Eight Telecom discussion thread

simon73

Up to 1100 hrs this morning, I sadly report that my number from Simba is still not ported.

My phone shows eight signal now and is able to receive/make calls using the temporary Eight number.
I hope my port-in number is not lost as I've been using it for over 10 years.

I've just sent an email to Eight to ask investigate.

My porting from Simba to 8 finally completed in 4 weeks

To recap my experience
9 Jul - Online application for physical sim delivery to my hse
17 Jul - Received the Sim. As I have more than 2 sims (I obtained one $0 earlier due to erroneous advice from roadshow that i can port after 88 days), I requested for one to be terminated so i can activate the port in sim
29 Jul - After 3 email chasers, my $0 line was terminated
31 Jul - Simba emailed at 11pm to inform line termination but i can still see it on my phone
1 Aug - 9am Eight line can be seen but number not ported.
2 Aug - 7am Number porting completed

loganrunning

So I'm not the only person facing connecting issues with Singtel postpaid. Actually a friend who happened to be with me at City Hall faced it too. Shocking, IMO.

i have been questioning the value of the singtel premium for the past 8-10 years. Just that until now, didn't find a suitable replacement telco/mvno

anthonygreenisreal

My porting from Simba to 8 finally completed in 4 weeks

To recap my experience
9 Jul - Online application for physical sim delivery to my hse
17 Jul - Received the Sim. As I have more than 2 sims (I obtained one $0 earlier due to erroneous advice from roadshow that i can port after 88 days), I requested for one to be terminated so i can activate the port in sim
29 Jul - After 3 email chasers, my $0 line was terminated
31 Jul - Simba emailed at 11pm to inform line termination but i can still see it on my phone
1 Aug - 9am Eight line can be seen but number not ported.
2 Aug - 7am Number porting completed
siao eh....4 weeks!!!
portover took overnight for me.

loganrunning

Pay Premium gets peanut.

of course, this is sg. plus, the power of branding.

we often associate a good brand with a higher level of quality, consistency of products and services. Sometimes true, sometimes just manipulation of the consumer to pay more for a fancy logo ie rentier behaviour. This works when the competition is lagging, but shows up badly when relative advantages narrow.

you don't necessarily get what you pay for, but you certainly pay for what you get.

TyL3r_DuRd3n

after much deliberation, i decided to go for Eight for my mainline.
For secondary, I think I am sticking with Simba for its roaming benefits.

TyL3r_DuRd3n

we often associate a good brand with a higher level of quality, consistency of products and services. Sometimes true, sometimes just manipulation of the consumer to pay more for a fancy logo ie rentier behaviour. This works when the competition is lagging, but shows up badly when relative advantages narrow.

you don't necessarily get what you pay for, but you certainly pay for what you get.
Yeah, they dun say paying for a premium service comes with its set of emotions like Disney's Inside Out.

froztheart

Strangely my M1 line still going strong in my VIP phone.

ST I use for work contacts and on site payments and such so many people will know how good they are. :s13:
"How good they are" you meant? :flash:

Yeah, they dun say paying for a premium service comes with its set of emotions like Disney's Inside Out.
Nowadays, it seems like we paying extra for not much difference, whether its prodcuts, politics etc. 🤭

TyL3r_DuRd3n

"How good they are" you meant? :flash:

Nowadays, it seems like we paying extra for not much difference, whether its prodcuts, politics etc. 🤭
got.
Extras like anger, disappointment, shortchanged, etc etc lol :s13:
like Simba fanboys always say, pay peanuts, get peanuts. no expectation, no disappointment.,

TyL3r_DuRd3n

Can we answer incoming calls when we are roaming?
  • Does roaming covers calls and SMS?
    • Our plans do include 288mins roaming calls back to Singapore and at the destination you roam at! For SMS, there will be no issues to receive OTP but our plans do not include outgoing SMS at the moment.

TyL3r_DuRd3n

Just read the CIS (Critical Information Summary). See the bold fonts, I think it is just like Simba.

Plan Entitlement
• 188GB Local Data, 88 SMS, 288 Local Mins, 288 IDD Mins, 8GB Roaming Data APAC, 1GB Roaming Data International, Free Caller ID, Free local incoming Mins and SMS

288 Volte incoming Minutes
288 Volte outgoing Mins to home country (Singapore)
288 Volte outgoing Mins to local country (the country that you roam)

• The service will stop once the entitlement is used up.
The entitlement will be refreshed during the next renewal cycle, or upgrade the plan to get a new entitlement immediately

loganrunning

Can we answer incoming calls when we are roaming?
  • Does roaming covers calls and SMS?
    • Our plans do include 288mins roaming calls back to Singapore and at the destination you roam at! For SMS, there will be no issues to receive OTP but our plans do not include outgoing SMS at the moment.

ah, i missed this when skimming thru the terms..... no wonder cannot send sms in jb. i thought some config error eg service centre number.

ok lah, not a major problem. used ip-based text messengers.

Jurong640

Ah ic... Diff Telco diff coverage but to say Singtel has roadblock in orchard is really zzz
i using zym, underground sometimes dont load. eight quite good underground during peak hour
Myth busted :s13:

Pay Premium gets peanut.
Just like iphone, pay premium, get basic fone features.
Yes, Singtel is getting bad, at this rate can fight with M1. 🤡
No leh. at this rate Sinktel can fight with Simba. I used m1 5G Sa sim only few months ago, quite good along EWL.

monsterbeng

Has anyone tried to monitor their data usage from eight's account website?? Mine indicates 1G APAC roaming only instead of the advertised 8G. Anyone facing the same as me??

Jurong640

Has anyone tried to monitor their data usage from eight's account website?? Mine indicates 1G APAC roaming only instead of the advertised 8G. Anyone facing the same as me??
nope. i see both 8gb apac and 1gb roaming. are you checking from phone or computer?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.