Eight Telecom discussion thread

TyL3r_DuRd3n

maybe not really cannot answer, cos their boss Starhub dont want to negotiate for Indo volte, or Starhub no bargaining power with Indo telcos to provide volte roaming for eight. Roaming is not free
They replied.
Hmm, maybe just like one of the member said, the cell tower dun have the VoLTE capability.
I remembered I was able to answer from Singapore and make call back to Singapore in mid-Aug.

Hi TyL3r_DuRd3N,

We never have Indonesia Volte call since launch, there is only roaming data in Indonesia. Sorry for the inconvenience.

New Functionality: For the most recent status of your port-in, please login to MyAccount https://account.eight.com.sg/

Please note: We have an exciting promotion for you – Buy $8 and Get $8 Free . You can top-up $8 in main wallet and we will credit additional $8 credits to you within 7 days 😉. This promotion is till 30th Sep https://www.eight.com.sg/termsofservice

Regards,
Team eight - H :D

You can now check your account with eight! Kindly log in to https://account.eight.com.sg/login
Contact us @ helpme@eight.com.sg
www.eight.com.sg

sango65

They replied.
Hmm, maybe just like one of the member said, the cell tower dun have the VoLTE capability.
I remembered I was able to answer from Singapore and make call back to Singapore in mid-Aug.

Hi TyL3r_DuRd3N,

We never have Indonesia Volte call since launch, there is only roaming data in Indonesia. Sorry for the inconvenience.

New Functionality: For the most recent status of your port-in, please login to MyAccount https://account.eight.com.sg/

Please note: We have an exciting promotion for you – Buy $8 and Get $8 Free . You can top-up $8 in main wallet and we will credit additional $8 credits to you within 7 days 😉. This promotion is till 30th Sep https://www.eight.com.sg/termsofservice

Regards,

You can now check your account with eight! Kindly log in to https://account.eight.com.sg/login
www.eight.com.sg
then dont make sense, does it mean all cell towers in Indo dont have volte capability?

heck, when I was in Vietnam last yr using their local sim card (I cant recall which telco), I can get volte

~sabaisabai~

They replied.

Hi TyL3r_DuRd3N,

Regards,

www.eight.com.sg
then how you able to make calls if they didnt have indo volte since launch?

TyL3r_DuRd3n

I also very blur… on top of that, still got simi volte call???

@TyL3r_DuRd3n layman explanation pls
Remember or not, last time when you were overseas, and you accidentally answered a call thinking you are still in Singapore, you were slapped with a lot of charges just for that few seconds of call? IDD charges, roaming connection fee, etc etc etc ? that < 1 minute call can easily cost you $6 upwards?
That is the conventional call without VoLTE (or internet call).

Now, with VoLTE, you just need internet data to make calls. Things got very cheap when you were overseas.

So eight is offering you IDD minutes for you to:
1. Overseas calls from Singapore - You can make overseas calls (e.g. You are still in Singapore, and you wanna go spa in bangkok right after you land in Bangkok, you needed to call the spa to make appointment, u call +66XXXXXXXX)
2. Answer calls while roaming - You can receive calls if the network is listed as VoLTE network. (e.g. the spa is confirming with you if you have arrived safely in BKK and they have reserved a place for you.)
3. Make / place a call while roaming - (e.g. You can make a call to your gf/wife/family back in Singapore to say that you are in BKK having phad thai).

As usual, correct if I am wrong. btw, I resigned from eight liao lah :grin:

~sabaisabai~

Actually hor… what’s the difference between roaming call and IDD?

and if I go Malaysia and call a Singapore mobile number on my contacts list—meaning without keying in +65 — will it go through? And that one is IDD or roaming call?
How do roaming calls work?

When someone calls you on your mobile, the call will usually be routed to your home country and your home operator. Your home operator knows where you are roaming, and will then forward the call to the operator whose network you are using in the visited country. The visited network will then connect the call to you.

~sabaisabai~

Remember or not, last time when you were overseas, and you accidentally answered a call thinking you are still in Singapore, you were slapped with a lot of charges just for that few seconds of call? IDD charges, roaming connection fee, etc etc etc ? that < 1 minute call can easily cost you $6 upwards?

Now, with VoLTE, you just need internet data to make calls. Things got very cheap when you were overseas.

1. Overseas calls from Singapore - You can make overseas calls (e.g. You are still in Singapore, and you wanna go spa in bangkok right after you land in Bangkok, you needed to call the spa to make appointment, u call +66XXXXXXXX)
2. Answer calls while roaming - You can receive calls if the network is listed as VoLTE network. (e.g. the spa is confirming with you if you have arrived safely in BKK and they have reserved a place for you.)
3. Make / place a call while roaming - (e.g. You can make a call to your gf/wife/family back in Singapore to say that you are in BKK having phad thai).

yes, i tested the call.
i called bangkok spa, which is my contact list. i dial +66xxxxxxxxx
and it deducted from my IDD 288mins

~sabaisabai~

ehhh, mai resign leh, you are our model ambassador of eight leh.. BKY la

TyL3r_DuRd3n

How do roaming calls work?

When someone calls you on your mobile, the call will usually be routed to your home country and your home operator. Your home operator knows where you are roaming, and will then forward the call to the operator whose network you are using in the visited country. The visited network will then connect the call to you.
all these routings here and there, that was where they slapped you with a lot of charges (e.g. connection charges, IDD charges, etc etc) last time.
1 minute call could cost you a meal in your visiting country. or somebody's daily wage in some countries.

loganrunning

Boringchap

Ahhh… now I fully understand.

Your detailed explanation definitely didn’t go to waste. I just copy paste in into my phone notes!

Gam Xia 🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼

Boringchap

all these routings here and there, that was where they slapped you with a lot of charges (e.g. connection charges, IDD charges, etc etc) last time.
1 minute call could cost you a meal in your visiting country. or somebody's daily wage in some countries.
Only people of certain age will understand the ridiculous phone bill statement everytime after a vacation! Lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.