Door bell with camera recommendations

winningeleven

Hi. My current door bell that provided by hdb on my premium flat has damaged. It is wired type and it had been used for more than 10 years.

Fast forward now Knowing that door bell has come camera feature and I would like to get one which is able to "syn" to monitoring app and able to have liveview and instant notification so I am able to monitor delivery when I am not at home.

Some questions.
Is there a door bell with speakers where I can speak to the couriers?

When the door bell "ring". The ring is send through phone or existing door bell ring device?

And finally what kind of price range and I expected to pay.

djr81

Ring video door bell 2.

https://ring.com/

Very gd, u can sign up for plan where it will save all the video thru cloud and can view it later. If not u can just view it, talk to the person and end the call nothing will be save..got motion alert if got ppl walk pass. And can also get the door bell where it will chime when someone press it and also alert where there is motion trigger.

I use without the plan...

Installation is easy.

If need help can just drop me a msg...

:s22:

Hi. My current door bell that provided by hdb on my premium flat has damaged. It is wired type and it had been used for more than 10 years.

Fast forward now Knowing that door bell has come camera feature and I would like to get one which is able to "syn" to monitoring app and able to have liveview and instant notification so I am able to monitor delivery when I am not at home.

Some questions.
Is there a door bell with speakers where I can speak to the couriers?

When the door bell "ring". The ring is send through phone or existing door bell ring device?

And finally what kind of price range and I expected to pay.

oohmygod

I also use ring doorbell pro with a subscription to their cloud plan. Overall, I am satisfied with this doorbell.

Installation is not easy for me. Have to replace the transformer in the DB box. I did it during my reno so the electrician can do it for me.

djr81

Try the pro before the speaker too soft until my mouth must touch the mic area... even tested with the ring technical also cant explain whats wrong :s22:

Thought spolit , replace 3-4 times also same result... probably is the earlier batch issues..the video door bell 2 work perfectly for me...

:s22:

I also use ring doorbell pro with a subscription to their cloud plan. Overall, I am satisfied with this doorbell.

Installation is not easy for me. Have to replace the transformer in the DB box. I did it during my reno so the electrician can do it for me.

noangel7

Xiaomi dingling doorbell also has camera.
Setup was easy to wifi and mi home app china server

Video quality is decent though i wouldnt say notification is immediate.

It is supposed to have mic but ive never tried it.

RyanJ

1.png

Nest Hello

Can wire ur existing doorbell chime to Nest Hello, and/or use google devices to make announcements . Needs to be hardwired. I dun like rechargeable batteries anyway. Have a cloud subscription, using it for coming to a yr, no issues, just make sure it receives good wifi signals, audio/speech conversation quite clear.

winningeleven

Thank for the recommendation.

Ring door bell 2 cost about $300 with SG warranty 1 year.

Probably i will up the xiaomi doorbell dingling

tazy_tazy

I just install nest hello, but have not subscipt to the nest aware coz need us address...

1.png

Nest Hello

Can wire ur existing doorbell chime to Nest Hello, and/or use google devices to make announcements . Needs to be hardwired. I dun like rechargeable batteries anyway. Have a cloud subscription, using it for coming to a yr, no issues, just make sure it receives good wifi signals, audio/speech conversation quite clear.

winningeleven

As mentioned ,i just got the xiaomi dingling doorbell.

here is my mini review.
First of all. while using your Mi home app,u have to set the server to "China" ,there is no way we are unable to use this product if we choose Singapore which My xiaomi 1st gen robot vacuum is able to. After setup using china server, no issue on the connection to the doorbell through my home wifi .

When tried pressing the door bell, The speaker ringed instantly, but not the notification that send to your phone, it would delayed at least 1 to 2 mins and sometime it wont even received.

Same goes for motion detection. video will take awhile to load. As for the live view which activated only after someone who pressed the door bell or motion detected. It failed to work at all. I suspected it is probably due to the china server being used and there is nothing we can do.

despite the delaying of notification, it able to capture the person who pressed the door bell or motion being detected.

