Do you accept Singapore being called 坡县??

Trueblue82

Didnt see the beedeo but not surprised. Communists always have a very arrogant world view. They always think they own the world and the world owe them. I dont consider them Chinese. Taiwan is a better representation of Chinese.
u mean the culture right, coz taiwan gov and politics also fked up.

2_sillies_trap

It is a given alot of prc have a narrow tunnel view of the world and are very rude as well so no surprise here
meek prcs, most don't have the ability to make money in the ultra competitive china market and afford a singapore horiday luh. prolly worrying about the mortgage to their 烂尾楼 that might never get built.

chenaz

rubbish... it's either your Chinese fail or u trying to give false information.
for them to use xian on a country is definitely belittling that country.
县 definition you are right if goes by dictionary.

but sometimes meaning changed in real world.

is like a names in this context .

someone gave example. Eh bro, eh sis
U think I really treat you like my bro and sis? Or blood related ?

names and idioms are the same. Words used in names and idioms doesn’t really meant that.
班门弄斧。 I really go play axe in front of lu ban door meh?

SecretAgent

NO! This is unacceptable! Communist ruffians are undermining and demeaning us because of our landsize!

We got a very positive national image and characteristic in fact while they are seriously lacks of it

To come out with such belittling words shows their own level

Tschuus

u mean the culture right, coz taiwan gov and politics also fked up.

Between jailing me for my views/criticism or my elected representatives literally fighting in parliament for my interests (or against), I prefer the latter 🤣🤣

chenaz

Of course we understand their rationale. But even if understand some things shouldn't be said. that's why ppl find it offensive.

As for endearment, may have some who use it this way, but when the user is neither a citizen nor has roots here, cant help to feel that it's being used in a derogatory manner.
Yea. Most china quite rude and they don’t meant to hurt anyone. That’s their culture and language .

SaintPeachie

Did we adopt their song for national day? We all know where our hearts belong to. Count on me motherland.

WW1 Flying Ace

your (great)grandparents also dun wanna learn english mah, this kind of change takes time ish normal. mia kia
My greatx2 grandparents wanted to escape the Manchu nonsense and made the voyage here with much difficulty and cost, lived in terrible conditions too. I think they also never expect their descendants to have to put up with the same nonsense that they escaped from :(

iceblendedchoc

meek prcs, most don't have the ability to make money in the ultra competitive china market and afford a singapore horiday luh. prolly worrying about the mortgage to their 烂尾楼 that might never get built.
Their enlightened population is likely 1m but still very little compared to their overall population

VEF888

this one confirm one mah, you see the lever of chinese standards, you know definitely nothing to do with ccp one.

by the way, ccp has done nothing but destroy the chinese culture and heritage since it came into existence bah.

I do love the language itself but it also have absolutely nothing to do with ccp.

mooseolly

When the relationship is still good, it sounds cute. When relationship is tense it will turn offensive.

hctawsgs

No feeling to what others call this damn place. The PAP gov sinkies voted for has sold this little island and let in so many foreigners that they feel they owned this place. Other than jjww about others call us, are we prepare to vote out PAP that is the root of the problem? No right ? So don't pretend to be patriotic when your priorities are CDC vouchers, BTOs, new MRT stations. The day you kicked the PAP out of power, then come and talk. :s8:

WW1 Flying Ace

县 definition you are right if goes by dictionary.

but sometimes meaning changed in real world.

is like a names in this context .

someone gave example. Eh bro, eh sis
U think I really treat you like my bro and sis? Or blood related ?

names and idioms are the same. Words used in names and idioms doesn’t really meant that.
班门弄斧。 I really go play axe in front of lu ban door meh?
I will tell them, I am not your bro, stop calling me your bro :(

cavver777

I think u misunderstood the meaning.
They saying the size is a 县 not saying sg belongs to china and china had nv claimed that before. They failed it 县 is because china go where also by province name , city name. So to them since size of sg is as big as their 县 they just said go 县。Watch the whole video and some of Chinese ppl explained why they called it 县。

same as us. I am going to Serangoon now.

I think your Chinese failed 😬

BlackWing1977

Our newspapers also offended Malaysian workers by calling 马劳 during early 2000. Sound like horse worker. I always mixed with Malaysians. They actually take offense on this pharse.

Now we still using this phase branding Malaysian workers. I don't use this term as it is insulting to them.

Boomer generation call Malaysians 联邦人. The millennium heard this phase of calling, they feel very strange only. Aunty ask them why never go back to 联邦。

That why dun give people nickname what 马佬,马劳,jiuhu kia, Siam kia, Siam bu, hong kie( sound like donkey). That why Chinese call Singapore 坡县 as they mentioned they feel very small 县, sound very cute. They dun find it offensive
It is cute to them until it is not to a Singaporean lor... you call people nicknames ownself feel shiok but the person being called that dun necessary feel shiok about it.. it is called having some basic respect for oneself and others boundaries.

And what you did is whataboutism at best... and 马劳 is the short form of 马来西亚劳工,the extended form of the full term did not show any disrespect, and the term is apt (no surprise it is coined by a newspaper).. it is a fact they are workers aka 劳工 from Malaysia.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.