Eight Telecom discussion thread

eddy0505

If not mistaken, Simba is advanced payment every 30 day cycle, no termination/port in fee unless the age of your Simba number is just 30 days old and less (edited as I remember it was 7 days but maybe too long ago/their tnc changed). eight telco got indicate the reason for your port in failure (log in the website using temp number and otp). It's common sense that if you have overdue payment your existing telco won't let you port out ma.

Habrosus

abt 2 weeks to renewal date.
i suspect i might need to pay $30 for termination.
How old is your Simba line? Have to be more than 30 days, that is let them charge for 2nd month, then can port out.

If yours is a lucky number, there's a 24-month "contract" period to ride out, otherwise pay for the pro-rated charge after the first 30 days then can port out.

If urgently need to port out, got to pay $30 if less than 30 days, plus the outstanding lucky number charge whatever that is.

$imba

~sabaisabai~

Wah.. Now then I notice got free 288min of odd calls.. Same talk time as local.. Wow... Very useful for those want to call oversea mistress or gf..
yes it is very useful for overseas call. and not forgetting the 8gb data roaming - free!!
can call "teerak liao" :p
that is why many port over mah, given the price plan only $8:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

@loganrunning

Laguna123

So far how’s your network like when serving internet? In mrt underground can receive?

~sabaisabai~

So far how’s your network like when serving internet? In mrt underground can receive?
no issue
tested in red and yellow line - all good! starhub network
not sure about green and blue line
you can sign up free trial line, test it out and see if it does suit you or not

~sabaisabai~

if say we call overseas with idd, will the receiving party be charged with roaming call fee by answering our call?
receiving party from where? which country?
you need to check if their mobile plan can receive overseas call for free? by right incoming calls should be free
if you are calling landline then it is free to receive overseas call:p
for eight is free, incoming and outing idd calls

~sabaisabai~

If they are too stupid to know / too lazy to find out whether they can receive overseas incoming calls for free, they can always try and they'll know the answer pretty quickly. :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
erh, some are seniors leh, will not be able to know
like my parents - confirm they are not aware simi local or incoming calls, got charge or no charge
i often need to educate them - when see overseas incoming, jitao reject! :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
also to prevent they kena scammed
anyway, for eight line, i chose to block all overseas incoming calls and sms for them :p

tanchoo1

erh, some are seniors leh, will not be able to know
like my parents - confirm they are not aware simi local or incoming calls, got charge or no charge
i often need to educate them - when see overseas incoming, jitao reject! :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:
also to prevent they kena scammed
anyway, for eight line, i chose to block all overseas incoming calls and sms for them :p
Yes but this has nothing to do with Eight. It's some random overseas Telco which we'll surely be unfamiliar with. It's on the onus of the receiver to know.

If they don't know then just try it!

Kayeesha

May I confirm that for IDD calls, not all countries are supported, for instance, the UK?

So, how does one call the UK?

Thanks.

Jose8802

the free 288mins idd calls does it mean i can receive calls when roaming (in the supported countries)
without paying for it ?

loganrunning

Me too!

And if/when they do away with the OTP for each account login, I might port my iPad lines too. :o

the OTP is not necessarily a bad thing, depending on how they track logins. i'm ok with it.
(there are scripts you can set up to keep the connection alive, but personally i don't use them)

i just hope they won't do the silly singtel method where you have to be on mobile data on their line, to login.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.