Discussion | Beverage Container Return Scheme

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

pwongkk

TS dont have paylah?
the free weekly $3 you never benefited then??
Can just like the old school drinks vending machine, return coin rather than using digital payment.

Anyone can use it and get refund.

pwongkk

I search Google, if anyone want to get refund help :o

• Helpline: Call the Return Right helpline at +65 6035 5882 for operational issues, machine malfunctions, or if a machine is full.

• Email Support: Contact hi@returnright.sg if you encountered a refund error.

• In-Store Staff: If the machine is at a supermarket (e.g., FairPrice), inform staff to contact BCRS technical support.
Useless hotline. More like helping them to report fault. Their monitoring guys can sleep well.

Crooni

A producer-led Scheme

The Scheme operates under an Extended Producer Responsibility (EPR) framework, making this the second such initiative after the E-waste EPR scheme. It is managed by Beverage Container Return Scheme Ltd. (BCRS Ltd.)[2], a not-for-profit company licensed by the National Environment Agency (NEA) as the scheme operator.

Established by the industry, BCRS Ltd. is governed by a Board comprising both large and small producers and is responsible for the collection and recycling of regulated beverage containers on behalf of all producers in Singapore. The Board comprises Coca-Cola Singapore Beverages, F&N Foods, Pokka, Wanin Industries, and Chia Khim Lee Food Industries.

here's the answer

if i sell cardboard box

and the gov ask me to ownself create a scheme to collect back the boxes

guess what i'm going to do?

make it as dumb as possible just to fulfil contract right?

1. all costs can be passed to consumers
2. the less i collect the less i need to pay out and do stuff

Quala98

Since this is copy from the Australian and German, might as well leave the cans and bottles beside a rubbish bin

Then someone will pick up and sell. Cos that's what the German do to help the poor

NintendoSwitch

Its scheme to cheat all the people who cannot find the machine their 10 cents
Waiting for 160 Media to paint forumers as broke. Nobody helped when they went after Sammy. Sooner or later they will go after EDMWers.

titusilvering

I don't get how the system works.

The 10 cents is collected by supermarket. Then how the 10 cents go to the recycle machine company to reimburse the buyer?

In TS case, if he did not return the bottle, that extra 10 cents collected go to who? Supermarket, recycle company or drinks manufacturer?
You ask me i ask who. Whatever is zenghu huat then tax you

MisterRei

My habit changed, last time I go NTUC buy Ice Mountain Mineral Water then go coffeshop or hawker to eat.

Now, I must eat first then go NTUC buy the water and finish it outside NTUC and put it into the bottle return machine.

Otherwise, I have to carry the empty bottle until I find another return machine.

WaterNinja

Actually some elderly thought they are "earning" money but actually the 10c "deposit" has been collected in advance.

Uncle Lorger

Most of the coffeeshop don’t even bother to bring to the machine. Just stack together with those non 10 cent bottles and cans and throw away.
They throw away? 😮
I thought they will put it into a separate pail, which I think they will give to those recycling company later

Uncle Lorger

I don't get how the system works.

The 10 cents is collected by supermarket. Then how the 10 cents go to the recycle machine company to reimburse the buyer?

In TS case, if he did not return the bottle, that extra 10 cents collected go to who? Supermarket, recycle company or drinks manufacturer?

Supposedly the drink importers and producers are the ones that pay the $0.10 deposit (and associated producer/system fees) to the central scheme operator.

The coffeeshop buy from the importers/producers and pay the price of the drink plus the 10-cent deposit. They then pass this 10-cent cost to the consumer when consumer buys it.

So if the consumer leaves the can at the coffeeshop, and the coffeeshop takes the can to refund at the machine, the coffeeshop earns $0.10 lor 😄

mynickname

The fugging kopitiam up 10c because of this, and most of the ppl bochap to return. Meaning, the fugging kopitiam earn additional 20c now. 10c from up the original price telling the buyer they can refund the can at the machine. If the customer never bother, the operator will refund the bottle for 10c, making it 20c.
The 10c kopitiam charge is not earned la. They also pay 10c more right?

mynickname

Supposedly the drink importers and producers are the ones that pay the $0.10 deposit (and associated producer/system fees) to the central scheme operator.

The coffeeshop buy from the importers/producers and pay the price of the drink plus the 10-cent deposit. They then pass this 10-cent cost to the consumer when consumer buys it.

So if the consumer leaves the can at the coffeeshop, and the coffeeshop takes the can to refund at the machine, the coffeeshop earns $0.10 lor 😄
Usually is let the cleaning lady earn. I dont know which coffeeshop so hard up until the 10c also take away from cleaning aunty.

titusilvering

Best is to throw into the bin outside of NEA office.
I tell you heng sg is 文明社会。if kana some 3rd world countries the people maybe already 造反 throw 10 cent or empty bottle at whoever implement the stupid thing.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.