Eight Telecom discussion thread

TyL3r_DuRd3n

this depends on the keyboard app given permissions to monitor all sms. its a security risk.

just curious, after the otp has been captured, can you subsequently disable this permission?
Using iPhone, not sure if we can disable or enable.

I remembered vividly i couldn’t type the OTP when the sms came. in fact, it aborted the authentication process right away.

the sms went to an old phone, with a Cambodian sim card inserted. The sms OTP came to the old phone and i thought i could type the OTP but when the app detected that I tried to key-in the otp manually, straight away it aborted the authentication process.

Lan lan lor, convert the physical sim card to e-sim via the telco app. On a hindsight, i was glad that the app allows pSIM to eSIM.

After converted to esim, i tried to log-in again, sms otp came and it straight away self-authenticated.

i know i know, i could plug in the sim card and den plug out after authentication is done. But iMessage is quite a biatch on iPhone. Take out and den it would start to reauthenticate again.

TyL3r_DuRd3n

fyi. tmr shopee 9.25 sale
04052020001-min.jpg

TyL3r_DuRd3n

eight has been good to me, no complaints so far. hedged only up to 10 months. i think i have to cool it for now. :ROFLMAO:

actually i was referring to porting out my maxx line so that @TyL3r_DuRd3n can replace me. Maintaining equilibrium :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
Haha eight is good.
like someone said, after the trial sim plan $0 expired, i hope the speed will be good again

fabulous!! :p
hedged 10mths? jskm
but our brudder @TyL3r_DuRd3n more power :s22:
i hedged only 4mths excluding free $8 from eight but can last awhile for my travelling
Regret. Facing the music. Cannot complain

But no IDD means I cannot jump…
eight spoiled us so bad :s13:
Secretly waiting for other telco to include IDD and roaming calls.

loganrunning

Using iPhone, not sure if we can disable or enable.

I remembered vividly i couldn’t type the OTP when the sms came. in fact, it aborted the authentication process right away.

the sms went to an old phone, with a Cambodian sim card inserted. The sms OTP came to the old phone and i thought i could type the OTP but when the app detected that I tried to key-in the otp manually, straight away it aborted the authentication process.

Lan lan lor, convert the physical sim card to e-sim via the telco app. On a hindsight, i was glad that the app allows pSIM to eSIM.

After converted to esim, i tried to log-in again, sms otp came and it straight away self-authenticated.

i know i know, i could plug in the sim card and den plug out after authentication is done. But iMessage is quite a biatch on iPhone. Take out and den it would start to reauthenticate again.

thanks for the information. will keep this in mind in case i relocate to Cambodia in future.

i'm not familiar with iphone, but if it supports sandboxed virtual environments, then one can swap SIM cards without affecting the main user. life getting too complicated.

TyL3r_DuRd3n

thanks for the information. will keep this in mind in case i relocate to Cambodia in future.

i'm not familiar with iphone, but if it supports sandboxed virtual environments, then one can swap SIM cards without affecting the main user. life getting too complicated.
Been to Cambodia?
life is relax there.
traffic jam is as bad as Jakarta though

Epee

VoLTE enabled?
Yes. Nothing changed.
check your apn ? reboot phone ? change sim slot?
APN is SHWAP. Reboot and change slot done.
Wah this kind of situation really need CS Hotine
I also say!
for how long liao? Maybe just nice 2 people tried to call you at the same time, hence cannot call through?

restart your phone, check apn settings
Not sure. My sis called me and I tried on my other number.
VoLTE enabled?
Yes.

loganrunning

Been to Cambodia?
life is relax there.
traffic jam is as bad as Jakarta though

visiting it once a year/2 years since 2016. The rate of construction is astounding, not just PP, but in Sihanoukville. Not been to the border gambling towns though.
agree, very relax. esp outside of PP. Was also pleasantly surprised at the vibrant startup scene.
yah, traffic is lately much worse, was ok before covid, it's outgrowing the original Phnom Penh layout and traffic capacity.

you were working there? got residence visa?

xsoldix

for how long liao? Maybe just nice 2 people tried to call you at the same time, hence cannot call through?

restart your phone, check apn settings
Same sia.
i was waiting for important call at hospital.
Omg.

loganrunning

Guys, both my Eight lines cannot receive incoming calls now :( can only call out.

suddenly happened to me too......

On my phone, there are 2 APN, "SHWAP". Total 4 entries in the APN list
the default one "StarHub E-mail" does not work. can call out, cannot receive calls

change to "Gee!". problem solved.

note: on different phones, the APN list may only be 2 entries.

loganrunning

Ok i found the problem. Those of you who had this problem, pls go to your account settings and disable block overseas call.

this should not affect receiving local calls. unless you were expecting an overseas call.

Epee

this should not affect receiving local calls. unless you were expecting an overseas call.
This is very strange. It works now for me after disabling that settings. My APN is SHWAP. Anyway I wrote to Eight. Whether or not they want to investigate is up to them.

loganrunning

This is very strange. It works now for me after disabling that settings. My APN is SHWAP. Anyway I wrote to Eight. Whether or not they want to investigate is up to them.

i agree it is very strange. it looks like some backend problem. hope they can resolve it soon

edit: "backend" because up to a 2 days ago, this problem did not exist, and i am sure most of us did not change phones or did some changes to settings in the last few days

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.