Eight Telecom discussion thread

A7997A

rusty memory recollection - isnt starhub shareholder in indosat (their current indo roaming partner)?

indosat have already rollled out volte in major cities.

perhaps as you say, low returns on their side if they give us Indo roaming free.
Rolled out VoLTE in major city does not mean that it is available out of the cities.
At east coast I would suspect that the tower one pick up is not considered part of a city.
However, I believe it is more due to a contract limitation than VoLTE not available.

As for able to call previously, could it be IndoSat had the incorrect setting hence 'accidentally' permitted VoLTE when they are not supposed to ? I guess we will never know, but that is a possibility.

When they say they started shutting down 3G in 2022, the key word here is started.
Who knows when they finish ?

There are also countries that shut down 3G before 2G, due to large number of industry IoT devices using 2G, as much as that sounds strange.

Epee

If a network supports VoLTE doesn’t mean you’ll get to use it.

if a call is placed using VoLTE doesn’t mean telco won’t slap you with all kinds of charges.

loganrunning

Rolled out VoLTE in major city does not mean that it is available out of the cities.
At east coast I would suspect that the tower one pick up is not considered part of a city.
However, I believe it is more due to a contract limitation than VoLTE not available.

yes, that's why i mentiioned contract or possibly other reasons.

As for able to call previously, could it be IndoSat had the incorrect setting hence 'accidentally' permitted VoLTE when they are not supposed to ? I guess we will never know, but that is a possibility.

just like how some mention getting 5G on eight occasionally. Probably accidental while they are testing

When they say they started shutting down 3G in 2022, the key word here is started.
Who knows when they finish ?

There are also countries that shut down 3G before 2G, due to large number of industry IoT devices using 2G, as much as that sounds strange.

actually, the industry prefers retaining 2G as it is more easily used for embedded/machine applications. eg is malaysia, kept the 2g while shutting down 3g first.

anyway, for most of us, roaming data allows data based app calls (eg whatsapp, telegram etc), so that is a reasonable alternatiive. Thankfully, for short trips now, no need to buy expensive roaming packs or local sim

NovelLobster

Wahahaha… bet you’re most probably an uncle like me! Gonna learn from the Gen Z simi Shopee coins! Hahaha…
Wah lao… like that can know uncle age..

true lah.. I’m mid 40s, so uncle already

I do collect 1 Shopee coin per day…. But I don’t know how other people can collect so many vouchers.

Boringchap

never buy local sim? ;)
Nay… lazy to do so.
Even till now, I also no idea simi is eSIM! 🤦‍♂️
Wah lao… like that can know uncle age..

true lah.. I’m mid 40s, so uncle already

I do collect 1 Shopee coin per day…. But I don’t know how other people can collect so many vouchers.
I knew it! Tats why uncles can click! Hahaha
You more savvy, I don’t know how to collect 1 Shopee coin

~sabaisabai~

Nay… lazy to do so.
Even till now, I also no idea simi is eSIM!
1f926-2642.png

I knew it! Tats why uncles can click! Hahaha
You more savvy, I don’t know how to collect 1 Shopee coin

lol why lazy? same as you do top up eight in shopee. just buy the local sim there. cheaper and can use coins offset leh :s22:

esim is convenient and cheaper if travel and buy their local sim. I did that but now with eight 8gb. no need buy liao

A7997A

Thankfully, for short trips now, no need to buy expensive roaming packs or local sim
Never bought roaming packs before. Either cheap local sim or internet cold turkey.
Until the M1 prepaid included data roaming. But the price compared to eight/simba is totally no fight.
think of it as a SIM in software, kinda like a virtual sim (not very accurate, but you get the point)
functions same as a physical sim, but you can't see/feel it.
Which is fine until you need to move the sim to another phone, but find that you got nothing to move, or have a phone that went failed together with the esim. ;)

TyL3r_DuRd3n

Only people of certain age will understand the ridiculous phone bill statement everytime after a vacation! Lol
Ooopss age / generation revealed :s13:
Yeah indeed. The phone bill last $40-70 with sms and outgoing call/airtime. No data.
go overseas and accidentally used data oso kena jialat. Last time phone no airplane mode.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.