Discussion | Beverage Container Return Scheme

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

standarture

Most coffeeshops don't even sell bottles in the first place. Their canned drink price > bottled drink price.

kopiOkid

The scheme is just an excuse to hike up drinks prices. Forced down our throats. And the stupid 65% continue to give their blank cheque issuance.

standarture

The scheme is just an excuse to hike up drinks prices. Forced down our throats. And the stupid 65% continue to give their blank cheque issuance.

Ridiculous sia. Now canned drink at coffeeshop chao chao $2 liao. It used to be kopitiam food court then charge $2.

cosmothecat

My habit changed, last time I go NTUC buy Ice Mountain Mineral Water then go coffeshop or hawker to eat.

Now, I must eat first then go NTUC buy the water and finish it outside NTUC and put it into the bottle return machine.

Otherwise, I have to carry the empty bottle until I find another return machine.
The question is: why don’t bring your own water bottle for plain water, since mineral water no taste

accucore12

bought a drink, realized is 10c more ex, thought it was coz I bought the cold version.

later then realised is the 10c return.

when to machine, return, only accept DBS Paylah or SimplyGo ez-link card.

whip out my ez-link and scan, TMD, not accepted, coz mine is old type ez-link, cheesepie, got scammed 10c by pap.gov.sg
kana scammed no call mata shushu?

XiaoJinLing

They should print the get back 10cents logo big big to tell pwople this gotta pay 10cents more to get back troublesomely ... so i will avoid buying

Srupid machine that cant get bacj refund and raise tickwt and need to wait probably 30days to get back 10cents???

born2fly

bought a drink, realized is 10c more ex, thought it was coz I bought the cold version.

whip out my ez-link and scan, TMD, not accepted, coz mine is old type ez-link, cheesepie, got scammed 10c by pap.gov.sg
THROW AWAY LAH DON'T EVEN BOTHER TO RECYCLE

pwongkk

Supposedly the drink importers and producers are the ones that pay the $0.10 deposit (and associated producer/system fees) to the central scheme operator.

The coffeeshop buy from the importers/producers and pay the price of the drink plus the 10-cent deposit. They then pass this 10-cent cost to the consumer when consumer buys it.

So if the consumer leaves the can at the coffeeshop, and the coffeeshop takes the can to refund at the machine, the coffeeshop earns $0.10 lor 😄
Then how about expired drinks to be discarded?

Foetid

u wait at the machine and ask the coming by or next person to use his and u ask him to paynow u the 10cents?

FlyGuardX

Why not switch to paylah

Joseph12

Most of the coffeeshop don’t even bother to bring to the machine. Just stack together with those non 10 cent bottles and cans and throw away.

If throw away you can volunteer your services and claim those 10 cents ones
Can make easily $5 if there's 50 bottles

WaterNinja

The machine need 4G 5G connection to send to DBS PayLah. How much is the internet connection? Not cheap since it's not home broadband.

Joseph12

I don't get how the system works.

The 10 cents is collected by supermarket. Then how the 10 cents go to the recycle machine company to reimburse the buyer?

In TS case, if he did not return the bottle, that extra 10 cents collected go to who? Supermarket, recycle company or drinks manufacturer?

I bet money collected all goes to government and they disburse out

So if they collected $1 & that $1 is unclaimed , of course goes to government
Its not possible for them.to return to the first buyer of the drink right

WaterNinja

Supposedly the drink importers and producers are the ones that pay the $0.10 deposit (and associated producer/system fees) to the central scheme operator.

The coffeeshop buy from the importers/producers and pay the price of the drink plus the 10-cent deposit. They then pass this 10-cent cost to the consumer when consumer buys it.

So if the consumer leaves the can at the coffeeshop, and the coffeeshop takes the can to refund at the machine, the coffeeshop earns $0.10 lor 😄

Cannot parallel import from Thailand? Red Bull import from Thailand by containers is very cheap

Joseph12

The machine need 4G 5G connection to send to DBS PayLah. How much is the internet connection? Not cheap since it's not home broadband.

Go and ask Grace
Bet it will be a written reply cos full of shite replies easier to do on paper

trevlim

got try using Paylah?

pwongkk

I bet money collected all goes to government and they disburse out

So if they collected $1 & that $1 is unclaimed , of course goes to government
Its not possible for them.to return to the first buyer of the drink right
That's why I'm curious how the 10 cents go around the various parties.

Sane for the plastic bags 10 cents collection.

Joseph12

That's why I'm curious how the 10 cents go around the various parties.

Sane for the plastic bags 10 cents collection.

Obviously the money won't or shouldn't go to private company cos it would simply mean company will keep the money unclaimed

OR they can have a scheme where a company bid to run the entire thing.
Don't think there's no money to be made.

If I'm the company I will do everything and even tell them here is the $70000 unclaimed

But for every action I do, I will claim
So every action of returning 10 cents I will claim say $3.50 cos I have to return the bottles you know

Uncle Lorger

Then how about expired drinks to be discarded?
I suppose they will discard it the same way they have always discarded it?
maybe just throw into the dustbin

i mean next time with the $0.10 refund, maybe they will empty the cans so they can put it into the machine to get back $0.10? 😄

Uncle Lorger

Cannot parallel import from Thailand? Red Bull import from Thailand by containers is very cheap
if the shop parallel import, the shop will still have to paste the ‘beverage return’ barcode on the Red Bull can before they can sell it in sg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.