DNS-323 Network Storage

radiac

Hi gamerz, thanks for the reply

working a 500gb hdd and a 1TB hdd will work as 1.5TB total volume but this will nt work as RAID 1 right?

FTP will nt a problem to me i guess but a good option..

but 1 thing i dun understand, who will be able to access the files inside the NAS?

ok it seems like that the NAS will be the solution for my needs.

Clyde18

sorry for thread hijack... becos no one is answering the thread i created... but i really need answers so... sorry guys.

Does the stuff written by shadowandy work for the 313 also? Like the MLDonkey and stuff? Becos the 313 does not support BT by default.
Also, does the 313 support NTFS also? The data sheet at dlink.com doesn't mention that

Thanks in advance.

richneo

sorry for thread hijack... becos no one is answering the thread i created... but i really need answers so... sorry guys.

Does the stuff written by shadowandy work for the 313 also? Like the MLDonkey and stuff? Becos the 313 does not support BT by default.
Also, does the 313 support NTFS also? The data sheet at dlink.com doesn't mention that

Thanks in advance.
visit andy's blog

the steps for dns-313 is abit different

richneo

I have bought the DNS-323 and I have download the firmware 1.5 from D-Link SG site.

But when I try to install the the firmware after I extract it, DNS-323 reject the firmware. So how to I go about and find out which is the right firmware 1.5 for my DNS-323. Any link or pointer on this firmware problem. Thank you.
the latest is b28 if im not wrong and even if u get other builts from other website, it is still flashable

there is no reasons for being unable to flash

halocast

I was wondering, how do i "safely" turn off the 323?
Will turning the device off, destroy the raid?

Bieffe

Printer there is a reconised list not all printers can. My Brother HL2040 cannot work....and it will scre up the whole network!

Condor

hi i having this problem when setting up the clutch any ideas?

Connecting to clutchbt.com (74.52.213.130:80)
Clutch-0.4.tar.gz 100% |*******************************| 155k --:--:-- ETA
/mnt/HD_a2 # tar xf Clutch-0.4.tar.gz -C /mnt/HD_a2/www/pages/
tar: invalid tar magic

how to resolve this??

you are using the wrong command for the wrong filetype i.e. using tar on gzipped file.

either u gunzip it first then pass to tar or include the -z parameter to inline the operations.

GamerZ

Hi gamerz, thanks for the reply

working a 500gb hdd and a 1TB hdd will work as 1.5TB total volume but this will nt work as RAID 1 right?

FTP will nt a problem to me i guess but a good option..

but 1 thing i dun understand, who will be able to access the files inside the NAS?

ok it seems like that the NAS will be the solution for my needs.
Yes, not advisable to run RAID on 2 different HDD

You can set up ACL

MarineX

1) Yes, 1 500GB and 1TB can work side by side and you get 1.5GB
2) Not from what I know as long it is not a AIO printer
3) I tried to access it from outside, can't seem to connect eventhough I forwarded the port and the ftp service is started
4) WPA 2 is wireless. Your DNS-323 is plugged to the router.

FTP is working if you set your perimeters in both the NAS (simply enable ftp) and your router settings correctly at Virtual Server.

Lss

Printer there is a reconised list not all printers can. My Brother HL2040 cannot work....and it will scre up the whole network!

just wondering how did you add the printer to your computer? i tried under fedora and windows xp and both were ok. (yes i have the same printer too)

im not familier with win vista but when you install it under winxp, do remember to select it as local printer and configure to local port which is \\<nas hostname>\lp.

Yellowfin

the latest is b28 if im not wrong and even if u get other builts from other website, it is still flashable

there is no reasons for being unable to flash

Thank you, I will try to flash again and see how it goes.

adequate

Having issues trying to format 2 x 500GB Seagate HDD. When it reaches 94%, the progress just stops moving. Any expert here to advise? Thanks a million.

Bieffe

just wondering how did you add the printer to your computer? i tried under fedora and windows xp and both were ok. (yes i have the same printer too)

im not familier with win vista but when you install it under winxp, do remember to select it as local printer and configure to local port which is \\<nas hostname>\lp.
I running Vista lah...so when I plug in the printer....it will prompt me the driver and i direct it to my CD and have it installed from there. (can't be sure of my steps and I did it awhile ago)
However I did not select "local printer" i selected "network printer" then I proceed to search the printer and added it from the network the extension similar to urs.

Could that be my mistake....it will work fine with my way of installation but once the pc or NAS is reset e.g. power off etc my network icon on my PC will have exclamation.....though i can still surf the web.

GamerZ

infront of it there's a Small Square "DLink" button, simply press and hold it for a couple of sec and release it, it will starts to blink and off.

Thanks bro

FTP is working if you set your perimeters in both the NAS (simply enable ftp) and your router settings correctly at Virtual Server.

Yea I manage to get it to work after mapping the IP to dlinkddns.com

GamerZ

I bought a DNS 323 h/w vB1, FW 1.03. And with a Samsung 1TB HDD.

Unfortunately I have not been able to format the drive successfully so far. With FW 1.03 it got stuck at 94% progress and just stays there. I upgraded to FW 1.05 but after formatting about 10+ % it jumps to 100% and then complains format failure.

Anyone got these 2 combination (DNS 323 and 1TB Samsung) working together successfully? Any help much appreciated. Thanks.
I got the 94% format failure when formatting for RAID1, apparently it is quite common, do a google solution for it. I am still trying to solve it from numerous solutions

sWirL84

I got the 94% format failure when formatting for RAID1, apparently it is quite common, do a google solution for it. I am still trying to solve it from numerous solutions

hm..didn't get it while formatting 2 x 1TB WD GP leh....hm...maybe i lucky :s22::s22:

GamerZ

hm..didn't get it while formatting 2 x 1TB WD GP leh....hm...maybe i lucky :s22::s22:
Wha you heng loh, I pulling my hair out because of this. End up flash back to 1.04 and then set the inactive counter to 90mins and then it works, after RAID1ing both of my HDD, flash to 1.05 and set the counter back.

Lss

I running Vista lah...so when I plug in the printer....it will prompt me the driver and i direct it to my CD and have it installed from there. (can't be sure of my steps and I did it awhile ago)
However I did not select "local printer" i selected "network printer" then I proceed to search the printer and added it from the network the extension similar to urs.

Could that be my mistake....it will work fine with my way of installation but once the pc or NAS is reset e.g. power off etc my network icon on my PC will have exclamation.....though i can still surf the web.

wait now im getting confused. you are using dns-323 as a print server but you connect the printer to your pc ???

i suggest removing the brother printers on you vista and using add printer to try again.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.