Discussion | Beverage Container Return Scheme

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

LWZ

waste of time
i brought some cans and mineral bottles to try
all rejected... fed up throw away into the dustbin
Need to have the 10c sg return logo and the barcode needs to be facing up when put in

Joseph12

Need to have the 10c sg return logo and the barcode needs to be facing up when put in

Sometimes just don't work
Try and try till finally works

Today I saw one X bottle which failed the first time I tried
"Encountered" it again
Tried it and gone through smoothly

First X bottle i tried 5 different machines and.all failed
Cannot be barcode scratched or bottle dented

keenklee

You need to rinse it before keeping inside your bag, walk to some place with the machine and then return. If you have no time, you likely will need a rubbish bbag to keep multiple cans and 1 fine day walk to a place to return.

Of course can dont rinse and put inside bag lah.
IMHO.
I see the conveyor belt inside the machine, wet and dirty - i think no need to rinse ...

keenklee

Need how long to gather 1000x ?
IMHO.
Eh... I don't know, because someone say earn $100, so 10cents is 1000 containers.
It is not how long, it is whether got 1000 container to collect.
Even if can collect 1000, need to go to more than one machine to return.
Just think of the logistics, tired already.

Joseph12

IMHO.
$100 per day involved 1000 container.
One NTUC plastic bag maybe 5 containers.

I thought about it
Even if you are doing full time its difficult
There's a "way" to.do it if you are smart but i won't reveal here

Even using the "way" i think 100 to 200 cans will be tough on daily basis

If you spend 1.whole day making $20 might as well do Grab delivery

Anyway for next big concert can stake out there.and get one or two runners

Find the best spot there

People throw bottles and cans in dust bin, you collect them before its thrown.
Once hit certain mass, get your runners.to claim them

I wonder how much can you hit for 1 night
Do before and after concert
Say 4 to 5 hours

Whimsica

This is like people blaming the 1%-point GST hikes when merchants raised prices by 30%.

Unless the OP sees the $0.40 clearly indicated on the receipt as BCRS deposit, the $0.40 goes to the merchant.

Nothing to do with BCRS.

So blame the merchants - many of them are raising prices every 2-3 months but the last GST hike was on 1.1.2024, rental agreements are not signed every 2-3 months, and I am very certain they don't give increments to their workers every 2-3 months.

BlackWing1977

This is like people blaming the 1%-point GST hikes when merchants raised prices by 30%.

Unless the OP sees the $0.40 clearly indicated on the receipt as BCRS deposit, the $0.40 goes to the merchant.

Nothing to do with BCRS.

So blame the merchants - many of them are raising prices every 2-3 months but the last GST hike was on 1.1.2024, rental agreements are not signed every 2-3 months, and I am very certain they don't give increments to their workers every 2-3 months.
The 1% hike is just an excuse for all the merchants or supplier to raise the price...

Joseph12

Nothing to do with BCRS.

I think he's saying they use BCRS as opportunity to raise prices

Just like GST increase 1% people jack up prices by more than 1%
of course no one is that dumb to say I increase prices by 20% cos of GST

week3nd

Anyone feel that there are issues reading the barcode only for certain types of drinks?

I have a few different can drinks at home. The Pokka ones are super easy to read, don't even have to face the barcode up, anyhow throw also the machine can read instantly 100%

Some other drinks, need to try a few times, keep getting rejected before finally randomly succeeding. Wonder is it the barcode reader or the printing on the can got problem

Joseph12

Anyone feel that there are issues reading the barcode only for certain types of drinks?

I have a few different can drinks at home. The Pokka ones are super easy to read, don't even have to face the barcode up, anyhow throw also the machine can read instantly 100%

Some other drinks, need to try a few times, keep getting rejected before finally randomly succeeding. Wonder is it the barcode reader or the printing on the can got problem

I would say less than 5%
Maybe less than 5, maybe 2 or 3 have issues where it takes more than 1 try

I'm not talking about totally unreadable

NightGhost

IMHO.
I see the conveyor belt inside the machine, wet and dirty - i think no need to rinse ...
This project doesn't make sense.
I don't think people wash, need wash n bring over all this costing more than 0.1
Not to mention the machine operation n menpower for collection n servicing machine also not cheap.

mynickname

The 1% hike is just an excuse for all the merchants or supplier to raise the price...
Please la they dont need any 1% gst hike to find an excuse. How many decades of cny dunno hear interview these people always claim something happened like no rain, or no soil or whatever, thats why veggie or orange more exp. Bak kwa seller dun even bother to provide excuse, just whack 10% increase. Ai jio buay, mai jio suah.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.