Door bell with camera recommendations

elvintay07

U all using the 18VAC 500mA transformer adapter ? I tried looking for Safety mark kind but cannot find, so have to use all those unmarked china brand kind ? Some on Lazada/Shopee listed have UL certification, but all the users review photos the adapter have no UL printed at all..
I using non safety mark. To be honest, I feel safety mark is a con job for Singapore regulators to earn money. I asked my main con tow Kay friend. He said he also using non safety mark for himself. I told him what if catch fire etc. he say if catch fire, then the safety mark sticker is fire proof? He said some commercial companies and landed homes also using from taobao. If scare then get safety mark lo. Ownself make decision ownself. In the end, just **** it, not say I don’t want to use. Search the whole of sim Lim also can’t find 1 with safety mark,

frostbullet

I using non safety mark. To be honest, I feel safety mark is a con job for Singapore regulators to earn money. I asked my main con tow Kay friend. He said he also using non safety mark for himself. I told him what if catch fire etc. he say if catch fire, then the safety mark sticker is fire proof? He said some commercial companies and landed homes also using from taobao. If scare then get safety mark lo. Ownself make decision ownself. In the end, just **** it, not say I don’t want to use. Search the whole of sim Lim also can’t find 1 with safety mark,
Where did you get the transformer? Any recommends? First time doing hardwire and learning but cannot find much info leh. Am getting the tapo d235 as well.

elvintay07

Where did you get the transformer? Any recommends? First time doing hardwire and learning but cannot find much info leh. Am getting the tapo d235 as well.
I ordered the one used for Google doorbell. It works. Actually if you read the instruction for the tapo, you can wire to the common doorbell in condo. But you need to play with the wires. Not sure how to do it but I think can be done

firesong

Jumping in. Are there any new PoE powered doorbells these days? Or is it still limited to WiFi and manual power cable to the kitchen?

firesong

I think Ubiquiti has
Oh yeah, apologies for being unclear. I meant "New" as in not the usual suspects (Unifi, Cisco, etc) as they are pretty costly.

Found it interesting that it's not yet mainstream even as PoE is more popular these days. It's an untapped market - providing power and reliable connection with one cable, rather than risk wifi drop outs and having to run power/remove to charge,

elvintay07

Oh yeah, apologies for being unclear. I meant "New" as in not the usual suspects (Unifi, Cisco, etc) as they are pretty costly.

Found it interesting that it's not yet mainstream even as PoE is more popular these days. It's an untapped market - providing power and reliable connection with one cable, rather than risk wifi drop outs and having to run power/remove to charge,
I feel very difficult to tap the PoE to the front doorbell. My friend redo all the cables to fit his ubiquit. For most homes, wireless makes more sense and you just pull a simple AC adapter. Another way is to use the current doorbell wiring but you need a zai electrician to do that

firesong

I feel very difficult to tap the PoE to the front doorbell. My friend redo all the cables to fit his ubiquit. For most homes, wireless makes more sense and you just pull a simple AC adapter. Another way is to use the current doorbell wiring but you need a zai electrician to do that
Yep. I plan to run additional cables for my home network. I have plans for 3 ceiling mounted APs. Running one from the DB box to the doorbell area shouldn't be too much of a problem. Won't be harder than getting a hole for the AC adaptor.

The current doorbell wiring is fine, but it's only a standard 2 strand (great for connecting to the AC adaptor but may need to be driven for the unexpected additional length, and that it terminates in quite an inconvenient spot in the Kitchen is also a problem). But what I'm saying is, it would be quite challenging to try and run Ethernet cabling along the same path, and also considering the weird termination point.

I just find the Unifi doorbell not great for the money the local vendors are asking for it. If all fails, For the cost of the G4 Pro PoE doorbell (a whopping $599), I am better off putting that cost towards the Aqara set for the door area (Door+Gate+Bell with the Hub). The current price of the Aqara doorbell is $188.10.

