Eight Telecom discussion thread

Lynxlok94

Yes, I show eight but most likely they can't do anything since it is not using their own network but rather Starhub
By that logic do you go back to the OEM when something at home breaks down...?
You are eight's customer, not Starhub.
Just go to eight for any support.

NovelLobster

Anyone also cannot access the link to download eSIM?

I’ve been trying since this morning but appears server down. Tried on both my mobile network and WiFi still same result. Dunno if it’s just me or everyone also the same?

TyL3r_DuRd3n

I never download the eSIM QR code
the QR code is sent to my email.
What am I missing? Lol 😂

Anyone also cannot access the link to download eSIM?

I’ve been trying since this morning but appears server down. Tried on both my mobile network and WiFi still same result. Dunno if it’s just me or everyone also the same?

NovelLobster

I never download the eSIM QR code
the QR code is sent to my email.
What am I missing? Lol 😂

Yah I clicked on the link from the QR code then it went to browser and browser said server unreachable.

Anyway I added the eSIM manually already. But want to ask: once eight has been activated, backend they will initiate port in? Or I need to email them to ask them to initiate port in?

TyL3r_DuRd3n

u used qr code scanner / camera to scan the qr and launch a browser? there you prompted server unreachable?

Yah I clicked on the link from the QR code then it went to browser and browser said server unreachable.

Anyway I added the eSIM manually already. But want to ask: once eight has been activated, backend they will initiate port in? Or I need to email them to ask them to initiate port in?

NovelLobster

u used qr code scanner / camera to scan the qr and launch a browser? there you prompted server unreachable?
I took a screenshot of the qr code. Then scanned qr code in Photos app (using iPhone). Then iPhone opened browser with the URL. Then browser said server unreachable.

then I googled how to add eSIM manually loh. So now eSIM in iPhone already and activated liao

sorry lah.. I suaku. First time using eSIM

TyL3r_DuRd3n

I took a screenshot of the qr code. Then scanned qr code in Photos app (using iPhone). Then iPhone opened browser with the URL. Then browser said server unreachable.

then I googled how to add eSIM manually loh. So now eSIM in iPhone already and activated liao
that way cannot lah. need to go Mobile Network -> Add eSIM -> Scan QR code.

I am still waiting for port-in to happen.

It is supposed to happen last night before 11pm, but still not on eight yet.

NovelLobster

Ohh… ok now I know how to add eSIM using qr code. Thanks!

hope both of our port ins will be smooth…

2 years ago I tried to move from SIMBA to Giga then port in failed so I had to change number

Habrosus

sorry lah.. I suaku. First time using eSIM
Very straightforward for iPhone. Just do from Settings > Cellular > Add eSIM

Last night's Sunday, not a weekday.

Habrosus

I just applied for early release of golden number with Simba. Apparently, payment is immediate but the outcome of release is two working days later. W t f.

EDIT: less than 30mins fter i left the simba svc ctr, rcvd a msg saying I am released.
Was it an SMS that they sent for the release confirmation?

Friend just told me he 🤬 them coz they asked for payment when he wanted the number terminated, when he's already paid up a few months back. Lucky got screenshot of their amateurish otc PayNow payment. :s22:

NovelLobster

My Giga SIM card just got disconnected at 10.07pm tonight.

How to check tomorrow morning if old number successfully ported to eight? Do I just try to call and send SMS to my old number? Or on iPhone Settings will show the old number?

TyL3r_DuRd3n

Was it an SMS that they sent for the release confirmation?

Friend just told me he 🤬 them coz they asked for payment when he wanted the number terminated, when he's already paid up a few months back. Lucky got screenshot of their amateurish otc PayNow payment. :s22:
Yeah it was iMessage. Very amateurish text:

Hi messaging from simba, ur lucky number release already

Habrosus

Yeah it was iMessage. Very amateurish text:

Hi messaging from simba, ur lucky number release already
Looks like from staff member. So that could mean it's not in their SOP to do it, up to them if they remember /want to do. Wonder if they've full set of SOP, actually. :s22:

Passer

Just experienced the fastest port in ever.

11:20pm On giga esim, just sign up port in to eight esim. Right after completing the last step, payment. Straight away i received email from giga saying line terminated. also received eight's esim qr email. Added eight esim and everything is working.

Surprising Instant port in, never encountered before. Wondering is this normal for esim to esim?

~sabaisabai~

Just experienced the fastest port in ever.
11:20pm On giga esim, just sign up port in to eight esim. Right after completing the last step, payment. Straight away i received email from giga saying line terminated. also received eight's esim qr email. Added eight esim and everything is working.
Surprising Instant port in, never encountered before. Wondering is this normal for esim to esim?

perhaps both are from starhub. probably that make sense to be fast ?:grin:

TyL3r_DuRd3n

Looks like from staff member. So that could mean it's not in their SOP to do it, up to them if they remember /want to do. Wonder if they've full set of SOP, actually. :s22:
Agree with u. But luckily they did it anyway. Phew.

a little more story, the “store manager” actually wanted me to pay extra $30 coz i changed plan a month after subscription. The staffs explained to him that i have been with simba since june, why need to charge extra leh. Lol. I saw the drama unfolded, really no SOP.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.