enter your room to take things so depend what you need.

Initially I wanted to install the Yale 424 but paying so much, there is no handle for the lock and have to use back the default handle lock, I rather take this instead. =:p

daniel_83

For me I don't think I will use the temp PIN

If nobody at home, u dare give TEMP PIN for strangers to enter the home to take/put things?

If it is family/friend member, just give them the actual PIN or a guest PIN

Sent from LGE LG-H961N using GAGT

daniel_83

https://lesterchan.net/blog/2016/06/06/igloohome-smart-lock-review/

- the auto-lock feature is time-based and not "sensor" based
- need to touch the lock to "wake" it to unlock with app

Bluetooth Connection
The Bluetooth connection between your phone (be it Android or iOS) and the lock is very unstable.

Sometimes, the lock doesn’t respond to my Bluetooth unlock and it occurs very often to me like once every two days. Maybe because my phone is connected to too many Bluetooth devices. When that happens, I have to restart my phone and it works fine after that.

As expected, bluetooth issues (same for bluetooth headsets, bluetooth speakers, bluetooth padlocks etc)

carlover76

https://lesterchan.net/blog/2016/06/06/igloohome-smart-lock-review/

- the auto-lock feature is time-based and not "sensor" based
- need to touch the lock to "wake" it to unlock with app

Bluetooth Connection
The Bluetooth connection between your phone (be it Android or iOS) and the lock is very unstable.

Sometimes, the lock doesn’t respond to my Bluetooth unlock and it occurs very often to me like once every two days. Maybe because my phone is connected to too many Bluetooth devices. When that happens, I have to restart my phone and it works fine after that.

As expected, bluetooth issues (same for bluetooth headsets, bluetooth speakers, bluetooth padlocks etc)

Brother, thanks for your information. I have read up this review before deciding to go ahead installing this lock.

I am using this for my room door so dun need a expensive digital lock, I am installing the Yale 3115 for my main door due to old folks at home so thumb print scanning is a No for them.

daniel_83

Brother, thanks for your information. I have read up this review before deciding to go ahead installing this lock.

I am using this for my room door so dun need a expensive digital lock, I am installing the Yale 3115 for my main door due to old folks at home so thumb print scanning is a No for them.

ah okok

for room door ok la

:o

luckygal

For Gateman F10, if I intend to rent out the house and do not want my tenant to use the digital lock, as that would mean no form of access for me. Is there a way to deactivate the digital lock and resume using the key lock?

carlover76

For Gateman F10, if I intend to rent out the house and do not want my tenant to use the digital lock, as that would mean no form of access for me. Is there a way to deactivate the digital lock and resume using the key lock?
I saw the video instruction on Yale 3115 that I can activate the safety mode which anyone need to key in the master passcode to change the pin or register new RFID so I guess your tenant will not able to change the pin unless he has the master passcode.

Sent from Sony E6883 using GAGT

carlover76

Just finished installing the igloohome Smart Lock on my Room Door, works well with Bluetooth and heard that they are researching to have the Smart Lock auto unlock when you walk close to the door without launching the app and should be ready by July.

No regrets and worth the price, the price has went up after 15th June so I am glad that I had purchase this lock early.
ADJJZMnl.jpg

ukwTtu4l.jpg

Sent from Sony E6883 using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.