Dim sum buffet thread

wackykid

the menu...

on with the food...!

crisp wasabi-aioli prawns with fresh mango and fish roe... this item is good but i prefer the version at the cathay...

honey glazed kurobuta pork char siew... kinda too sweet to my liking.. and not tender enough..

imperial hot and sour seafood soup... the flavor quite strong... a bit too strong...

double-boiled fish broth with pak choy, fish maw and tofu... i prefer this soup over hot and sour soup... can really taste the flavour of fish in the soup... yet doesn't have the fishy smell..

regards,
wacky

wackykid

crisp-fried shredded squid... a bit too hard...

think this is steamed shark's fin dumplings with dried scallops and shrimps...

steamed mini abalone siew mai with pork and mushrooms...

steamed kurobuta char siew in fluffy bao... i kinda have a super high expectations of this after reading all the reviews out there... so was a bit disappointed that it wasn't better than lei garden... but nevertheless it's still good...

steamed chinese spinach dumplings with shrimps, garlic and salted egg yolk i think...

regards,
wacky

EastSider

hi wackykid, not sure if u have tried Jade @ Fullerton.
which is better? Jade or Cherry Garden? :s11:

wackykid

steamed juicy pork xiao long bao... is really juicy inside with lots of hot and flavorful soup... however the skin a bit sticky and slightly starchy... in the end i still think DTL still has the perfect XLB...

deep-fried potato dumplings stuffed with cheese crabmeat and onions... pretty to look at and it tastes good oso..! funny that it seems that the items listed as "chef's signature dish" are not as good as the ones not under it..

the hot and juicy interior...

crispy eggplant tossed with chicken floss... if i never ate the cathay's version... i'd probably be amazed by how un-eggplant like the dish is... that actually taste good... but the cathay's version is better... this one the chicken floss is very nice and crunchy... but the eggplant is not so great...

wok-fried waxed meat radish cake with silver sprouts in XO sauce... a.k.a carrot cake.. we saw alot of ppl ordered this that's why we ordered too... not bad...

steamed onion and ginger beef dumplings... the fillings are really beefy... but unfortunately it came like this - cracked and the fillings came out le... with the tiniest drop of the fillings i can immediately taste the beef... so i pretty liked this..

regards,
wacky

wackykid

can't remember wat this is... steamed spinach and prawn dumplings with enoki mushrooms i think... can't remember how it tasted too...

steamed chicken claws with spicy black bean sauce... i don't eat chicken legs one normally... but my fren wanted this... so we ordered... tot that this one tastes different and better from the usual...

i think this is steamed dumplings with shrimps, crabmeat and water chestnut... forgotten how this was as well... :o

chilled top shell with calamansi dressing...

pan-fried gyoza with spicy eggplant, minced chicken, tofu and mushrooms... didn't recall having so many things in it....

regards,
wacky

wackykid

drunken chicken in hua diao and rose dew chinese wine... i pretty like this dish... the hua diao wine is really evident and fragrant... chicken is very tender oso...

pan-fried beancurd roll with shrimps i think...

slow-cooked beef brisket with radish, onions and ginger... good but beef could have been more tender... i think i've eaten much more tender beef brisket at many places elsewhere...

wok-fried kurobuta pork with garlic, leek and honshimeiji mushrooms in chef's concoction... one of the best dish... definitely better den the previous honey glazed version... the sauce is very fragrant and pork is more tender this time... again another item which is not a "chef's signature" but better den "chef's signature" .... maybe they labelled everything in reverse...

shredded pork and century egg congee... highlight is the century egg yolk... just one tiny piece can taste the fragrance of the century egg liao... other than the egg yolk the rest is standard-fare...

steamed scallop with silken tofu in black bean sauce... forgot to take photography before diving into it... very nice... again better dish den those "chef signatures"...

steamed patin fish with crispy bean crumbs in light soya sauce... ordinary dish..

regards,
wacky

wackykid

ok now the desserts... definitely THE highlight of the whole menu... and pretty to look at too... :D

chilled cream of mango with sago pearls, pomelo and lime sorbet... very nice... one of the best dish...

cream of avacado served with walnut ice-cream... it's as good as the mango one but more special... haven't eaten anything like this b4...

watermelon chutney with aloe vera, crystal pears and refreshing lemongrass jelly... even more special than cream of avacado... refreshin and nice but a bit too special...

double-boiled red-black honey date tea with papaya pearlls, snow mushrooms and apricot seeds... not too sweet but taste just like chin teng... not really special...

traditional royal steamed red bean sponge cake... taste like red-bean mochi...

regards,
wacky

wackykid

total damage is ($48++/pax) $113 for 2 pax... probably THE MOST expensive dim sum i've eaten... :o

overall the food and dim sum are good... the environment is really good... but i'd say for the price i'd expect something better and more special... and something i dun like is that the food serve rather slowly and with the time limitation... they actually come to chase us away when we exceed much of 1pm... (the 2 sessions are 11am-1pm and 130-3pm) ...

regards,
wacky

swatchie

I find Cherry Garden's desserts to be quite gimmicky. They are nice to look at but I'm not sure I like them. :o

twtan14

I like the foods at Cherry Garden in that it's not totally just Dim Sum items but have some other cooked dishes.

CaptainJackPigeon

wah wackykid your tim sum thread is very disturbing to look at on a hungry morning at work!!! Looks nice leh but way too expensive for tim sum I feel..

DaRkXiDe

anyone recently ate at zhou's kitchen hi-tea buffet? I wanna know if the fried mushroom with wasabi sauce is still on the menu. Cheers!

wackykid

ups for same question :)

yes have tried jade @ fullerton... i think dim sum wise... comparable... cherry garden desserts are better (and prettier) ... price-wise... jade is much more value for $$$... environment wise cherry garden..

regards,
wacky

LiquidShaDow

yes have tried jade @ fullerton... i think dim sum wise... comparable... cherry garden desserts are better (and prettier) ... price-wise... jade is much more value for $$$... environment wise cherry garden..

regards,
wacky

I tried Jade too. It was ok, I didn't think it was very impressive. How much is Cherry Garden?

ribbon_sunshine87

ooo i prefer the cherry garden cos of the place. food can eat as much as u wan so long cos its buffet. but ya i find both of them expensive. =(

wackykid

ooo i prefer the cherry garden cos of the place. food can eat as much as u wan so long cos its buffet. but ya i find both of them expensive. =(

well provided u order alot in one shot and keep ordering... otherwise with the slow serving time and with 2hr time limit.... i couldn't really eat as much as i had wanted... :o

regards,
wacky

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.