Durian 2012

artemov

Complain. I did complain that night I went. I think they overwhelmed. But not the reason I accept. I just told the uncle,good to eat but I feel that some durians not a lot of seeds.

When you said "they overwhelmed", you meant they were too busy from too many customers? So did they change a new durian for you? Regards.

Beta_Tester

Too many ppl. Very bz even for regulars. I got more than 10ppl with me. We sat way behind. I just ordered 4 Penang Red Prawn, 5 KOK.. I didn't try or pick. Coz really left nothing. I assume next time I go they will do something for me.

sci80899

Their msw not very nice when I went to eat:(

Yep, recently I went Ah Loon durian at Katong to buy MSW and the quality very bad, threw away 70% of what I bought, paid more than $50. Will never go back there again.

Like most bros and sis mentioned here, you need to be careful when buying, most of the time they reserve good ones for regulars and people they know. If after they opened the first durian, you feel/see/taste the QC not 'up to expectation', say don't want. At most just walk away. Bad durians cannot satisfy your craving anyway.

In Singapore, durians are one of those 'rare' things where you can end up paying so much for what is worth so little. haha.

dennyz

Yep, recently I went Ah Loon durian at Katong to buy MSW and the quality very bad, threw away 70% of what I bought, paid more than $50. Will never go back there again.

Like most bros and sis mentioned here, you need to be careful when buying, most of the time they reserve good ones for regulars and people they know. If after they opened the first durian, you feel/see/taste the QC not 'up to expectation', say don't want. At most just walk away. Bad durians cannot satisfy your craving anyway.

In Singapore, durians are one of those 'rare' things where you can end up paying so much for what is worth so little. haha.

eh, i always test out my durians at anywhere, including ah loon, sometimes u get bad durian in a certain days, u juz gotta check yourself by touching it or eating a seed, u can't expect ah loon to taste for u? coz during bad day, durian might be good by touch and look, but taste is bland, all up to u to try/taste/complain to determine good or bad. if u ownself forgot to test and lazy to bring back to change.... then i dunno who can help u already. (plz note that i am not a die-hard fan supporter of ah loon, i had my share of durian switching with ah loon, as long as u r right, he change for u. most good reputation durian stalls done that, yes ah seng at ghim moh also switched at last sat, due to 2nd last day of season for his durian supplier)

sci80899

eh, i always test out my durians at anywhere, including ah loon, sometimes u get bad durian in a certain days, u juz gotta check yourself by touching it or eating a seed, u can't expect ah loon to taste for u? coz during bad day, durian might be good by touch and look, but taste is bland, all up to u to try/taste/complain to determine good or bad. if u ownself forgot to test and lazy to bring back to change.... then i dunno who can help u already. (plz note that i am not a die-hard fan supporter of ah loon, i had my share of durian switching with ah loon, as long as u r right, he change for u. most good reputation durian stalls done that, yes ah seng at ghim moh also switched at last sat, due to 2nd last day of season for his durian supplier)

I need to take a cab to get there or back, so there's some amount of inconvenience. Not everyone is as free as you to afford so many hours just to buy durians. And what's more who can guarantee that he'll change to better ones at that point of discovery?

How do you know I never taste. The seller was very pushy and kept insisting that what he sold me was good even i told him durian was bland, what - do you want me to type out all the details of the transaction over here? He knew what he was selling. I should have walked away which was mistake for not doing so.

If you're his fanboy or his relative, its ok to say so. What's with all these defense/accusations in the morning. Just because you or other people have good experience with the seller doesn't mean he's necessarily honest towards everyone. At the end of the day he still has to make ends meet. And there are other stalls also mentioned in this thread, please go and defend All of them.

Sent from my iPhone.

dennyz

I need to take a cab to get there or back, so there's some amount of inconvenience. Not everyone is as free as you to afford so many hours just to buy durians. And what's more who can guarantee that he'll change to better ones at that point of discovery?

How do you know I never taste. The seller was very pushy and kept insisting that what he sold me was good even i told him durian was bland, what - do you want me to type out all the details of the transaction over here? He knew what he was selling. I should have walked away which was mistake for not doing so.

If you're his fanboy or his relative, its ok to say so. What's with all these defense/accusations in the morning. Just because you or other people have good experience with the seller doesn't mean he's necessarily honest towards everyone. At the end of the day he still has to make ends meet. And there are other stalls also mentioned in this thread, please go and defend All of them.

