DNS-323 Network Storage

GamerZ

I was trying to test RAID 1....plug out left drive....format to NTFS.....then plug in... the bugger just format it then say raid 1 sync completed but i felt something was amiss. remove right drive and realised the one i just placed in was empty.

then read online like lots of ppl don't trust the raid 1. so might as well try something else...:s22:

at least if there is accidental deletion i can retrieve it back within the day.=:p
Wha die, think must check liao. thanks bro

halocast

wait.. NTFS can work? no what.. i tot only EXT3?

BTW

I also got my DNS 323 + 2X1TB WD GP drives
Got home first thing is upgrade firmware to 1.05

Then today manage to get my HDDs.. pop it in.. format RAID 1. 100% complete

I am on XP SP2

Abit of info

Total Drive(s): 2
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Volume Name: Volume_1
Volume Type: RAID 1
Sync Time Remaining: Completed
Total Hard Drive Capacity: 981858 MB
Used Space: 24 KB
Unused Space: 981858 MB

GamerZ

BTW

I am on XP SP2

Abit of info

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mine is EXT3 as well.

sWirL84

BTW

I am on XP SP2

Abit of info

I meant I did that to simulate a hdd crash...and a replacement of a new hdd
Yes I had the same as you too....

halocast

scary le.. :s13: dunno raid 1 working mah..

gamerz u on raid 1 also?

sWirL84

Haha... Dont be frightened by me la. I think one simple test is to while transferring a huge file in then see if both hdd light blink. But for me i like being able too see my files are there. Be it through telnet or windows... Hehe

djcoolmax

Having issues trying to format 2 x 500GB Seagate HDD. When it reaches 94%, the progress just stops moving. Any expert here to advise? Thanks a million.

I encountered this... quite common. Here's what I did... got me out of those Stupid 94% errors...without going thru telnet option.

1. I then.. decided to skip the screen when notified to reformat one of my drives, and did a HARD RESERT via the Web admin (Return to Factory Default).
2. Select to redo RAID option and chose instead, to setup as JBOD. (2x500GB Western D)
3. The above completed well.. so I then wen ahead and redo my RAID again.. this time back to RAID-1 (which is what I really want)
4. Fingers crossed, it did not get stuck at the sickening 94% mark and completed!

More from this thread.. my OWN method works for me.

http://forum.dsmg600.info/viewtopic.php?id=2255&p=2

halocast

I was wondering guys..

How do i map the drive using windows? just type in the ip address in the map drive ?

GamerZ

anybody has problem acessing the ftp from outside? I changed the port to 30021 as I think 21 is blocked by starthub. It can connect to the FTP, but it would not list anything.
Code:
[R] 500 I won't open a connection to 172.18.x.x (only to 137.132.x.x)

There is some solutions here http://wiki.dns323.info/howto:open_ports_ftpd. I am going to try forwarding 65501-65510 ports

MarineX

anybody has problem acessing the ftp from outside? I changed the port to 30021 as I think 21 is blocked by starthub. It can connect to the FTP, but it would not list anything.
Code:

There is some solutions here http://wiki.dns323.info/howto:open_ports_ftpd. I am going to try forwarding 65501-65510 ports

negative, 21 is not being blocked by starhub - coz i m using it.

ftp://DDNS or ftp://ipaddress use IE to test.

GamerZ

u trying to connect from sch ah? heh..

I should try too..mine Singnet..

Anyway...morning lecture sian the max leh..:(
Yea, I think it is because the proftp daemon is listing on internal IP =(

GamerZ

hmm.. i have that problem initially, u have to do ur port forward at virtual server if u are using Dlink Router.
I am using Linksys WRT54G.

My FTP port is 30021 which I can connect from outside but after connection, I can't list any files, it just throw me the
Code:
error.

I read it from http://wiki.dns323.info/howto:open_ports_ftpd and have disable the ftp service from the web and use fun_plug to enable it instead. I will go and try tomorrow.

BTW, you have any problem accessing Transmission Web from outside? I can't seem to connect to it either. But I have no problems connecting to my lighttpd server running on 30080

sWirL84

I am using Linksys WRT54G.

My FTP port is 30021 which I can connect from outside but after connection, I can't list any files, it just throw me the
Code:
error.

I read it from http://wiki.dns323.info/howto:open_ports_ftpd and have disable the ftp service from the web and use fun_plug to enable it instead. I will go and try tomorrow.

BTW, you have any problem accessing Transmission Web from outside? I can't seem to connect to it either. But I have no problems connecting to my lighttpd server running on 30080

just tried opening Transmission through web...no prob.. just need to set virtual server in router

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.