Discussion | Beverage Container Return Scheme

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

lampano

Need to wash clean the bottle.
Need to take public transport.
All Need money for 10 cent ?
Not worth it.
TMD yesterday i bought a plastic bottle drink, i finished it and kept with me till i go toilet
then i forgot and throw it to bin....

there goes my 10cts 😭

Medicated Oil

BEFORE
i used to go ntuc buy groceries
(plastic bag is foc)

so it was used to contain my groceries to take them home
(usage: 1)

after offloading the groceries, i will use the plastic bag to bag the dust bin for trash
(usage: 2)

throw away plastic bag with trash

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NOW
I buy plastic bags in bulk from taobao
(plastic bags maybe cost $0.01 per bag)

once they arrive, i will bag the dust bin for trash
(usage x1)
throw away plastic bag with trash

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Now

I throw the dry trash inside the dustbin with plastic bag.
Dump the trash and bring the dustbin with plastic bag home.

This is my GREEN movement.

NintendoSwitch

She ownself admit she boted for them , but still need ask this golden string of qns

How chiu all think the MIWs will answer ah ?

They hear you influencer. 10 cent not worth they can always increase to $10 per bottle. Now worth or not? Get out of their elite uncaring faces.
pap-gam-kim-yong.gif

kyang69

I think this is because those Million-Dollar-Scholar-Ministir had been groomed to expect 100% obedient citizens that will not question their mindless stupidity.

Just think, do these implementers also buy soft drinks from mamak shops, vending machines and recycle themselves?? The answer is NO.

This is just another stupig idea to fulfill certain KPI to justify bonus, whether it work or not, people like it or not, doesn't matter. Just like the tray return shenanigans - again, do the ministers, MoS eat at hawker centres?? - they probably know nothing about the crows and mynas eating leftovers too when they implement that idea.

NintendoSwitch

I recalled that the machines are under the care and responsibility of the drink company now.
It is no longer the admin business any more.
How long before no overmaintenance and these machines break down. Too bad. No refund for the poor. Laughs in free money collected

NintendoSwitch

With the coming increase in power tariff and my expectation to see more in the future, these machines are most likely going to suck much more cost than the plastic or cans recycled.

Have they worked out how many cans or bottles need to be feed into the machine to reach the carbon foot print and cost breaking point?

That is not factoring in labour, transport and administrative fees. So net the result will most likely be a huge negative on both carbon footprint and upkeep cost. The question then will be who will foot the bill.

Unlike recruits people can not be forced to recycle and with 1 in 7 households making 30k per month according to the latest figures one has to wonder who will waste time and effort to get 10 cents back per item.
Sexpose them to woke international media. When it blows up then they will be forced to take action like in Iswaran's corruption.

NintendoSwitch

Don’t say venture out. Even go downstairs to drop the bottles in the blue bin is already a nightmare. Sinkies are getting lazier
Don't give those see collars ideas. Next thing they remove the common rubbish chute and centralise all garbage at one bin centre per estate and you have to ownself carry your own bagged garbage there daily. If I can cum up with that scheme in 3 seconds, so can they.

green72

I think the whole idea is to force us to recycle. To change behaviour and attitudes towards recycling, not earn money from it.

LKY have used fines as a form of way to change the mindset and bad behaviours of the people of yesteryears.

This new initiative is not like what the TS thought. Pay eg, $1 for bottle of water and get 10ct back if recycle.

It's more like you got "fined" 10ct per bottle and redeem back that 10ct. Endgame is still $1/bottle spent plus effort.

So basically it looks like if you don't bother recycle, you lose 10ct. The concept not you gain but change mindset and behaviour towards recycling.

To force and pay fine for not recycling is too draconian, so this way is "softer" way to change behaviour.

And you can choose to Not participate, just don't buy those items.

My 2 cents.

Medicated Oil

How long before no overmaintenance and these machines break down. Too bad. No refund for the poor. Laughs in free money collected
I recalled (correct me if I am wrong) that the machines are under some company and it is under the drink supplier company.
The croonies really WASHED their hands over the MATTER.
They will POP up if it is a SUCCESS which will be SOME MIRACLE.

CyberTan

I think the whole idea is to force us to recycle. To change behaviour and attitudes towards recycling, not earn money from it.

LKY have used fines as a form of way to change the mindset and bad behaviours of the people of yesteryears.

This new initiative is not like what the TS thought. Pay eg, $1 for bottle of water and get 10ct back if recycle.

It's more like you got "fined" 10ct per bottle and redeem back that 10ct. Endgame is still $1/bottle spent plus effort.

So basically it looks like if you don't bother recycle, you lose 10ct. The concept not you gain but change mindset and behaviour towards recycling.

To force and pay fine for not recycling is too draconian, so this way is "softer" way to change behaviour.

And you can choose to Not participate, just don't buy those items.

My 2 cents.
If don’t force, Singaporeans won’t do. Tray returns shows that Singaporeans are selfish from the grand scheme of things

Bad kids

I think don't suggest anymore liao.... the expenses are all on consumers.... I buy 1.5 litres green tea (product cost already inflated), then add another 10cts.

Then that day, I bought a 600 ml bottled water for 40cts, got to add 10cts more... 20% added....

Next time, every mouthful of water got to pay by the blood....

WaterNinja

You need to put in effort to go to machine to get back your 10c. If you don't bother or forgot, then the 10c counted as donation.

NintendoSwitch

I recalled (correct me if I am wrong) that the machines are under some company and it is under the drink supplier company.
The croonies really WASHED their hands over the MATTER.
They will POP up if it is a SUCCESS which will be SOME MIRACLE.
What has 4G ever done that can be considered success? So bad that even I have two cars is running away.

Medicated Oil

What has 4G ever done that can be considered success? So bad that even I have two cars is running away.
- Making money from plastic bag.
- Tray return policy.
- Jabbing every one.
- Issuing vouchers.
- Increasing GST.
- Erecting and removing Lotto position.
- Enjoy telco and internet breakdown.
- Setting up useless task force and committees.
- The meeting with Kim & Trump that is also meaningless.

NintendoSwitch

- Making money from plastic bag.
- Tray return policy.
- Jabbing every one.
- Issuing vouchers.
- Increasing GST.
- Erecting and removing Lotto position.
- Enjoy telco and internet breakdown.
- Setting up useless task force and committees.
- The meeting with Kim & Trump that is also meaningless.
If those are successes then I don't want to see the failures liao.
disappointed-crowd-facepalm-k9pplo32s6w6uyj1.gif

XiaoJinLing

These machine like cannot do better things... ezlink link card like cant work then i hv what paylah (i only have the dbs normal app) sibe angry... in the end get ticket...

I will avoid to buy these type of drinks...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.