Eczema

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Dainslef

Anybody using sea salt or dead sea salt during their bath time? Heard that it helps relieve itching and reduce scaly flakes. Willing to try it out.. Does anyone has any recommebdation or where can i get them??

I use sea salts bought from aquarium shop near Jalan Kayu. Must use the type that contains trace elements.

bjornng

have always thought i was having just dandruff/dry scalp. couldnt figure out the issue. just googled more about it, and realize i have seborrheic dermatitis, from the bridge of my nose and in between my eyebrows. always got skin flaking even though i applied cetaphil on it, and sometimes damn red like rashes.

anyone got any advice/home treatment? :( don't really want to go to a dermatologist cos to save money..

evilerniex

have always thought i was having just dandruff/dry scalp. couldnt figure out the issue. just googled more about it, and realize i have seborrheic dermatitis, from the bridge of my nose and in between my eyebrows. always got skin flaking even though i applied cetaphil on it, and sometimes damn red like rashes.

anyone got any advice/home treatment? :( don't really want to go to a dermatologist cos to save money..

better to see a doc to find out wat is the problem.
self-medication may make it worse and cost u even more money in the long run.
if u want to save money, just go see doc at polyclinic and see what they say first.

arcturuz

if you don't mind spending money.

can go to this tcm that specialize in treating skin disorders.

http://heroseclinic.com/

skin centre, skin specialist only give steroid creams..

not much use. at least to me.

it just thins the skin.. it didn't cure the root cause..

you can try this tcm.

http://heroseclinic.com/

is this herose expensive?

i was visiting this tcm http://www.yshealthcare.com/

cost me around $200 every week for meds, cupping and acupuncture.

gave up after 3 mths, cannot afford and not much effect

itsmee

I dont scratch the eczema affected areas, but i do subconciously scratch at nite while sleeping. Even so, i tend to scratch v lightly. Nex day wake up no scratch marks at all.

I dun realy trust the nsc consultant anymore, he said mine is mild eczema, jus apply moisturers since i declined steriod cream... I ask him wil my eczema get worse later. He said if get worse just return to see him...

Wah lao, the purpose is not let it get worse mah.. Get worse liao see him for what..
what was the fungi infection you had? care to share more or maybe a pic or 2 that you can grab off google images? :)

palmy999

For sharing, a few people on FB recommended this therapist in Delfi, I dunno the price but they call him Mark TCM.

http://www.chinesedoc.sg/where-is-physician-mark-chern-in-singapore/

I just got eczema and hives popping up now every few hours. Last time usually a few days. This time 2 weeks liao damn jia lat. Ordered non-steroid treatment cream and moisturizer from Amazon hope it helps. If cannot then maybe go see Mark TCM...

Don't ask me how much he charge, it's just a link from FB eczema group.

palmy999

Anybody using sea salt or dead sea salt during their bath time? Heard that it helps relieve itching and reduce scaly flakes. Willing to try it out.. Does anyone has any recommebdation or where can i get them??

Be careful with salt in your bath especially if you have high blood pressure. The pores will open up and absorb the salt content thereby raising the sodium content in your system. The outcome is as bad as consuming too much salt.

Dainslef

Be careful with salt in your bath especially if you have high blood pressure. The pores will open up and absorb the salt content thereby raising the sodium content in your system. The outcome is as bad as consuming too much salt.

I find this claim rather interesting. So I asked Mr Google. My findings from 3 random picked sources say absorption of ions through skin is highly unlikely. May I ask where did you learn of this?

palmy999

I find this claim rather interesting. So I asked Mr Google. My findings from 3 random picked sources say absorption of ions through skin is highly unlikely. May I ask where did you learn of this?

You must be really interesting as well. You mean your skin don't absorb anything at all? Then how does moisturizer and creams work? Better go see a doctor if your skin don't absorb. 😀😀😀 😨😨😨😨

I asked Google instead of Mr Google, different Google? https://www.google.com.sg/search?q=...UTF-8#q=can+salt+be+absorbed+through+the+skin

Dainslef

You must be really interesting as well. You mean your skin don't absorb anything at all? Then how does moisturizer and creams work? Better go see a doctor if your skin don't absorb. 😀😀😀 😨😨😨😨

I asked Google instead of Mr Google, different Google? https://www.google.com.sg/search?q=...UTF-8#q=can+salt+be+absorbed+through+the+skin

Your reply... I see. I apologise for the perceived insult to your credibility. I am sincerely interested in the claim you mentioned about skin permeability regarding salt (aka ions). Although bringing moisturizers and creams into the picture does not really support the salt skin absorb claim, being different compounds and all that.