Sent from my iPhone.

guess u r on heat, anything u see = automatically became flames. i shall not further debate with u~ :vijayadmin:

wackykid

actually i still wonder how would durians vary from places to places...?? it's not like cooked food where it depends on the person cooking it and his recipe right...?? durian is like any other fruit that falls from the trees... so how would the quality vary from place to place...? at most is quality differes because diff places obtained their durians from difference sources/plantations... but there can be good and bad harvests from each source right...?? if the harvest where the durian seller's sources came from happened to be not so good... he also LL right...? so in the end it's a matter of heng suay whether u get good harvest or bad...

so how can these durian sellers differentiate themselves to compete with each other when they can't control the durian quality...? 2 things: (1) price and (2) service...

price no need to explain... as for service... well naturally if the uncle is familiar with you because you are regular... he'll likely provide better service to you... so if u know the durian seller uncle in your neighbourhood next door well... his service to you can be just as good as any of the "famous" durian sellers... no need to go far far away just to buy durians unless your durian uncle doesn't sell certain types of durians...

as for these "famous" durian sellers... it's enlightening to hear feedback from "ordinary" people on how good their services really is... sometimes if famous celebrities or food bloggers go to these durian sellers... or if regular customers bring friends together to go buy durians... likely these ppl will receive much better service as compared to the "ordinary" people.....

regards,
wacky

kampong boi

if it is the difference between MSW, D13, Red Prawn etc, it has got to do with the seeds.

while on the other hand, some say the pahang ones are better(I cannot remember exactly), that I think is due to the climate and soil. they might play a part in each type of durian.

Beta_Tester

i go to 2-3 stores because i almost always get better stuff from there. Till to a point i just order, and go sit. i nv bother to smell or taste. If bad, the next time round i tell them something is bad (if i da bao), if im there i just tell them straight.

as for those any other stores, i do buy them.. Rarely, i just take it with a pinch of salt n eat it even if its not good. Thats abt it.

msw8908

Soil, weather and type of durian and age of tree are important factors. Usually the good trees and their fruits are booked way in advance, hence I will only buy from regular suppliers that are tried and tested.

actually i still wonder how would durians vary from places to places...?? it's not like cooked food where it depends on the person cooking it and his recipe right...?? durian is like any other fruit that falls from the trees... so how would the quality vary from place to place...? at most is quality differes because diff places obtained their durians from difference sources/plantations... but there can be good and bad harvests from each source right...?? if the harvest where the durian seller's sources came from happened to be not so good... he also LL right...? so in the end it's a matter of heng suay whether u get good harvest or bad...

so how can these durian sellers differentiate themselves to compete with each other when they can't control the durian quality...? 2 things: (1) price and (2) service...

price no need to explain... as for service... well naturally if the uncle is familiar with you because you are regular... he'll likely provide better service to you... so if u know the durian seller uncle in your neighbourhood next door well... his service to you can be just as good as any of the "famous" durian sellers... no need to go far far away just to buy durians unless your durian uncle doesn't sell certain types of durians...

as for these "famous" durian sellers... it's enlightening to hear feedback from "ordinary" people on how good their services really is... sometimes if famous celebrities or food bloggers go to these durian sellers... or if regular customers bring friends together to go buy durians... likely these ppl will receive much better service as compared to the "ordinary" people.....

regards,
wacky

tan1688

err 1 tip: dun buy durian late at night, combat uncle's durian comes at 5-6pm then he packs on table, go earlier can ask for bigger msw durian.

always take one seed of durian, when durian is open, if it is not nice
complain loudly so other customers can hear, like too dry, watery,
etc.. hehe then he exchange for you.

also mercedes, bmw and audi uncles are regulars of combat uncle, sure he leave good ones for them lah .. if go late better not buy, wait till next day, cuz all the leftovers..

===============================================

in front of balestier rocca in front of the pub, Sindy Durian is also not bad,
Sindy Durian hp, must call to reserve

kampong boi

I prefer not to complain so loudly, it may backfire. even if it does not, I just tell the seller nicely, if buey tong, the next time beware.

Beta_Tester

err 1 tip: dun buy durian late at night, combat uncle's durian comes at 5-6pm then he packs on table, go earlier can ask for bigger msw durian.

always take one seed of durian, when durian is open, if it is not nice
complain loudly so other customers can hear, like too dry, watery,
etc.. hehe then he exchange for you.

also mercedes, bmw and audi uncles are regulars of combat uncle, sure he leave good ones for them lah .. if go late better not buy, wait till next day, cuz all the leftovers..

===============================================

in front of balestier rocca in front of the pub, Sindy Durian is also not bad,
Sindy Durian hp, must call to reserve

i peasant the uncle also reserve good ones for me + treat me quite well. :(

Carnage

Just get from the old uncle. The rest really is a hit/miss kind of thing.

The old uncle has never let me down especially his MSW, really no horse run.

writetodonkey

Just bought durian from JB.
XO at RM16 per kg.
This is 2 kg.
IMG-20120718-01360.jpg

Tried 1 seed there ... very kor, creamy and very small seed :D
IMG-20120718-01362.jpg

Bought jack fruits also, RM10
IMG-20120718-01365.jpg

(^@^)"

Just bought durian from JB.
XO at RM16 per kg.
This is 2 kg.
IMG-20120718-01360.jpg

Tried 1 seed there ... very kor, creamy and very small seed :D

Can tong pang you buy next time? I see your hoots, very jelly. :(

I go pick up from you when you are back.

writetodonkey

Can tong pang you buy next time? I see your hoots, very jelly. :(
I go pick up from you when you are back.

But i always last min. Today i took AM leave bring my father see doctor than finish early so go JB wash car, pump petrol, on the way buy de.

This looked so so good! To die for :love::love::love:

Later you can try :D
I wrap 4x plastic bag and smuggle to my fridge liao

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.