DNS-323 Network Storage

GamerZ

wahah..just tried accessing transmission from sch...huat

eh your FTP solved liao? I also kenna similar thing leh :s27:
No leh, still unsolved, can connect but just can't list files. I tried with PORT and PASV mode, same issue.

In Passive Mode:
Code:
[R] Opening data connection IP: 218.212.x.x PORT: 65506
[R] Data Socket Error: Connection timed out
[R] List Error

In Port Mode:
Code:
[R] Listening on PORT: 4244, Waiting for connection.
[R] PORT 172,18,x,x,16,148
[R] 500 I won't open a connection to 172.18.x.x(only to 137.132.x.x)
[R] List Error

For the passive mode, I have forwarded 65501 to 65510 to my static IP DNS-323.

sWirL84

No leh, still unsolved, can connect but just can't list files. I tried with PORT and PASV mode, same issue.

In Passive Mode:
Code:
[R] List Error

In Port Mode:
Code:
[R] List Error

exactly the same prob as you when i tried last night...even after opening the ports like you.
:(

GamerZ

haha....great...;) can control torrents from outside liao..

anyway don't forget to set access control for transmission else anyone can enter...
bro what is the fastest way to secure transmission?

Did you use thise:
Code:
transmission-daemon -f -t -u <username> -v <password> -a +0.0.0.0/0

arunsudhakar

In Passive Mode:
Code:
[R] List Error

In Port Mode:
Code:
[R] List Error

Im able to access FTP via the standard ports from outside my network without any issues. be aware that FTP requires 2ports to be open. one is the control port and the other is the data port. Under default settings its 20(data) and 21(control). Try using these.

if you want more info check out http://www.slacksite.com/other/ftp.html

hope this helps

regards

GamerZ

Im able to access FTP via the standard ports from outside my network without any issues. be aware that FTP requires 2ports to be open. one is the control port and the other is the data port. Under default settings its 20(data) and 21(control). Try using these.

if you want more info check out http://www.slacksite.com/other/ftp.html

hope this helps

regards
Thanks bro, I did study about that before. I changed the control port to 30021 and it can connect. I have also specified the PASSIVE Port to be from 65501 to 65510. Do I still need port 20?

radiac

i've just got my 323 setup with a 1x WD 1TB GP, i have a quick question to ask.. Is it neccessary to run the Easy Search Utility on my other PCs at home or is it my other lappie is having problems? It doesnt connects to the drive on its own. Vista reports that i have to install the driver first.

halocast

i think u need to use it regardless of what computer, mapping doesn't take place automatically, not for the first time anyway...
if u leave it there 24/7 with static.. yr computer shld able to connect to it.. once u find it and map it with the easy utility

or perhaps is this
http://www.dlink.com.sg/support/support_faq.asp?idfaq=279

radiac

yup i understand that the first time doesnt takes place automatically. but let say after a restart, i still have to run ESU to map the drive? anyway thanks for the link, dont think tts the solution to the problem.

ahcalvin

guys my acct in DynDNS is being block for updating too frequently. What is happening huh?? I am using DNS-323 with Linksys WRT54G. below are my setting for both the device.

1.jpg

2.jpg

radiac

hi sorry.. abit noob with all this..

i understand that the DNS 323 can set access for certain users and groups which i already have created. but how does it recognises which pc is the actual user and actually limit the access? i have set the limits but now i cant even access the drive at all as it prompts network password invalid.

MarineX

hi sorry.. abit noob with all this..

i understand that the DNS 323 can set access for certain users and groups which i already have created. but how does it recognises which pc is the actual user and actually limit the access? i have set the limits but now i cant even access the drive at all as it prompts network password invalid.

it goes by UserName and Pw.

ahcalvin

guys is there any way to view chinese charactor through FTP remotely?? I have too many files rename in chinese and I cant view them while I am outside. I am only able to see them while using my home rig mapped with DNS-323 using RJ45 cable. Any solution?

I am seeing this remotely at my workplace even though my browser support viewing of chinese charactor
untitled-4.jpg

GamerZ

exactly the same prob as you when i tried last night...even after opening the ports like you.
:(
BRO, I solved the problem liao.

1. Stop your FTP service in the Web GUI
2. Open fun_plug with text editor
3. Put this line right at the bottom of fun_plug
Code:
pure-ftpd -P 192.168.1.103 -p 65501:65510 -S ,30021 -B -C 3 -I 2 -E -T 100:100
4. Replace "192.168.1.103" with your DNS-323 internal IP, "30021" with your FTP port
5. Ensure that you forwarded 65501 to 65510 to your DNS-323 internal IP
6. Reboot your DNS-323

sWirL84

BRO, I solved the problem liao.

1. Stop your FTP service in the Web GUI
2. Open fun_plug with text editor
3. Put this line right at the bottom of fun_plug
Code:
pure-ftpd -P 192.168.1.103 -p 65501:65510 -S ,30021 -B -C 3 -I 2 -E -T 100:100
4. Replace "192.168.1.103" with your DNS-323 internal IP, "30021" with your FTP port
5. Ensure that you forwarded 65501 to 65510 to your DNS-323 internal IP
6. Reboot your DNS-323

Interesting...i actually used my public IP instead the last time no wonder couldn't work. that website fake me siah..haha..

many thanks! :D

bobaccord

DNS-323 can't access after changed of Broadband modem router...

Hi

I changed my broadband modem router (2Wire 2701HGV-E), after my older 2Wire modem broke down. After changing, I realised I can't access my DNS anymore... (I was able to access prior to that)

I use the D-Link Easy Search Utility 3.8.0.0, it could find the Network Storage Device, but when I tried to do the Drive mapping, it always asked for a login/password and after keying in the appropriate data, it always ended with a FAILED TO MAP DRIVE'...

I suspect it is the firewall inside my 2WIRE modem, but i do not know how to change it. Interestingly, when I opened my iTUNES, it can detect the songs.

Confused....

Thanks in advance for those who can take the time and help me out!

Rgds
Bob

MarineX

Hi

I changed my broadband modem router (2Wire 2701HGV-E), after my older 2Wire modem broke down. After changing, I realised I can't access my DNS anymore... (I was able to access prior to that)

I use the D-Link Easy Search Utility 3.8.0.0, it could find the Network Storage Device, but when I tried to do the Drive mapping, it always asked for a login/password and after keying in the appropriate data, it always ended with a FAILED TO MAP DRIVE'...

I suspect it is the firewall inside my 2WIRE modem, but i do not know how to change it. Interestingly, when I opened my iTUNES, it can detect the songs.

Confused....

Thanks in advance for those who can take the time and help me out!

Rgds
Bob

your ip change already ma..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.