Does propecia work? How much does it cost?

auzzuro

Hi i have been losing hair so was tinking of getting propecia from doctor . I am wondering hw much will the doctor charge? I just wan to koe roughly hw much? Does anyone koe? N does it work?

gkhchay

I'd strongly suggest that u do yr research about the drug before getting a doc to prescribe it to you. Hair loss is nothing compared to the side effects of the drug.

The generic drug name is Finasteride. Propecia is a brand name.

From the wiki:

Adverse effects

Side effects of finasteride include impotence (1.1% to 18.5%), abnormal ejaculation (7.2%), decreased ejaculatory volume (0.9% to 2.8%), abnormal sexual function (2.5%), gynecomastia (2.2%), erectile dysfunction (1.3%), ejaculation disorder (1.2%) and testicular pain. According to the product package insert, resolution occurred in men who discontinued therapy with finasteride due to these side effects and in most men who continued therapy. The PPI also states that patients have reported persisting erectile dysfunction despite discontinuing the drug. In December 2010, Merck added depression as a side effect of finasteride.[10]

Prostate cancer
The FDA has added warning to finasteride about an increased risk of high-grade prostate cancer.[11] Whilst the potential for positive, negative or neutral changes to the potential risk of developing prostate cancer with finasteride has not been established, evidence has suggested it may temporarily reduce the growth and prevalence of benign prostate tumors, but could also mask the early detection of prostate cancer. The primary area for concern is for patients who may develop prostate cancer whilst taking finasteride for benign prostatic hyperplasia, which in turn could delay diagnosis and early treatment of the prostate cancer, thereby potentially increasing the risk of these patients developing high-grade prostate cancer.

Sexual side effects
There have been case reports of persistent diminished libido or erectile dysfunction, even after stopping the drug.[16] In December 2008, the Swedish Medical Products agency concluded a safety investigation of finasteride and subsequently advised that the use of finasteride may result in irreversible sexual dysfunction. The Agency's updated safety information lists difficulty in obtaining an erection that persists indefinitely, even after the discontinuation of finasteride, as a possible side effect of the drug.[17] The UK's Medical and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency (MHRA) say that erectile dysfunction that persists once use of finasteride has stopped has been reported to them.[18] Similar labeling changes have been made by the Italian government. For a period of time there was a discrepancy between European and North American warning labels regarding the risks of developing persistent sexual side effects from taking Propecia but after two years in April 2011 Merck revised the United States' warning in consumer and medical leaflets to include erectile dysfunction that may persist after stopping finasteride.[19] In April 2012, the FDA chose to approve Merck's proposal from 2011 only after the warning label was further strengthened to include reports of persistent libido disorders, ejaculation disorders, orgasm disorders, and decreased libido. [20][21][22]

Anxiety and depression
Finasteride has been found to robustly induce anxious and depressive behaviors in animals.[23] Accordingly, its clinical use has been associated with depression and anxiety in both men and women in at least several reports in the medical literature.[24] In one study, at a dose of 1 mg per day, finasteride induced moderate to severe depression in 19 of 23 or 83% of participants, including notably in all of the female patients.[8] In addition, marked anxiety occurred comorbidly with the depressive symptoms in some cases. Another study with a larger sample size of 128 men, though no women, also at a dose of 1 mg per day, found that finasteride increased both BDI and HADS depression scores significantly.[25] It also increased HADS anxiety scores, though this was not found to be statistically significant. The authors concluded that finasteride should be prescribed cautiously for patients with a high risk of depression.

In late 2010, Merck revised the label of its Propecia formulation of finasteride in the United States and Canada to add depression to the list of possible side effects.[26]

Male breast cancer
In December 2009, the Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency in the UK announced new drug safety advice on finasteride and the potential risk of male breast cancer. The agency concluded that, although overall incidence of male breast cancer in clinical trials for finasteride 5 mg was not significantly increased, a higher risk of male breast cancer with finasteride use cannot be excluded. A warning on this risk will be included in the product information.[27] Merck revised the United States' warning in consumer and medical leaflets to include the risk of male breast cancer.[19]

Teratogenicity
Finasteride is in the FDA pregnancy category X. This means that it is known to cause birth defects in a fetus. Women who are or who may become pregnant must not handle crushed or broken finasteride tablets, because the medication could be absorbed through the skin. Finasteride is known to cause birth defects in a developing male baby. Exposure to whole tablets should be avoided whenever possible, however exposure to whole tablets is not expected to be harmful as long as the tablets are not swallowed. It is not known whether finasteride passes into breast milk, and thus should not be taken by breastfeeding women. Finasteride may pass into the semen of men, but Merck states that a pregnant woman's contact with the semen of a man taking finasteride is not an issue for concern. Finasteride is known to affect blood donations, and potential donors are typically restricted for at least a month after their most recent dose.

kebinu

What kind of hair loss? Mpb or general thinning?