The problem we seen now is before we got this xiaomi doorbell. Most of the reviews rated this product flawlessly and the live view being tested . However it is no possible for me at all. So for those who want a instant notification and able to communicate and monitor through live view. Then better have to spend more to consider more reliable and costly products that is proven here.

sellun

Xiaomi sever really suck. Even tho my 360 cam is on sg server the motion detection notification barely work too.

I'm not surprised by your review. Thanks for sharing. Maybe you can share the battery life after sometime?

Sent from HUAWEI BLA-L29 using GAGT

winningeleven

Xiaomi doorbell costs less than $70. For the price I have no complaint.

There is a local guy who did a video review on Youtude and he managed to use live view. Not sure how he could do it. For now. The doorbell camera still get the job done on security by capturing image and video recording as I always instruct courier to leave the item at riser when no one at home.

Manual stated battery can last up to 6 months. My expectation should be +-1 month

sellun

Xiaomi doorbell costs less than $70. For the price I have no complaint.

There is a local guy who did a video review on Youtude and he managed to use live view. Not sure how he could do it. For now. The doorbell camera still get the job done on security by capturing image and video recording as I always instruct courier to leave the item at riser when no one at home.

Manual stated battery can last up to 6 months. My expectation should be +-1 month
Did you mount it using tape or screw holes?

How do you check on the courier? Using motion detection and auto recording then view the recording later?

winningeleven

Did you mount it using tape or screw holes?

How do you check on the courier? Using motion detection and auto recording then view the recording later?

I mounted it through the sticky paste on the rear.

As mentioned. Live View is almost impossible. Just have to depend on the "delay telecast" of the video. Nowaday delivery will usually call when no one answered the door. I always instruct them to leave inside the riser. The doorbell camera is just a deterrent measure and I know it won't prevent other from stealing my items.

djr81

For ring if the network is good it work quite instant when someone press the bell or trigger the motion sensor. I always at oversea and network and data roaming is not as stabe in sg but it work for and i manage to talk to stranger who press the door bell.

Live view also work very well... sometime bo liao just go live view see see :s22:

The fun part is my kids sometime go press the door bell just want me to talk to them :D

But to record it, u will need to pay for sub fee which i did not.. i use my samsung PT cam to record...

As mentioned ,i just got the xiaomi dingling doorbell.

here is my mini review.
First of all. while using your Mi home app,u have to set the server to "China" ,there is no way we are unable to use this product if we choose Singapore which My xiaomi 1st gen robot vacuum is able to. After setup using china server, no issue on the connection to the doorbell through my home wifi .

When tried pressing the door bell, The speaker ringed instantly, but not the notification that send to your phone, it would delayed at least 1 to 2 mins and sometime it wont even received.

Same goes for motion detection. video will take awhile to load. As for the live view which activated only after someone who pressed the door bell or motion detected. It failed to work at all. I suspected it is probably due to the china server being used and there is nothing we can do.

despite the delaying of notification, it able to capture the person who pressed the door bell or motion being detected.

The problem we seen now is before we got this xiaomi doorbell. Most of the reviews rated this product flawlessly and the live view being tested . However it is no possible for me at all. So for those who want a instant notification and able to communicate and monitor through live view. Then better have to spend more to consider more reliable and costly products that is proven here.

squidy

Hi guys, for nest and ring, can I simply use my existing wiring from my existing hdb Bell to connect straight to nest and ring? Is it as simple as that?

djr81

For Ring Yes tats what i had done...for nest not sure nv try before..

:)

Hi guys, for nest and ring, can I simply use my existing wiring from my existing hdb Bell to connect straight to nest and ring? Is it as simple as that?

djr81

Im using alexa.. anyway will seldom use that also...

Just get ring door bell.. i find in buay pai.. can set different tine fir the bell and motion..

:)

Sigh but I'm not using Alexa. Can't get ring to utilize my Google home/mini to sound the bell

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.