Dummy's guide to Medical Board[NSmen]

The_Davis

bro, so how? if let say my reservist is very siao on and garang and on the ball, and very siong and strict, and let say i get downgraded.... can i write to mindef or cmpb and request for them to transfer me to another relax/lobo unit, and subsequently pray and hope that they wont call me back anymore ???

my unit really jialat ah.... i go back i tell them im downgraded and excuse this n that, they say nvm u can still do this n that.... wah laoz...
if you downgrade, you have to see if your new PES status still qualifies you to be in the same vocation.

for example if you downgrade to PES C1 (now is PES B2), might still be able to be a medic for example.

each vocation has it's entry requirement, and minimum requirement.

Pocoyoz

guys... please advise...

yesterday i went to see a doctor... she told me my blood pressure is a bit high... actually previous doctor detect it, but on another occassion she said it went back to normal.

anyway yesterday the doctor say ya a bit high, and she listen to my heartbeat and say my heartbeat is a bit irregular... but in truth i guess it's because i get nervous easily... anxiety maybe..

anyway she offered to refer me to a heart specialist at mt E... just wondering, how can i use this route to get a perm downgrade and hopefully wont have to go tru ict ever again.

y must go private?:s11:

Pocoyoz

pes e got recall manning??:s11:
if recall, need to bring full pack:s11::eek:

jiay90

I went to the NSC to request for downgrade and was given a memo

I had to see the doctor at MMI twice.. first he said that my condition was serious but not extensive enough... and refused to downpes me. after that I showed him the memo and he asked me to come back after one month.

The second time he just asked me if I could continue with the training. I told him 'no' and he sent me for downpes.

May I know how long it usually takes for them to consider your pes status?

reddevil0728

I went to the NSC to request for downgrade and was given a memo

I had to see the doctor at MMI twice.. first he said that my condition was serious but not extensive enough... and refused to downpes me. after that I showed him the memo and he asked me to come back after one month.

The second time he just asked me if I could continue with the training. I told him 'no' and he sent me for downpes.

May I know how long it usually takes for them to consider your pes status?
wait for medical board lor 2-3 months

jiay90

the doctor's assistant asked me to tell the mo to downgrade me... can the MO do that? Or is there a chance that I would be put ooc instead?

Do you think it would be a perm status?

reddevil0728

the doctor's assistant asked me to tell the mo to downgrade me... can the MO do that? Or is there a chance that I would be put ooc instead?

Do you think it would be a perm status?
No memo no talk. The mo can start the proccess for downgrading with a memo. Ooc is decided by ur oc. Whether perm or not we dunno. What's your problem? Atopic eczma?

jiay90

Yep I have an Memo from the Senior Consultant and pending downpes right now...
I went to MMI 2 times and the 2nd time i was referred to med board

THe doctor's assistant told me to ask the mo to downgrade me (I actually wonder if this is possible without medical board's recommendation).

Yup I've Atopic Eczema and Prurigo Nodularis

reddevil0728

Yep I have an Memo from the Senior Consultant and pending downpes right now...
I went to MMI 2 times and the 2nd time i was referred to med board

THe doctor's assistant told me to ask the mo to downgrade me (I actually wonder if this is possible without medical board's recommendation).

Yup I've Atopic Eczema and Prurigo Nodularis
when u go MMI, the doc never give u memo to give ur camp's mo?

jiay90

no... the assistant say dont need... told me to ask the mo to check the system... anyway i also do not know what the doc wrote

kelvinc

FYI, PES is http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PULHHEEMS.

1) Go to Govt/Private Specialist.

2) Consult specialist, and do whatever medical check ups required. E.g. physical exam, blood test, x-ray, CT scan, MRI scan.

3) Specialist gave a finalised clinical diagnosis.

4) Get the specialist to write you a memo which is to be given to SAF MO. Those who can and are willing to spend some more money can get him/her to write you a specialist report, which is more precise and detailed.

Note: For not to waste time and money, please be more direct yet humble. Request the specialist to write about reviewing of PES and medical board / anything specific such as any excuses to your conditions.