I wanted to find out more. Your link turned up the same results I had searched for. After reading some more, there are still no conclusive indications on skin salt permeability.

To sum it up, I agree that skin absorbs certain compounds like minerals and skin cream ingredients designed for this purpose. As for salt, perhaps this is possible if there is a compromise in skin integrity, like in eczema sufferers.

Swordsman

Will u get very uncomfortable when u stop the steroid treatment? I wanna try it but i scared the withdrawn symptoms very jialat for me cos it cover almost 80% of my body.

Roughly how long then you will feel/ see the results?

The withdrawal symptoms everyone have to go through. Results depdending how much you have been using steroids. The longer you use the longer it takes to see results.

Swordsman

is this herose expensive?

i was visiting this tcm http://www.yshealthcare.com/

cost me around $200 every week for meds, cupping and acupuncture.

gave up after 3 mths, cannot afford and not much effect

Yes it's expensive and tcm generally is slow in results but eventually will get the job done.

Currently I'm spending $380 per month cheaper than your $200 per week which is equal to $800 per month.

How fast to see the results depends how long you have been using steroids. Steroids is no good as it suppress the immune system.

galapogos

There's no need to take offense for a genuine question, especially when you seem to have misunderstood what epsom salts are made of in the first place.

Not all salts are bad for you if you have high blood pressure. Sodium consumption is usually contraindicated when you have high blood pressure. Epsom salts don't contain sodium, but rather, magnesium, which actually relax the blood vessels, thereby decreasing blood pressure.

It's ok to get your facts wrong once in a while, we're all human, but it's not very friendly to get defensive and belligerent for something you've gotten wrong.

palmy999

Your reply... I see. I apologise for the perceived insult to your credibility. I am sincerely interested in the claim you mentioned about skin permeability regarding salt (aka ions). Although bringing moisturizers and creams into the picture does not really support the salt skin absorb claim, being different compounds and all that.

I wanted to find out more. Your link turned up the same results I had searched for. After reading some more, there are still no conclusive indications on skin salt permeability.

To sum it up, I agree that skin absorbs certain compounds like minerals and skin cream ingredients designed for this purpose. As for salt, perhaps this is possible if there is a compromise in skin integrity, like in eczema sufferers.

Hi Dainslef, firstly, I apologise for over reacting.

And secondly, my bad for not registering the word "Epsom", before salt.

As for absorption through skin, I leave it to your (and others') discretion to "buy" that theory. But here's my experience:

I personally used bath salt (bought from 5 star spa) for a period of 3 months (1-2 times a week). When I realised my blood pressure went up, and subsequent blood and urine tests confirmed the rise in sodium level. I stopped the bath salt thingy and my blood pressure and sodium level went down after that.

Food intake maybe? Well, given my family's history of BP (inheritance) and zero to low salt/sodium in our cooking. It's impossible for food intake to be the culprit.

Coincidence maybe? Well, I leave it for others to try bath salt and find out.

Genesisz

Yes it's expensive and tcm generally is slow in results but eventually will get the job done.

Currently I'm spending $380 per month cheaper than your $200 per week which is equal to $800 per month.

How fast to see the results depends how long you have been using steroids. Steroids is no good as it suppress the immune system.

Some steroids have side effects and are not good for the human body.

whatsmyname

anybody tried emuaid cream before? seem to have pretty good reviews on many types of skin problem.google about it as I don't have enough post count to post the link, bought one to try it out. waiting for it to be shipped to my house.

Y

yuenfone

CHRONIC urticaria

HI GUYS

I am 19 years old this year and I having chronic urticaria. I have sudden outbreak on March 2014 out of nowhere. And it has been with me since now. I suspect it has to be with the alcohol I consume during the class chalet that I had. I only drank ONCE and it causes me to have urticaria(hives). I hope that anyone here will recommend me a good way to cure this urticaria COMPLETELY. I had been to TCM/Western doctor and it seems to be not healing. Do anyone here recover COMPLETELY from urticaria(hive) before? If so, please recommend me the doctors or solutions you have. I will be grateful to you. PLEASE HELP ME OUT. PLEASE.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.