Early thoughts for new rig

Gr3yham3

Will finally be getting a new rig at the end of year.. i know its a bit early, but i would want to have a rough idea of what to get when e time comes.. at the moment, i already bought a palit 1070 SJS off lazada to plonk into e new rig when e time comes

my budget (w/o gfx): $1800 to $2000

comp used for: games like sc2, overwatch, victor vran, d3, fifa 17 etc, want to game at QHD resolution on my u2715 monitor

limitations: my rig has to placed under my table, inside a rather confined space (reporting officer dun let me place any-old-how due to young kids at home, n lack of desk space).. i dun think a full tower will fit inside

dun intend to do overclocking too unless needed.. just want to run e games at QHD smoothly.. any parts like SSD or soundcard i can reuse from old rig also?

ZrE0_Cha0s

if like this, best do it next year, since zen and kabylake is coming out like next year 1st quarter.

MoneyFace =p

Understand your urge but prices and choices available to you can be different with promotions coming up year end

mini_cow

Will finally be getting a new rig at the end of year.. i know its a bit early, but i would want to have a rough idea of what to get when e time comes.. at the moment, i already bought a palit 1070 SJS off lazada to plonk into e new rig when e time comes

my budget (w/o gfx): $1800 to $2000

comp used for: games like sc2, overwatch, victor vran, d3, fifa 17 etc, want to game at QHD resolution on my u2715 monitor

limitations: my rig has to placed under my table, inside a rather confined space (reporting officer dun let me place any-old-how due to young kids at home, n lack of desk space).. i dun think a full tower will fit inside

dun intend to do overclocking too unless needed.. just want to run e games at QHD smoothly.. any parts like SSD or soundcard i can reuse from old rig also?

you and i have the same restrictions on space. I am seriously considering getting the Razer Core + Stealth for this very reason. Notebook by day (if needed) and to be stored away (when not needed). And the eGPU when i want to game in a very compact package.

MianBaoFren

you and i have the same restrictions on space. I am seriously considering getting the Razer Core + Stealth for this very reason. Notebook by day (if needed) and to be stored away (when not needed). And the eGPU when i want to game in a very compact package.

core super expensive man.... i rather wait for the eGPU tech to be cheaper then sink the money in. as of now, i think alienware and razer have eGPU?

mini_cow

core super expensive man.... i rather wait for the eGPU tech to be cheaper then sink the money in. as of now, i think alienware and razer have eGPU?

it is. but i believe it has huge re-useability value. You just need to change the gpu

MianBaoFren

Gr3yham3

if like this, best do it next year, since zen and kabylake is coming out like next year 1st quarter.

hmm i understand that usually new CPUs are better than e previous generation?

however,i dun have time to assemble during feb/march.. only yr end when its holiday time...

i guess skylake is good enough to run with my 1070 for QHD games anyway?

Gr3yham3

Understand your urge but prices and choices available to you can be different with promotions coming up year end

its okie.. i just want to hear thoughts from bros here about what they think is best for my budget... better still if e price drops at yr end when i am gg to buy too

ZrE0_Cha0s

its okie.. i just want to hear thoughts from bros here about what they think is best for my budget... better still if e price drops at yr end when i am gg to buy too

i think he means u will be down with some stocks availability as well. cos more or less a lot of people will try to clear more stocks for new components.

Gr3yham3

i think he means u will be down with some stocks availability as well. cos more or less a lot of people will try to clear more stocks for new components.

hmmm icic.. just that i have not been keeping up with all e new tech, so want to see what are e recommendations lor.. if any thing run out of stock at yr end, at least i can look for a similar replacement to buy.. as u can see, my cpu is dunno how many generation ago liao

Gr3yham3

my 1070 SJS just arrived today.. wow i have to say i am surprised by e weight n size of e cooler..still inside its packaging but e build quality looks great.. lucky i hoot early also cause e price seems to have increased on lazada liao :s12::s12:

mini_cow

hmmm icic.. just that i have not been keeping up with all e new tech, so want to see what are e recommendations lor.. if any thing run out of stock at yr end, at least i can look for a similar replacement to buy.. as u can see, my cpu is dunno how many generation ago liao

im due for an upgrade myself. i've sent the damn rig back to fuwell to fix stuff here and there. i have a nasty feeling **** is about to hit the fan and so i backed up all the important stuff.

my next rig will definitely need to be SFF or the e-gpu thing. i still dont know which

Gr3yham3

okay after doing some research, this is the shortlist i came up with

1. CPU: i6500 or i6600k - is there a big difference in terms of performance between e 2? or just OCing capability? i might do some OCing if i find that e games i play start running too slowly

2. CPU cooler: corsair h100i or cryorig a40/80 - i want to try using an AIO, but not sure which one is better n whether can fit e casing

3. mainboard: really have no idea.. but i guess i wld prefer something with solid performance, but not those top of e line, $400 kind

4. RAMs: skylake will be DDR4 right? is there a diff in performance between 2666mhz n 3200mhz? will be getting 16GB

5. Storage: i will most likely reuse some of e HDD on my comp like e WD black for mass storage n e samsung 840pro for games.. will a M.2 SSD be much faster for OS drive n games?

6. ODD: dun think i will get one.. my lite-on presently cannot open, so i havent used it for months n have not felt i lost out much. .however, will installing windows be a problem?

7. Casing: Phanteks Evolv ATX / Corsaid 450d / NZXT 440 - these are on my shortlist so far, all seem pretty good, though e phanteks is much more ex

8. PSU: should i reuse my seasonic? already 4 years old i think.. or should i go for an new PSU like EVGA 650w P2?

Gr3yham3

MianBaoFren

hmm but there wont be any new stuff released also.. i like to plan early so that when e time comes, i wont have to take time to ask around for opinions again

though budget already set, of course if can lower it, will be better also.. got family to feed ma hahaha

well look at what the others also said. end of year might have some promos and u dunno one. it's like me getting a 1060 then realise 1 week later palit one is cheaper.

i think u shld just make a rough sketch of what u really want. 1080/1440p gaming, form factor and budget then go from there. make a few alternatives so maybe when u want to buy, there might be some promotions then.

Gr3yham3

well look at what the others also said. end of year might have some promos and u dunno one. it's like me getting a 1060 then realise 1 week later palit one is cheaper.

i think u shld just make a rough sketch of what u really want. 1080/1440p gaming, form factor and budget then go from there. make a few alternatives so maybe when u want to buy, there might be some promotions then.

well my gfx already settled.. think getting a 1070 SJS for $509 is a good deal that will be hard to beat even at e yr's end

as for e rough sketch, that's why i got e shortlist and e few alternatives.. just want e thoughts of others here about e parts that i have shortlisted.. at least when e time comes, i already have a good idea what to get, and if got promo, even better since i can save money.. if no promo than i will just take it as it is lor

MrMundy

optical drive is useless unless u always use cd/dvd.
installing windows can be done thru usb. u just need another computer to make that usb. the files can be obtained from microsoft.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.