Eczema

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Xanthyon

moi use Lactacid as soap....even kena itchy areas wun make it worse

now no eczema liao but still use this soap cause the slightly acidic properties helps soothe the itchiness i think

:o

Skyeagle

Some people may be more prone to allergies thats why they got eczema. Some term eczema as an autoimmnue disesase.

If you experience eczema as a child, chances are high that you may 'outgrow' it. But if you have it as an adult, it may most probably stick with you throughout the rest of your life. Sadly, there is no cure, but to control it.

CREAMS:
There are many types of steroid-based creams out there, with varying strengths. Examples of these creams are Bethamethasone, Dermovate, Elomet, Fucicort, Triderm, supricort, just to name a few. What works for you may not work for others.

There are also those without steroid-bases. I can't remember the names. But they are far more expensive than those steroid types.

MEDICATIONS:

If your types is severe, then the dermatologists will generally prescribe steroids, namely prednisolone to control your eczema. Its meant to calm down the exzema. Short courses of prednisolne is ok. Its not meant to be taken over long term. You need to stop after a course.

Azathioprine might be prescribed if yours is a very serious case. This is meant to suppress your immune system. to prevent eczema from flaring up. You may need to take blood tests every 3 to 4 months to ensure your white blood cells is at a safe level.

Moisturizers:

Most doctors would prescribe aqueous cream, QV cream or white soft parrafin. Aqueous cream is the least oily and paraffin is the most oily.

You can all these from the pharmacies. Where possible try to apply the moisturizers at least 3 times a day.

Some doctors recommend applying steroid creams and after a while your moisturizers. There are some who did it the other way round - Moisturizers before steroid creams. This method is to buffer the steroid creams so that it will not be so harsh on the skin.

huhster

yah, agree.
last time amry, i go NSC... totally no use. in fact, it got from bad to worse.
after ORD, i started gg to dr loke, then started improving

did he make u sign a form
that u cant go and donate blood
when u take the medicine

evilerniex

did he make u sign a form
that u cant go and donate blood
when u take the medicine

nope... i think only certain medicine then need to sign that form.
he gave me creams and oral steroids only... so dun have to sign form

Yunnnn

eek :eek:

why got sharp pains de...

moi ish welly itchy only..

at nite sleep, cant control, hand will auto go scratch...

next morning see tshirt is got blood stain:s31:

its like those pains whr after u scratch then got the cuts lor :look:~ but i never scratch, the cuts just appear automatically :(~ maybe i did scratch, but unconciously.

wil1986

its like those pains whr after u scratch then got the cuts lor :look:~ but i never scratch, the cuts just appear automatically :(~ maybe i did scratch, but unconciously.

the skin will have inflamation and break easily de :(

u just scratch lightly.. also will break and red red :s16:

then put water or when u sweat.. will pain :sad:

Yunnnn

the skin will have inflamation and break easily de :(

u just scratch lightly.. also will break and red red :s16:

then put water or when u sweat.. will pain :sad:
yeah~ like that lor, then very pain~ sharp pains :(

Iandao

if genital area gotch eczema..how ar? :o

scratch until die...:crazy:

huhster

if genital area gotch eczema..how ar? :o

scratch until die...:crazy:

last time
i have leh
at e balls area
i control lor...but damn itchy
scratch until bleed b4
sigh...boh pian
those were the hard times now...ok liao

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.