Dslr?

Ah_keong

why not the a6000...?

the last time I enquired, it was 85x with 16-50 kit lens.

personally I went for the a6000 body only with the 20/2.8 pancake (total came up to $940 or so) because of the compactness. though I must say emount lens options are more restricted but eventually youd have that one or two lenses that are used most frequently, so I guess the limited lens options is still kinda alright

a6000 is one good option. and there are plenty options for lens considering third party in the picture.

maxresdefault.jpg

Ah_keong

Hi guys, would it be worth to get a 5D mk iv? i would really much prefer a 6d mk2 but it may be some time before it is released. i was using a 6d before and have since sold it and shot only with my iphone out of convenience but i realized thats just being an absolute lazy ass.

are there other full frame alternatives that are current? thanks!

what is/are the reasons you sold your 6D?
if laziness is the main reason, then there is no point getting a camera.
I foresee you would sell it in the near future after you bought it.

highres-sigma_85mm_f14_art_on_canon_5d_mark_IV_1479115357.jpg

Curry Crab

Hi ah Keong may I just ask if d3300 is decent?

compared to d5300 which still stands out?

what is/are the reasons you sold your 6D?
if laziness is the main reason, then there is no point getting a camera.
I foresee you would sell it in the near future after you bought it.

highres-sigma_85mm_f14_art_on_canon_5d_mark_IV_1479115357.jpg

Ah_keong

Hi ah Keong may I just ask if d3300 is decent?

compared to d5300 which still stands out?

I must say I am not an expert on Nikon as I shoot Canon and Olympus.
based on my understanding from my friends who shoot Nikon.

First question, I would like to ask is "what do you mean by decent?"
Without knowing your definition, I am unable to comment.

For DX, I would recommend D7200 as I feel is the best 'consumer' DSLR as of today. Bang for the Buck and will stretch your dollar

if you have the budget, I would recommend D500 (my favorite!) as it currently houses Nikon's state of the art technology as many would call it 'mini D5'.

if you are considering D5300, I would recommend D5500.
It is more robust revised chassis design.
It has a 'touch-screen' LCD allowing intuitive interface with human.
It has better battery life about ~30% more.
It is smaller and lighter than D5300.

Both D5500 (other than swivel touch screen) and D3300 does not features that are in the D7200 and less controls.

One of the reasons why I step up from my Olympus pen to Canon DSLR is the handling and ergonomics.

Have fun!

d7200-2-0609.jpg

Dreaming

if size is an issue, which mirrorless camera should i get that has the same features/spec as 80d?

Ah_keong

Below 2k....

Sigh I really keen to get 80d but the size of it might be troublesome for traveling :(

well, there is no good solution at this point in time that suits your requirements yet fit your budget,

you may want to revisit your requirements or budget. Review all the recommendations that you have read and everyone has posted here and then reach a decision.

cheaper+better+faster.jpg

Dreaming

Then I might just get 80d as my heart still wants it.. Arghh the weight =x is it better to get a slingbag for 80d? I don't want to take off the lense.

Ah_keong

there are different type of bags and brands out there so you may want to try them out if they suits your style.

These is what I am using (as it suit my needs), you may have a different need and style so take it as a reference.

1) For everyday : one body + one standard lens + one wide angle lens
(this is my go to DSLR bag when I leave my house with very standard setup)
teaching_waistsystem_1.jpg

2) For street / travel :
(this is my all-in-one go around bag)
TT690_11567_3.jpg

3) For action / event :
(this is my standard battle gear)
Think-Tank-Modular-1b.jpg

TTP-SKIN50-V2-04.jpg

sometimes I dismantle my number 3 set and mix and match.
digital-holster50-v2-7.jpg

maxresdefault.jpg

so once again, there is no one size fits all solution. you need to weigh between mobility(size&weight), price and handling.
There are pros and cons for all three that I have and once again, what are your requirements and budget? if not, we can recommend anything under the sun yet don't fit your budget nor requirements.

this is my last setup when I assist in shooting an event in December 2016.
2c04884f464ba4e4768dcdafc7c0b080.jpg

:D

Dreaming

I like the number 1 bag.. I dont have to take off the lense to put in right? Budget less than 150

Ah_keong

yup.
Number 1 & 2 also does not require to take off lens from the body.

digital-holster-50-v20-1.jpg

feel free to go and try the bags for yourself after getting the camera system to test and see the handling. :D
tcmb-101_updatewimb_sized_900x600.jpg

TPCH-101-Thule-Perspektiv-Medium-Toploader-803100_3.jpg

Ah_keong

paiseh ah keong

ask u hor how they calculate one sia?

like simi APS-C de camera with 50mm f1.8 u get 75mm so confusing lei :s22:

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/106131639-post3720.html

different model of cameras house different sensor sizes like full frame, APS-C, Micro 4/3, etc etc.
Sensors-size-01-01.jpg

Crop-Factors.jpg

Unless otherwise stated, all numbers stated are usually default in full frame terms. Like we convert from one currency to one default currency say USD to bring the discussion to a same "units"

To put it simpler terms, for APS-C, there is a crop factor involved due to the smaller sized sensor used in the particular model of camera say Nikon D7200. The crop factor is 1.5.
sensor-crop.jpg

when you attach a lens to a smaller sensor, the effect of cropping or "zoomed in" comes into play and the "equivalent lens" is converted to full frame terms for discussion.

like 50mm lens on APS-C sensor body = 50mm x 1.5 = "~75mm equivalent".
cropFactors.gif

Curry Crab

So if liddat Hor if I use the lens 18-140 if I were to use 18mm I can get a field of about 30mm?

Ps pardon me if wad I saying doesn't make sense :s22:

different model of cameras house different sensor sizes like full frame, APS-C, Micro 4/3, etc etc.
Sensors-size-01-01.jpg

Crop-Factors.jpg

Unless otherwise stated, all numbers stated are usually default in full frame terms. Like we convert from one currency to one default currency say USD to bring the discussion to a same "units"

To put it simpler terms, for APS-C, there is a crop factor involved due to the smaller sized sensor used in the particular model of camera say Nikon D7200. The crop factor is 1.5.
sensor-crop.jpg

when you attach a lens to a smaller sensor, the effect of cropping or "zoomed in" comes into play and the "equivalent lens" is converted to full frame terms for discussion.

like 50mm lens on APS-C sensor body = 50mm x 1.5 = "~75mm equivalent".
cropFactors.gif

Ah_keong

So if liddat Hor if I use the lens 18-140 if I were to use 18mm I can get a field of about 30mm?

Ps pardon me if wad I saying doesn't make sense :s22:

if you use the lens 18-140mm on a cropped frame camera body, it would be "equivalent" to
1.5 x (18-140) = ~27-210mm in full frame terms when using a full frame camera body and full frame lens.

The effect is like "zoomed in" like the bottom picture.

crop-factor-sensor-size.jpg

Dreaming

Bought 80d liao :D

Anyone knows anywhere sell foam pads? I want to diy it and put it in my camera bag.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.