Do we actually need beyond 1Gbps?

elmohootbigbird

i am on 10gbps now bcos its the same cost but they offered me a free wifi7 router which i sold for $200. that significantly reduced cost.

choochoomei83

I think all ISP offer min 3Gbps now
Wah, nowadays all the telcos pushing 3Gbps and above like it's standard sia. But honestly… who actually needs that kind of speed? 🤨 1Gbps already damn fast liao leh. I can stream Netflix 4K, game online, Zoom all day — no lag, no buffering. Unless your house got like 10 people all downloading and streaming at the same time, 3Gbps really a bit overkill lor. Feels like marketing tactic more than anything. Make people think more = better. But truth is, most of the time your Wi-Fi router or the websites you visit also cannot fully utilise 3Gbps.
So unless you’re doing heavy stuff like video editing, running a server, or just want to flex… 1Gbps more than enough la.

cosmothecat

Actually, just 500Mbps is enough

The key is the international Internet gateway

If give you 3Gbps local network speed, but when you browsing USA websites only max 10Mbps, you will also feel that your connection is slow

But a 500Mbps local network with 450Mbps international gateway traffic, you feel it is very fast

Then there is also the ping (lag), high bandwidth with bad pings will feel slow too

Asure7

still using 500Mbps with multiple simultaneous downloads.
No issue at all.

BigMonkey

let me give chiu a scenario.

chiu ish now queuing at MY custom, there are twenty lanes with people queuing but only 1 counter open.

helloicanseeu

I think all ISP offer min 3Gbps now
we dun need leh ... tried to get my shy female neighbour to share broadband but she refused outright, idk why ... not talking to her anymore

there's a difference between having and not having fibre access ...

not much difference between 500mbps and whatever Gbps u have

Shion

Senior Mentor
no, coz my networking devices unable to support such speeds

vangug

if you're not on wifi6 and above... then you don't need anything more than 1gbps... wifi6 can reach 9.6gbps maximum speed... wifi7 even more ridiculous... but if you're not on those technology levels... then no... your limit is 1gbps....

zi

3gbps is the speed to your neighbor next door or the speed to netflix ?

sky00sky

TS is not a documentarist , so never need to review many educational documentary.

1gb or 3gb , the router also need to be able to handle la, the free one sometimes quite cui...so u cannot see the diff with or without LOAD

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.