Do we actually need beyond 1Gbps?

86technie

Wah, nowadays all the telcos pushing 3Gbps and above like it's standard sia. But honestly… who actually needs that kind of speed? 🤨 1Gbps already damn fast liao leh. I can stream Netflix 4K, game online, Zoom all day — no lag, no buffering. Unless your house got like 10 people all downloading and streaming at the same time, 3Gbps really a bit overkill lor. Feels like marketing tactic more than anything. Make people think more = better. But truth is, most of the time your Wi-Fi router or the websites you visit also cannot fully utilise 3Gbps.
So unless you’re doing heavy stuff like video editing, running a server, or just want to flex… 1Gbps more than enough la.
This when my contract up next year I won't be psycho to sign a 5gbps plan.
I just stick with 1gpbs plan.

oddbasket

Then u take 1gbp lo, for $5 diff I chose 2.5. And they upgrade free new modem and WiFi 7 router
But M1 3gbps is $29.50 with free router better, and they offered a discount for recontracts at $32.90 for 6gbps for quite some time. :cry:

Goodshot

But M1 3gbps is $29.50 with free router better, and they offered a discount for recontracts at $32.90 for 6gbps for quite some time. :cry:
Thats why i said 1gbp and 3 gbp is $5 diff , if u ask me i would take the 2.5

limpe84

Problem is that the 1gbps speed provided by telcos don't always feel like 1gbps speed. So maybe when you pay for 6gbps or even 10gbps, then you get the "real" 1gbps speed. I recently upgraded to M1's 6gbps speed and I will say that I have seen a noticeable improvement. For example, YouTube seems to buffer better, though I still get intermittent lack of signal at night.

haiyata

I saw mesh wifi 7 routers, costing few $k.. Crazy

ya lor.

I was looking for this specs:
- wifi 6E
- triband
- 2.5Gbps
- meshed

not many routers have these specs. the very few that have these specs costs almost 1k

if you go with higher specs like:
- wifi 7
- triband
- meshed
- 10Gbps

there are very lesser choices and the prices goes up to $1.6k and above.

hachi

Problem is that the 1gbps speed provided by telcos don't always feel like 1gbps speed. So maybe when you pay for 6gbps or even 10gbps, then you get the "real" 1gbps speed. I recently upgraded to M1's 6gbps speed and I will say that I have seen a noticeable improvement. For example, YouTube seems to buffer better, though I still get intermittent lack of signal at night.
Lack of signal wifi? Or lan cable? If wifi might not be M1 issue.

oddbasket

Thats why i said 1gbp and 3 gbp is $5 diff , if u ask me i would take the 2.5
Just surprised you didn't take $32.90 for 6gbps over $31 for 2.5gbps for continuing with M1. Maybe the CS wanted to lock you in for 2.5gbps instead of informing you. Stating for others to be informed. :cry:

hachi

From 1g to 3-6g, need to replace the Opt?

jadedRomeo

I think it's a natural progression la. We will always need a bigger pipe or speed for emerging technologies.
Dunno bout u guys but i saturate my 1gbs fibre constantly and it does at times affect other people in my household.
Maybe I'll just go with 10gbs soon.

uselessbum

It depends. For a person who plays MMO games, latency (ie ping) is far more important than bandwidth (still need some but heavy diminishing returns). Unfortunately, sg routing to overseas still leaves to be desired. As such, even if 10gbps, you will likely still see 200ms ping on a us wow server if you already have 200ms at 1gbps.

Those who climb hill regularly will see the most benefit out of bandwith.

:(

hachi

Thanks just recontract with M1 for the 3G plan. Will be selling the BE38U router.

born2fly

My StarHub 2gps only can split into 2 1gps each so what's the point

86technie

Cuz no matter how many GPS ISP give.
It still depend on:

1) The server like Youtube, gaming server most are hosted outside of SG.
2) Equipment like PC, HP network interface.
Does most PC come with 2.5GPBS NIC or even 10 GPBS.
No majority still come with 1GBPS unless more higher end DIY PC
may come with 2.5GPBS.
3) WIFI 7 is not mainstream yet, majority of laptop and HP still use WIFI 6.
PC is also the same those with WIFI 7 are very rare.

ISP is bascially selling high speed plans that majority of users won't be
able to fully tap. Is cash grab scheme which is why I won't fall for it.

NintendoSwitch

I think all ISP offer min 3Gbps now
I juz do Speedtest, 124Mbs d/l 144Mbs u/l. Simi 3Gbps dun nid lah. USR 14.4kbs modem FTW.
iu

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.