EDMW Dog Owners Thread

YouYongku

JRT

vet already diagnose 7 years ago is patella luxation which is misaligned kneecap bone
vet tell us to do operation for $500 but we just bring home to recover

in the last 5 years or so my dog had slight relapse twice, need to rest for a few days it will naturally get better

now my dog getting old liao I think she cannot tahan much more suffering ... jin kelian see her in pain until cannot rest or eat properly ...

do you think you should seek another vet's opinion about this after the vet assess your furry?

Krabs.

do you think you should seek another vet's opinion about this after the vet assess your furry?
now her condition cannot be "hand carry" around ...
see vet expensive ...
her previous times will heal naturally

I'm asking if there is anything I can do for my dog now .... like head massage or aromatherapy or medicated oil at her knee

lycans

anybody know what can I do for my dog's knee problem ???

my dog had this problem years ago ...vet say patella luxation .... dunno if injury or inherited
it will heal itself ... then years later damage again ....

this week the problem come back again.... also partly because my dog getting quite old liao .... walking will pain, sit become restless will pant because pain ... refuse to eat or drink
Patella luxation is usually inherited from one of the parents, basically its when the patella (knee) goes out of the groove it sits on. It can also be caused by trauma.

Grade 1 or 2 do nothing, or conservative treatment. Grade 3 and above should consider surgery

Basically if your dog is on and off, once in a blue moon type that will luxate then I dont think need to really try and fix it. Its only if it keeps coming out of the groove then I think treatment is warranted.

However constant wear and tear due to the patella coming out of place predispose your dog to arthritis so give joint supplements like glucosamine + chondroitin and fish oil. J/D diet by Hill's has both but I personally feel its not enough. Can also give pentosan polysulfate to protect the joint

How old is your dog?

YouYongku

give joint supplements like glucosamine + chondroitin and fish oil. J/D diet by Hill's has both but I personally feel its not enough. Can also give pentosan polysulfate to protect the joint

Thanks I can also give them supplements when they're older :D

haraharahara

how lucky of me to chance upon this thread! omg, all of you have such beautiful dogs. would it be possible if i were to ask some questions here? really interested in keeping a dog, but whether it would happen got to see how it goes with my parents.:o

lycans

see vet expensive ...

I'm asking if there is anything I can do for my dog now .... like head massage or aromatherapy or medicated oil at her knee

It doesnt "heal" naturally, the patella simply pops back in and she can walk as per normal. When their patella is sticking out, they are non weight bearing on that leg.

natsuoto

how lucky of me to chance upon this thread! omg, all of you have such beautiful dogs. would it be possible if i were to ask some questions here? really interested in keeping a dog, but whether it would happen got to see how it goes with my parents.:o

No buying please, adopt one ^^

natsuoto

Patella luxation is usually inherited from one of the parents, basically its when the patella (knee) goes out of the groove it sits on. It can also be caused by trauma.

Grade 1 or 2 do nothing, or conservative treatment. Grade 3 and above should consider surgery

Basically if your dog is on and off, once in a blue moon type that will luxate then I dont think need to really try and fix it. Its only if it keeps coming out of the groove then I think treatment is warranted.

However constant wear and tear due to the patella coming out of place predispose your dog to arthritis so give joint supplements like glucosamine + chondroitin and fish oil. J/D diet by Hill's has both but I personally feel its not enough. Can also give pentosan polysulfate to protect the joint

How old is your dog?

How good are these supplements, my dog has no joint problems, but getting old le, wanna prevent such problems in the future. He's 6 yo

Dolphin1977

see vet expensive ...

go see dr lye see he got better solution or not lor :(

many good feedback..

lsat time my dog... at 12yrs old den got allergy.. paws red red..

go see a few vet.. all buay gan... say he step on chemical and **** :(

den after reading abt dr lye i decide to consult him

he improve my dog liver condition, change his diet from his usual pork and chicken he eaten for last 12yrs.... to fish ...

now under control liao no more itchy redness... but be prepare to spend lot :( first visit i spent like $3k den $500 1k.. only now stable liao only abt $50-$100

lycans

go see dr lye see he got better solution or not lor :(

many good feedback..

lsat time my dog... at 12yrs old den got allergy.. paws red red..

go see a few vet.. all buay gan... say he step on chemical and **** :(

den after reading abt dr lye i decide to consult him

he improve my dog liver condition, change his diet from his usual pork and chicken he eaten for last 12yrs.... to fish ...

now under control liao no more itchy redness... but be prepare to spend lot :( first visit i spent like $3k den $500 1k.. only now stable liao only abt $50-$100

So what did Dr Ly diagnose the condition to be? If paws red red I will also think contact dermatitis....

lycans

How good are these supplements, my dog has no joint problems, but getting old le, wanna prevent such problems in the future. He's 6 yo

All the pet owners report having good pain control and good quality of life for their pets when they are put on these supplements for musculoskeletal pain. I believe there are many other supplements out there that can also help them but I havent found them all yet.

6 yo still young.

natsuoto

All the pet owners report having good pain control and good quality of life for their pets when they are put on these supplements for musculoskeletal pain. I believe there are many other supplements out there that can also help them but I havent found them all yet.

6 yo still young.

My dog is super hyper. I'm afraid he might get such problems early, what's the recommended age to take such supplements?

Dolphin1977

So what did Dr Ly diagnose the condition to be? If paws red red I will also think contact dermatitis....

before that we did a full body checkup...
do x-ray, blood test, CT scan... after that do the allergy test...
liver condition was very bad... den take the expensive supplement ling zhi extract for 3mths.. den back to normal... from there change his diet slowly take out food i suspect could cause him allergy..

Dolphin1977

6 yo still young.

joint pain can take the glucosamine supplement lor

lycans

before that we did a full body checkup...
do x-ray, blood test, CT scan... after that do the allergy test...
liver condition was very bad... den take the expensive supplement ling zhi extract for 3mths.. den back to normal... from there change his diet slowly take out food i suspect could cause him allergy..

What is the justification for X-rays and CT scan in a skin allergy case? :s11:

I think cheat money....

lycans

My dog is super hyper. I'm afraid he might get such problems early, what's the recommended age to take such supplements?

I dont know but normally pet owners dont go to the vet to seek help until their pet is in pain. I dont think there is a recommended age.

Fish oil is good for anti-inflammatory, joints and for their skin. Dogs on fish oil I observed have better coat.

haraharahara

sigh, it's a no..:( say what very big responsibility and that i can't even take care of myself still want keep a dog. it's not like i'm a kid.. oh well.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.