Does Whatsapp work in China?

plasticpistola

Nope, I use Starhub roaming service and with that you are able to use WhatsApp. If you were to use the hotel wifi or any other local wifi services, you would not be able to use WhatsApp.

If you want to access gmail on your laptop, you need to connect to your hotphone hotspot.

thanks for replying! you didn't need to use VPN at all ya?

were you also able to use chrome and access gmail (all on mobile) while on SH's roaming service?

sky00sky

There is one VPN that works , so yeah watching EPL /F1 2 weeks ago with room WIFI using my SH TV+ app on my ipad

gregory_choo

in china, use dataroaming should work. if you know what vpn to use, can use hotel's wifi too. note that not all vpn work.

wuyabo

If WhatsApp work how communist monitor u? Not everyone will report their parents siblings as counter revolutionary leh

plasticpistola

Ahhh. I have an answer due to my recent transit at Xiamen.

If you just sign up for data from your telco, all your whatsapp, facebook and google works. I am using Singtel, very convenient & the data works for both China and my actual destination.

However, when I tried connecting to wifi, none of the above worked. It felt like you are transported into this huge intranet that China built where you can only use China-based websites and apps.

So yea. Do take note.

missed out on your post, paiseh!

noted on the wifi bit. i wonder if connecting using the changi dongle thing will work not.

wuyabo

Whatsapp got winni the pooh simile...post lmao locked up in hebei 3y .... eat formaldehyde cabbage and drink counterfeit nongfu spring...

tanahgu

when i was using china home wifi, i only get a wa notification there are new msg
need to switch to roaming to receive the actual msg

if need to do work, baidu n bing search engines jin laoya
must have google access

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.