Discussion | Beverage Container Return Scheme

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Dopod007

You go lunch, buy a can of drink and finish up your lunch. Walk to machine, find long queue or 2 auntie/uncle with 4 bags. You wait or bring back?

Wait. So need to factor in machine return time and also can only eat around places with machine.

Go back office with dirty can. Wash in toilet and keep at office. So bring back home or bring to machine the next day?

Bring back home. So along the way home, decide to detour to machine. Done.

But 1 day out of 1 month, no time to detour, coz want to party with friend, how to bring 1 empty along.

So keep at office. Next day, go eat same places near machine and return. Bring an empty can and buy a can of drink, 2 cans, 20 cents. Woohoo.

Colleagues say dont go same place eat lah, so may end up with 3 empty cans in office. Finally going to places with machine, bring a bag of cans and take back money.

OR, once a day, make going to machine a part of daily life. sometime vist the machine 2 or 3 times a day depending how many meals are taken outside.

Headline: Singaporeans are the greenest people in the world #1 that they can make a trip to the recycling machine daily. Sometime even up to 3 times.
One thing positive I can see BCRS is that it makes you healthier because you need to walk more to the returning machine 😆

Monstruo^

pretty sure the majority won't wash, the machines will probably all be fked up with different drinks, some half full as well.

there is zero education in sg on how to properly recycle. bcrs won't help, just creates more toxic flow, but owel, i am a mere peasant, nothing is going to change, pap wansui
Exactly. Those dumb ass scholars just wanna faster anyhow implement this and claim credits without thinking through the whole process. Sibei jialat.

Monstruo^

yup, and it's only going to get worse. will probably attract pests like cockroaches, ants, rats.

i've been to aus and germany before. the machines are generally very clean because people have the knowledge and education to wash before they return
Did those countries force people to recycle? No right?
Did they force the label to be printed on every drinks? No right?

I thought recycling is a personal choice. It should come naturally and willingly. Needs education and takes time before it becomes a culture.

Not just slap and force a 10 cents on consumers and force a label on the drinks for companies to sell or else they call it an offence to not have the labels.

Joseph12

I actually seen a cleaner in cleaner's uniform dumping 94 cans in machine

Pity the guy waiting behind him
Cos third world country people are oblivious
Even if you have 1 can only, they won't give way to you

And is this supposed to happen
The guy looks to be a street cleaner
So he likely "attacked" the dustbins for his 100 cans

So its likely 100 cans or $10 daily
And more on weekends

So thats like close to $400 monthly bonus

Joseph12

Do people here take the cans left on hawker centre tables or the return trolley?

As far as I'm concerned those cans put.one side or stored in those cardboard boxes cannot be touched cos those are "reserved" by cleaners or stall owners
Otherwise they can be touched

Similar to coffeeshops except they are smaller.and staff can react faster to take cans especially when.they never charge the 10 cents

Asphodeli

Do people here take the cans left on hawker centre tables or the return trolley?

As far as I'm concerned those cans put.one side or stored in those cardboard boxes cannot be touched cos those are "reserved" by cleaners or stall owners
Otherwise they can be touched

Similar to coffeeshops except they are smaller.and staff can react faster to take cans especially when.they never charge the 10 cents
Moi think if it's still on the eating table is free for all, but once its in the tray return area cannot touch lol

Joseph12

Moi think if it's still on the eating table is free for all, but once its in the tray return area cannot touch lol

Nah tray return is still OK
I've seen people left cans at tray return like late at night and even cleaners left
You don't expect them.to work past 12 am

Once "processed" and cleaner keeps it then its different story

The point is there's no rule that says cans left around at tables and tray return areas are untouchable and belongs to cleaners and stalls

Mecisteus

I actually seen a cleaner in cleaner's uniform dumping 94 cans in machine

Pity the guy waiting behind him
Cos third world country people are oblivious
Even if you have 1 can only, they won't give way to you

And is this supposed to happen
The guy looks to be a street cleaner
So he likely "attacked" the dustbins for his 100 cans

So its likely 100 cans or $10 daily
And more on weekends

So thats like close to $400 monthly bonus
wahlao if I am the one behind, I will just give my 1 can to the cleaner.

Don't need to be so hard up.

Joseph12

wahlao if I am the one behind, I will just give my 1 can to the cleaner.

Don't need to be so hard up.
I was at tail end of it
Like 2 more minutes and he was done.
Thats when i saw the 94 number

For some reason he was acting very suspicious.
He kept looking at me when i did mine
And when i left like after 20 seconds in total he kept looking
Maybe he wasn't supposed to be doing this

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.