Door bell with camera recommendations

RyanJ

Hi guys, for nest and ring, can I simply use my existing wiring from my existing hdb Bell to connect straight to nest and ring? Is it as simple as that?

For Nest Hello doorbell yes. It is a matter of whether the transformer can support the Nest.

Sigh but I'm not using Alexa. Can't get ring to utilize my Google home/mini to sound the bell

Likely not for a long time, rivals leh.

Ring = Amazon family

Nest = Google. U can use Nest Hello and fire up the Google mini/home/hub etc

djr81

Nest i think also same with ring need 16-24vac to power... but for ring it accepts vac and vdc so can just get the normal 6vdc adaptor to wire to ring so it will always charge the battery...

:s22:

For Nest Hello doorbell yes. It is a matter of whether the transformer can support the Nest.

Ring = Amazon family

porker997

Ring seems interesting but do they ship here from the US? Or need to buy from amazon.

Cheers

sellun

Existing HDB doorbell have electrical wiring? I never ever used the doorbell before. If I were to wire nest or hello I need to pull power (correct voltage) to the doorbell point in kitchen that's all?

Sent from HUAWEI BLA-L29 using GAGT

djr81

My bto have 2 wire run to the kitchen.

So from there i wire to the power adaptor lor..

If dun have just pull near to a power source will do.. any electrical cable will do the work liao.. use cat5e or telephone 4 wires cable also can..

:)

Existing HDB doorbell have electrical wiring? I never ever used the doorbell before. If I were to wire nest or hello I need to pull power (correct voltage) to the doorbell point in kitchen that's all?

Sent from HUAWEI BLA-L29 using GAGT

djr81

Can buy direct.. no need go thru amazon..

If u wan to buy and try then use amazon cuz got 30 days to return...

U can return on the 29 days

Ring got alot of youtube video of user upload.. and alot of news reports showing ppl steal those package left at the door..

Ring seems interesting but do they ship here from the US? Or need to buy from amazon.

Cheers

squidy

Ring = Amazon family

Hi there! i saw in the past you asking about this as well. Can i know hows your setup now? i saw in the other thread, the user "ahhian" actually still need to plug in the adapter to a socket. i want the wires to be hidden inside the wall and not be visible..

haha i know they are rivals, but back in feb, Ring CEO said its still possible in the future for Ring to be integrated with Google home. not sure what to get now man.

anyway attached here the pictures from ahhian.

11.jpg

22.jpg
[/QUOTE]

squidy

Can buy direct.. no need go thru amazon..

If u wan to buy and try then use amazon cuz got 30 days to return...

U can return on the 29 days

Ring got alot of youtube video of user upload.. and alot of news reports showing ppl steal those package left at the door..

Buy direct as in buying in Singapore?

squidy

Im using alexa.. anyway will seldom use that also...

Just get ring door bell.. i find in buay pai.. can set different tine fir the bell and motion..

:)

ya i like everything about ring but i want the notification to come from my google minis/home and not only from my phone haha.now my only concern is the wiring.

Apparatus

I have been using RING doorbell even before its available in S'pore. No regret.

You can get it in S'pore from a shop in Eunos. Sometimes in those PC shows you can find it there as well

djr81

I like ring presentation and tech support.. very efficient..

Im using ring vdb2 and their alarm system..

Been using alexa for long time and when google home launched i quickly buy and in hope can resolve the issues i have with alexa but also same problem so in the end i go back with alexa and i feel comfortable calling alexa raher then hey google :s22: The only wining is google is more localized for Singapore usage...

ya i like everything about ring but i want the notification to come from my google minis/home and not only from my phone haha.now my only concern is the wiring.

djr81

Ah another happy user.. which model u use?

I have been using RING doorbell even before its available in S'pore. No regret.

You can get it in S'pore from a shop in Eunos. Sometimes in those PC shows you can find it there as well

Apparatus

Ah another happy user.. which model u use?

Still the 1st gen type. Spoilt once and RING overseas replaced for me. I have the RING chimes too bought in S'pore

squidy

Sg got ppl sell but they are not dealer and they buy online and resell to local sg with mark up...: :s22: So why want to do that?

hmm then what u meant by buy direct? Ring official website doesnt ship direct to SG.

djr81

1st gen is the break through then the pro which i think is not gd.. worst then gen 1 then the ring video door bell 2 launched which i think is perfect liao.. ring chime actually no need to buy 1.. there is a way to request for it last time...

Still the 1st gen type. Spoilt once and RING overseas replaced for me. I have the RING chimes too bought in S'pore

djr81

Eh.. last time i think can leh... :s22:

But if cannot then get from amazon..

Any problem they will help also...

Anyway their factory is in china.. any replacement will be send from there..

hmm then what u meant by buy direct? Ring official website doesnt ship direct to SG.

squidy

Eh.. last time i think can leh... :s22:

But if cannot then get from amazon..

Any problem they will help also...

Anyway their factory is in china.. any replacement will be send from there..

read some comments that those on mesh wifi is having trouble connecting to the ring2. are u on mesh wifi as well?

djr81

No problem leh im on google mesh.

I got 1 thst is on google mesh and 1 without both work ok..

As long hp signal good i have no issues while outside answering..

If u got doubts buy in amazon and ship it over test liao buay song and dun like it just send back...tats what i do for the pro.. i brought nearly 4 too convinced myself that the unit i received got problem and unit 4 also same problem.. give up and ship all back to amazon... :s22:

read some comments that those on mesh wifi is having trouble connecting to the ring2. are u on mesh wifi as well?

RyanJ

Hi there! i saw in the past you asking about this as well. Can i know hows your setup now? i saw in the other thread, the user "ahhian" actually still need to plug in the adapter to a socket. i want the wires to be hidden inside the wall and not be visible..

haha i know they are rivals, but back in feb, Ring CEO said its still possible in the future for Ring to be integrated with Google home. not sure what to get now man.

My prev owner tore away all the doorbell wirings during his reno. ( which was stupid )

I had to get electrician to pull wire from DB box all the way to the door front. ( had to drill thru walls ) Bought a transformer from tabao to power up the doorbell. Wires not visible, just a doorbell on white wall. I didn wire Nest Hello together with a physical chime but let the notifications be announced by my google assistants . I have 5 of them. As long as wifi signals are robust the doorbell works, so I had a Google wifi puck near the door.

I subscribe to Nest Aware for the doorbell ( + other nest cams in household ). Without Nest Aware, the unit is quite handicapped. It is easy for me or wife to communicate via mobile with e.g postman or whoever pressed the doorbell when out.

It was only recently Google started selling a 3rd party power adapter for the Nest doorbell.

I dun think it is too different from Ring/Amazon. Just that you have to "adopt" the family that comes with them to work well. At least for now, until they make peace again.

I can use voice commands to chomecast various Nest cams / doorbell streams to TVs but I find it rather useless at least for my own usage . However only google home hubs auto display video stream when someone presses the doorbell. ( the mini hub getting cheaper and cheaper by the week )

I was not successful to link Nest doorbell to the Philips Hue e.g on press or motion detect certain zones light up gate light. i ended having a Philips motion sensor to turn on the said Hue light. If they gelled better it would be great to auto turn on night lights on motion detection in household. Not sure if they have improved integration on that front recently.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.