Length of hair, how are you taking care, physical health, mental health etc?

Once you start such medication, you will lose all your hair after you stop.

Try other remedies first. For example, I cut bOtak first.

gkhchay

Why is cut botak a remedy leh?

I think it's similar to why lots of parents shave their babies' head...

Seriously, folks with falling hair shouldn't just take the whatever drugs they've been prescribed w/o 1st finding out the side effects of it.

Altho at my age, my hair is much less than when I was younger, I wouldn't resort to medication or drugs unless I'm really sick & seeing a doc with prescription drugs/ medication is the only way.

cowed77

Haha mayb I'll go do a transplant or sth when I desperately need it.

Spartanz.

I think it's similar to why lots of parents shave their babies' head...

Seriously, folks with falling hair shouldn't just take the whatever drugs they've been prescribed w/o 1st finding out the side effects of it.

Altho at my age, my hair is much less than when I was younger, I wouldn't resort to medication or drugs unless I'm really sick & seeing a doc with prescription drugs/ medication is the only way.

i m actually considering propecia..

am 26 now with bad hairloss. currently having a very short hairstyle but dont think is gona cover up for long :(

really wanted to shave but couldnt bear to start :(

gkhchay

i m actually considering propecia..

am 26 now with bad hairloss. currently having a very short hairstyle but dont think is gona cover up for long :(

really wanted to shave but couldnt bear to start :(

I wouldn't try the drug if I were u. At 26, loss of libido & impotence + depression & increased risk of prostate cancer is a HUGE price to pay at any age. Good Health is wealth!

You can try Yunnan or something where herbs are used..

cowed77

Iirc, watever side effects from taking fin, if experienced at all, will be removed once off the drug.

Actually yunnan, Beijing and all that is bluff ppl one leh...

Only things proven to work are finasteride, monoxidil and sth else I forgot.

And I rember they found out that the Beijing herbal treatment actually contained... Minoxidil lol.

More info in that other thread.

But haah... Just go transplant sua la.

gkhchay

Iirc, watever side effects from taking fin, if experienced at all, will be removed once off the drug.

Nope. Read what I got fr the wiki:

Sexual side effects
There have been case reports of persistent diminished libido or erectile dysfunction, even after stopping the drug.

auzzuro

Where can i get the country life supplement in spore for hair loss huh i worry get online too many fake product

gkhchay

Where can i get the country life supplement in spore for hair loss huh i worry get online too many fake product

All regular forumners here will tell u never buy any supplement fr local shops other than Tongkat Ali aka Longjack. Only supplement we get locally & even then it's thru local online supplement sites are whey protein.

Reasons NOT to buy fr local stores:

1. Very limited range of good supplements
2. Bloody expensive - if u buy straight fr the US, the price can be as much as only one third of the price ie if it's sold in health food stores & pharmacies here.
3. Almost all regular forumners, myself included, by direct fr iHerb: all it's products are cheap but genuine & shipping by DHL is cheap & fast: u order today online & DHL will deliver it to you by Friday or Sat.

Use my iHerb referral code & u get US$5 off for your 1st purchase..:)

kakashixx

i on propecia for 2 years liao, so far no side effects, still fighting fit. from botak (can see scalp) to full hair (although slightly less than when i had no hairloss). research shown that percentage of patients who said they encountered side effects when on propecia were EQUAL to the percentage of patients who said they encountered side effects when put on a placebo drug.

But if really end up 1 day cannot stand, den oso bo bian liao, wad to do :(

and never ever go beijing 101, yunnan etc., all bluff ppl 1 lah, my father spend 10k dere liao oso 1x botak. cheat money 1 lah such shops. however, i heard some ppl say ba wang is pretty effective, donno true or not haha.:s12:

gkhchay

Well, you're lucky that u didn't get any side effects. On the other hand, if u did then you'll be cursing & swearing at the doc... Remember ALL drugs entail some form of risk...

kebinu

Check the reason for hair loss first.

