Eight Telecom discussion thread

hereiam7788

mate, we are not from eight team and we are not sure and not paid to answer the questions here. pls note we are not obliged to answer any questions here, it is out of good will and members here willing to help

no one reply cos no one knows? how we know? we are also users like you.. not from eight telco

make an effort to head down to service centre, you will know the answer!
same if never read the posts carefully, dun assume and accuse that everyone is asking repeating questions and straightforward jump into conclusion and give not useful reply too....

hereiam7788

hmm, not sure, cos the faq didnt mention

maybe you can go to the service centre and ask them?

anyway, why previously you didnt collect? busy or overlooked?

busy was did not collect.... that's why i wonder if i can still collect now...

~sabaisabai~

same if never read the posts carefully, dun assume and accuse that everyone is asking repeating questions and straightforward jump into conclusion and give not useful reply too....
if you find the answers not useful please dont waste time here
head down to service centre to find out. if no more free plan, just pay $8 to get the plan
it comes with free 288 idd calls, and 8gb data roaming too
now has promo till end sep, you pay $8, you get $8, so it is like free 1mth for you
no prawn, fish also good

then subsequently top up via shopee, can get discount instead paying $8/mth

kelvinti

are you referring to the SIM number, which should be automatically detected and autopopulated by the phone?

something like this:
settings --> internet --> SIM management --> SIM number

which should match the entry in:
settings --> about phone --> status (or similar settings entry)
(this menu may be named differently. it shows the IMEI numbers, SIM numbers and status, serial number, kernel version etc)
Okay.

Suddenly, I remembered it just now! :rolleyes: 🤦‍♂️ The "good-old" iPhone method. 😅

Inserted my 8 sim into the iPhone sim slot and keyed in my ported number +65xxxxxxxx to the 8 sim and saved it under "My number".
Put back the 8 sim to my Android phone and bingo! My ported number shows up!

In fact, it can be used for "Unknown number" too! My Onexox sim card also shows its number now while roaming in Singapore using the same method. :)

Epee

For those with iPhones and the ported number doesn't show up, this is somewhat expected and is an iOS issue. It's not related to the provider. I can't remember how I fixed it previously but it can be frustrating. Your ported number is in active service, just that the stupid iOS somehow remembers the old temp number. You can try disabling iMessage, take out the SIM card and re-insert it and enable iMessage back.

Habrosus

For those with iPhones and the ported number doesn't show up, this is somewhat expected and is an iOS issue. It's not related to the provider. I can't remember how I fixed it previously but it can be frustrating. Your ported number is in active service, just that the stupid iOS somehow remembers the old temp number. You can try disabling iMessage, take out the SIM card and re-insert it and enable iMessage back.
Just go to "My Number" under that SIM card (if dual SIM) and change accordingly.

Boringchap

I just used the 200 coins cash back voucher :s22:

Hope I don't end up with 12 months worth of service...
Pls get out from this thread asap!!!!
It’s really really really poisonous…
I’m already infected with 2 x 8 months, 2 x 3 months 😭😭😭
yeah it is good, i used that too but need to tie my hands stop topup liao... hedge many mths liao :s22:

@Boringchap

YO!!!! As usual, spent $6 at 12pm 😎😎✌🏼✌🏼
We are planning to meet here on Christmas 2025. Join us lah

Steady! I bring along a bottle of wine ✌🏼

NovelLobster

Pls get out from this thread asap!!!!
It’s really really really poisonous…
I’m already infected with 2 x 8 months, 2 x 3 months 😭😭😭
Pls lah… you’re just infected. Not even hospitalised. Some of us already hospitalised, got 1 in ICU, so cannot top up already. You still alive and still able to top up, means not fully poisoned yet 🤭

loganrunning

Just go to "My Number" under that SIM card (if dual SIM) and change accordingly.

for android, depends on the android skin, some can change, others are read-only fields which are auto-populated by reading the SIM.
the 2nd type was how i found some profile/config problems with SIMs from another MNO. 🤦‍♂️

NovelLobster

Sorry… sorry Shifu! 🤣🤣🤣
So what’s the max months allowed for top up?

“1 in ICU” sounds like @Habrosus 🤦‍♂️
depends on your health status and constitution loh. Some of us infected 13-15 months then hospitalized. @Habrosus as far as I know, still not yet hospitalized. I think the one in ICU is @~sabaisabai~

I look forward to seeing your daily updates here next week!!

xSupremex

The new StarHub plan lowest price $75 and even after 20% CIS discount, the monthly fees is $60! Compared to $8 eight plan which can cover me for 7 months! I really don’t mind not having the customer service as i value cost over service. So far the signal and 4G stretch are decent under eight.

Boringchap

The new StarHub plan lowest price $75 and even after 20% CIS discount, the monthly fees is $60! Compared to $8 eight plan which can cover me for 7 months! I really don’t mind not having the customer service as i value cost over service. So far the signal and 4G stretch are decent under eight.
$60/mth StarHub?
That’s enough for our 省钱达人 @alex22 one entire year subscription fee with eight!

currently he’s holding the record with $5/month

loganrunning

yes, so long as the service works well like a utility (like turning on tap and clean water comes out everytime), then we don't really need the customer service dept. hopefully, they can keep it that way and scale up successfully.

on customer service....
i used to wonder why certain computer brands had nice repair centres with espresso machines, newspapers, computers to surf net and while the time away, while others had small, spartan and uncomfortable service centres.
i realised over time that the "atas" brands tended to have frequent breakdowns, while computers from the "economy class" brands usually lasted 3-5 years without breaking down. perhaps there's a lesson in there, somewhere, like manufacturers should spend their money on building reliable well-designed products instead of luxurious service centres and lots of clueless customer disservice agents. ;)

loganrunning

and i thought my singtel post paid line at $30+ was already outrageous! faintz

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.