Do Not Call (DNC) Registry~

chengsun

The registration site kind of fail, waited for OTP for 10 minutes, no sms, the request resend OTP, received and filled up, it said wrong OTP. *******!

worldt

When you fill up the lucky draw coupon and drop it into the box, you already signing away your rights for them to call you when you strike their lucky draw... hahaha :s13::s13::s13:

Nowadays I filled in the pests numbers.

Hikikomori

[DNC] Problem with do not call OTP

Tried like 10times keep getting delayed OTP then end up either expired or invalid.
Is their server overload so we keep getting expired code?
Anyone has applied successfully?

https://www.dnc.gov.sg

Kiwi8

From the website:
Announcement:

M1 network maybe experiencing problems relating to sending of SMS of One-Time-Passwords since 9am this morning. Please note that you may experience delays in receiving One-Time-Passwords if you are on M1 network. M1 users may want to register by calling our toll free numbers.

chesterqw

******* fail + 60 days is 2 months which is 1/6 of a year liao

take so ******* long to do this, but collect taxes and fines SI BEI FAST.

badsector

Hope the website is secured enough. Cannot imagine if the whole database gets hacked into.

I hear MOM website kena re-directed on Saturday in the morning news. So, things are still not fully secured.

there's only 8 numbers registered. no address no i/c, no names
what's there to worry tio hack?

game goondu

read the faqs lah... pick the few impt pts...

How can the DNC Registry help me?

The DNC Registry lets you opt out of marketing messages addressed to your Singapore telephone number, such as those which promote or advertise goods or services, allowing you to have more control over the kind of messages you receive on your telephone, mobile telephone, or fax machine.

Organisations are required to check the DNC Registry within certain time periods before sending any marketing message (60 days for the first six months of the DNC Registry's operations, and 30 days thereafter). Therefore, you should not receive marketing messages from organisations (except those you have given clear and unambiguous consent for, in written or other accessible form) 30 or 60 days after registration. However, during the period immediately after registration (within 60 days for the first six months of the DNC Registry's operations, and within 30 days thereafter), you may expect to still receive some marketing messages.

Will the DNC Registry cover overseas telemarketers?

The PDPA shall apply to a marketing message addressed to your Singapore telephone number where:

the sender is present in Singapore when the message is sent; or
you are present in Singapore when the message is accessed.

If a Singapore organisation outsources the telemarketing function overseas, the Singapore organisation that authorised the sending of the message will need to comply with the DNC Registry rules and will be responsible for the sending of the message.

If both the telemarketing organisation and the organisation which outsourced its telemarketing function are overseas organisations and they send the message while you are overseas, the DNC Registry rules will not apply. For example, an overseas telecom service operator sending messages promoting their cheaper IDD service to you via the overseas telecom network will not need to check the DNC Registry.

Are telemarketing messages sent through applications such as WhatsApp covered under the DNC provisions?

Under the PDPA, organisations are prohibited from sending specified messages addressed to Singapore telephone numbers registered with the DNC Registry. In situations where specified messages are sent through smartphone applications that use a telephone number as an identifier, such as WhatsApp, such messages will be covered by the DNC provisions. Specified messages sent via other technologies such as those using a mobile data connection will be treated similarly, as long as the specified message is addressed to a Singapore telephone number. However, some data-based phone applications do not use phone numbers as identifiers, such as iMessage which may use email addresses. In the situations where the message is sent to those applications where the message is not addressed to a telephone number, such messages will not be covered by the DNC provisions.

What can I do if I receive unsolicited telemarketing messages from organisations before the implementation of the DNC Registry on 2 January 2014?

You may wish to directly contact organisations that send you telemarketing messages and ask them to stop doing so.

If you continue to receive telemarketing messages after your request, you may choose to write to the PDPC If there is sufficient information, with your consent to disclose details of your feedback (including your name and contact information), we may contact the relevant organisation on your behalf and remind them of the PDPA obligations that will come into force in 2014.

Please note that the PDPC would not be able to undertake any investigation or enforcement before 2 January 2014.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.