Longer hair is harder to survive than short hair due to scalp health and nutrient to the hair ends. If cutting botak allow scalp get healthy again good.

Else, check what are the factors for hair loss.

TheOMan

I was on Propecia for 2 years and experienced absolutely NO side effects. I discontinued it because about a year and half ago I was diagnosed with benign prostate hyperplasa (enlarged prostate) and put on Avodart (dutasteride) which is like a stronger form of finasteride.

To date I have experienced no side effects from Avodart. My hair is thicker than ever, I pee like a horse again and everything down below is working just fine. According to my urologist, I will need to continue taking Avodart for one more year and by then my prostate should be back to the size it was when I was a teenager. I'll hop back on Propecia again after that.

Contrary to what Uncle Chay is saying, people experiencing side effects from these clinically researched drugs are extremely rare. Of course, like any other drug, it should be taken under medical supervision.

To the OP: visit your GP to get your hair condition formally diagnosed. Better still, invest a few more bucks and see a skin specialist. Upon formal diagnosis of male pattern hair loss, they'll offer you a few medical options - usually oral (Propecia/finasteride) or topical (Minoxidil). If you opt for Propecia, it will cost you about $95 a month.

Going to places like Beijing 101 and Yun Nam will do nothing for you except lighten your wallet.

gkhchay

Well, like I said before, you're probably another 1 of those lucky ones who did not suffer any side effects fr the drug.

BTW, when the doc prescribed it to u, I'm sure he didn't tell u the possible side effects that you may experience right? Most docs won't because if they do, u may not want the treatment & that'll affect their business. Of course, if it's a life threatening disease or condition, they will tell u some. These are just plain facts.

2 yrs back, a friend of mine was diagnosed with hypertension & was prescribed Prazosin (Minipress) by his doctor. And of course his doctor told him the drug was safe with v little side effects. And he, like most laymen, took the doctor's word for it w/o doing his own research. A few weeks after taking the drug he noticed a drop in libido. He just brushed it off thinking that his job was stressing him & thereby causing it. 2 mths into taking the drug, not only did he experience loss of libido, but also impotence. By then, he was alarmed & asked his doctor who only then told him that it's 1 of the adverse effects of the drug.

My friend knew I was into fitness & nutrition - he asked me what he should do: he hated the side effects but was also concerned that if he discontinued the drug, his hypertension wouldn't be under control. So I advised him to try L-Arginine for 2 mths & stop the drug for that duration for the time being & see if his hypertension would still be under control At the same time, I educated him about a healthy lifestyle - regular exercise with good eating habits. I also introduced him to "must have" supplements like fish oil & CoQ10...

After 3 weeks of stopping the drug & replacing it with L-Arginine, he felt his libido coming back but still had a bit of ED. I then passed him some Tribulus to try. After just 1 week of taking Tribulus, his libido was back full steam & he could be intimate with his wife again. When he went back to his doc after 2 mths, his hypertension was under control w/o the drug & he told his doc he wasn't going to touch another drug unless he was given the full facts! To this day, he still goes for his check-ups but his hypertension is a thing of the past w/o drugs but with L-Arginine, which is an amino acid & he just takes it 3 times a week now...

So u may not experience the side effects of 1 drug but what about the next one? Remember all drugs have side effects.

Now, that doesn't mean supplements are entirely safe either; the most important thing is that you must do your own research & not just listen to everything the doctor tells you. You need to take your health & healing of your condition into your own hands. If after you've done your research & feels that it's worth the risk fine, go ahead but not before that...

TheOMan

I certainly have no issues with supplements - I take a sh!tload everyday and I 100% agree with taking charge of your own health when dealing with medical professionals and supplement gurus.

My GP did indeed discuss with me the possible side effects of Propecia but, because I had worked on a couple of marketing programmes for it myself, I was well aware of these possible issues. The fact is this particular product is VERY well researched and tested. And despite what you might read on Wiki - which is hardly reliable - or hear on audio blogs like Super Human Radio (which I love BTW), instances of serious lasting side effects are very, very rare.

I have to see the urologist who prescribed me Avodart for a review every six months and every single time he will ask me if I am experiencing any side effects.

Ypur point about blood pressure medication is noted. If you can settle BP issues with exercise, diet and natural supplements you will be much better off. I'm a big fan of C0 Q10 myself.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.