5) Book an medical review appointment using the eHealth module @ www.ns.sg (for NSman Reservists).

6) Make a trip down to the respective unit camp medical centre. Give the MO whatever supporting documents you have in hand. E.g. Specialist memo/report (most usually the case and highly recommended), x-ray films, CT/MRI scan report, blood investigation lab report... etc.

7) MO will decide whether you are deemed eligible for KIV downgrade, according to the criterias set in the "PES Bible" directive. E.g. Diagnosis, Extent of Diagnosis, Degree of Diagnosis/Injury/Illness/Disease...etc.

8) If deemed so, you will sign an undertaking note of medical board, whereby your case statement will be prepared for discussion at the monthly medical board meet (usually at the Formation/Division HQ) with another NSF CPT MO, and the Chairman (SAF Regular Medical Doctor of MAJ rank and above). Your Medical Board result will be post mailed to you by your respective NSHRC (Formation NS Hub).

Time and time again, the questions for downgrade is repetitive. So this serves as a general SOP for Medical Board.

Extracted from here:
NSmen must update their NS HRCs if they should develop any new medical condition or if their existing medical condition has worsened which might affect their ability to perform their duties during ICT. Arrangements will then be made for them to attend a medical review at the SAF medical centre to assess their fitness for NS.

The NSmen MUST bring along all investigation results and memorandums from his external physician/specialist during the medical review. Depending on the outcome of the medical review, the NSman may be given a medical certificate to defer him from ICT, be scheduled for a medical board to downgrade him if his medical condition is significant, or referred to a restructured hospital for further investigation. In the event that the medical officer determines that the NSman’s medical condition will not affect his ability to participate in the ICT, he will allow the NSman to attend the ICT.

Edited by eac 03 Sep `08, 5:24PM

Originally from: http://armedforces.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/315224

Mods: Please remove if you find this inappropriate :)

you can go to a specialist clinic directly, if you need a specialist letter for MO, you can try Singapore Sports & Orthopaedic Clinic - http://orthopaedicclinic.com.sg
Their number is 64712694 (24 hrs) Call them to make an appointment and mention that you need the letter for MO, they will do the rest.

thyler_koh

Hi ppl,

Would like to know whether is it good to have PES C9L2, excuse lower limb activities and excuse heavy load ?

kcxdes

Hi ppl,

Would like to know whether is it good to have PES C9L2, excuse lower limb activities and excuse heavy load ?

U 1 issue must post how many times ah...

There is no good or not good in PES status de cos u can't change it even if its bad etc. Just accept what u got and live with it.

PC

Guys, I'm a NSman now with no unit. All the while I'm PES B, NS time my vocation is service. After ORD, they change my vocation to combat.

My ankle is injured since young, had a bad fall. During NS it's not much of a problem since I OOC during BMT and become a storeman. Now that I've ORD, I still need to clear IPPT, if not I've to take RT. Not sure which unit and vocation will I be in.

Now I thought of downgrading since my ankle hurts sometimes even during walking. I plan to go polyclinic, let them access and refer me to specialist. Is this advisable? I'm not sure which specialist should I go to.

kelvinc

Guys, I'm a NSman now with no unit. All the while I'm PES B, NS time my vocation is service. After ORD, they change my vocation to combat.

My ankle is injured since young, had a bad fall. During NS it's not much of a problem since I OOC during BMT and become a storeman. Now that I've ORD, I still need to clear IPPT, if not I've to take RT. Not sure which unit and vocation will I be in.

Now I thought of downgrading since my ankle hurts sometimes even during walking. I plan to go polyclinic, let them access and refer me to specialist. Is this advisable? I'm not sure which specialist should I go to.

Dr Kevin Yip of Singapore Sports & Orthopaedic Clinic is someone who can help. You can make an appointment at 64712694 or call them for further queries

The_Davis

either your GP/polyclinic recommendation or direct.....

but direct you will be paying more

you will get subsidised if you get recommendation

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.