Edit: Added Aqara promo price link.

ykeen

I just find the Unifi doorbell not great for the money the local vendors are asking for it. If all fails, For the cost of the G4 Pro PoE doorbell (a whopping $599), I am better off putting that cost towards the Aqara set for the door area (Door+Gate+Bell with the Hub). The current price of the Aqara doorbell is $188.10.

Edit: Added Aqara promo price link.
Not many POE doorbells out there.

there’s still the 1st gen expensive Ring Doorbell Elite that does POE from 2017

UniFi probably is the better newer one although still pricey. But if you can buy in US the price probably ok.

I guess not many POE models on a 2 fold problem.
1. Not many people know POE so only network enthusiasts or tech people will be interested. With POE u also need POE switch which normal consumers may also be reluctant to buy vs wifi everyone seem to have and to power either via battery or normal AC or DC adapter.

2. Manufacturers only compete on price (like many IoT devices) as consumers usually use that as yardstick so manufacturers skim on all these, POE or even wifi many doorbells are still on 802.11n like aqara even though it was launched in 2023-2024

can check out below
https://reolink.com/product/reolink-video-doorbell-poe/

elvintay07

Not many POE doorbells out there.

there’s still the 1st gen expensive Ring Doorbell Elite that does POE from 2017

UniFi probably is the better newer one although still pricey. But if you can buy in US the price probably ok.

I guess not many POE models on a 2 fold problem.
1. Not many people know POE so only network enthusiasts or tech people will be interested. With POE u also need POE switch which normal consumers may also be reluctant to buy vs wifi everyone seem to have and to power either via battery or normal AC or DC adapter.

2. Manufacturers only compete on price (like many IoT devices) as consumers usually use that as yardstick so manufacturers skim on all these, POE or even wifi many doorbells are still on 802.11n like aqara even though it was launched in 2023-2024

can check out below
https://reolink.com/product/reolink-video-doorbell-poe/
Actually doorbell is more like complimentary products unlike digital lock. Some digital lock have built in video monitoring also (ie someone press bell then video triggered).

Also for staying condo, the doorbell is more like precaution. I saw some xiaolang neighbours come throw some funny things at one of my neighbour’s door. Then I provide the footage to my neighbour. Condo already super secured and not easy to come in. But this provides an added layer of protection which I think not 100% essential.

For HDB maybe more value but not everyone can deal with PoE devices. So easy is still plug and play (using battery or power)

firesong

Actually doorbell is more like complimentary products unlike digital lock. Some digital lock have built in video monitoring also (ie someone press bell then video triggered).

Also for staying condo, the doorbell is more like precaution. I saw some xiaolang neighbours come throw some funny things at one of my neighbour’s door. Then I provide the footage to my neighbour. Condo already super secured and not easy to come in. But this provides an added layer of protection which I think not 100% essential.

For HDB maybe more value but not everyone can deal with PoE devices. So easy is still plug and play (using battery or power)
It's not true that not everyone deals with PoE. I do know a few HDB dwellers who have PoE setups at home, with their cameras and APs too. The PoE doorbell is just a drop in for them

Where it differs is that the cost of Unifi doorbells is exorbitant compared to some of these others, and it doesn't matter so much with HA set up to interface multiple systems.

elvintay07

It's not true that not everyone deals with PoE. I do know a few HDB dwellers who have PoE setups at home, with their cameras and APs too. The PoE doorbell is just a drop in for them

Where it differs is that the cost of Unifi doorbells is exorbitant compared to some of these others, and it doesn't matter so much with HA set up to interface multiple systems.
Aiya, today want PoE but want to pay peanuts. All the PoE and routers also more expensive mah. Obviously the PoE camera also ex la.

Machiam like I say all the pro drivers and billionaires want to drive Lamborghini. Then got this group of rich wannabes who loves to drive Lamborghini. They claimed they have good skills in controlling the car etc. But only want to pay Lexus price. Very difficult la. No best solution one. There is always a balance.

firesong

Aiya, today want PoE but want to pay peanuts. All the PoE and routers also more expensive mah. Obviously the PoE camera also ex la.

Machiam like I say all the pro drivers and billionaires want to drive Lamborghini. Then got this group of rich wannabes who loves to drive Lamborghini. They claimed they have good skills in controlling the car etc. But only want to pay Lexus price. Very difficult la. No best solution one. There is always a balance.
I think you're exaggerating it more than a bit.

PoE is not some rich or expensive tech - the technology has existed for a long time now since the 802.11af standard was ratified in 2003 so it is older than some of the wifi standards that are in use. If anything, it actually saves money (no need to run dedicated power lines is a big one) and guarantees reliability and security (since Ethernet > wifi). The issue here is lack of availability because the vendors would rather push sub-par solutions. It is no where near a Lamborghini.

elvintay07

I think you're exaggerating it more than a bit.

PoE is not some rich or expensive tech - the technology has existed for a long time now since the 802.11af standard was ratified in 2003 so it is older than some of the wifi standards that are in use. If anything, it actually saves money (no need to run dedicated power lines is a big one) and guarantees reliability and security (since Ethernet > wifi). The issue here is lack of availability because the vendors would rather push sub-par solutions. It is no where near a Lamborghini.
Aiya bro. You either run a lan or a power through to the doorbell. Today default and easier to run is power than lan. Some doorbell even uses battery so that you don’t even need a power cable. You can say whatever theory you want but if they don’t make, you also LPPL. If want PoE, then pay for Ubiquiti. If not then use power supply. You talk all the theory machiam tomorrow TP link will release a PoE version for you meh.

Even today we all support you machiam like got 65% like PAP, Google, TP link also won’t make one PoE version for you

firesong

Aiya bro. You either run a lan or a power through to the doorbell. Today default and easier to run is power than lan. Some doorbell even uses battery so that you don’t even need a power cable. You can say whatever theory you want but if they don’t make, you also LPPL. If want PoE, then pay for Ubiquiti. If not then use power supply. You talk all the theory machiam tomorrow TP link will release a PoE version for you meh.

Even today we all support you machiam like got 65% like PAP, Google, TP link also won’t make one PoE version for you
Thanks.

Everything you said completely disregarded @ykeen's post that you quoted wholesale lol. Not sure what kind of point you're making here if ykeen can point at a SGD119 doorbell and answered the question already.

ykeen

I also used to think the Ring Doorbell Elite POE was exorbitant in 2017. It is currently still the ONLY POE doorbell from Ring/Amazon at same exorbitant price with same hardware from 2017.

On that end I think Ubiquiti G4 Doorbell Pro PoE today is priced decent although lower is better (I'm referring to USD price US379, not the SGD distributor price), given that its one of the big names that has POE, not much other big names with POE not even Google doorbell. In that vein, in case Apple comes out with a smart doorbell I don't think it'll ever come with POE too, or maybe they would if they come with POE injector, but i still think it's unlikely. (Fun fact Uniquiti founder was ex Apple staff, and stopped developing networking products like AirPort as well)

The UniFi ecosystem has Network, Protect, Access, and Talk. And the G4 Doorbell Pro PoE belongs to the Protect function, so it is also worth it to manage it under "1 integrated platform" compared to buying even another brand TPLINK/REOLINK or whatever then additional app to download or manage and update, everything under UniFi umbrella has its worth.

UOB. One Bank For ASEAN.
https://www.linkedin.com/redir/redirect?url=https://www.uobgroup.com/uobgroup/one-bank-for-asean.page&urlhash=v2fc&trk=public_post_feed-article-content
So far until now, IoT manufacturers still think POE is an Enterprise feature thats why you see this lack of smart doorbell IoT devices with POE. Or they're not ready to fight with traditional home security solutions (brands with POE CCTV cameras etc) just yet.

PS: my AI found another one and its lesser known to me as well, this brand is some US brand. (and its not pretty)
https://suretyhome.com/product/poe-doorbell-camera/

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.