Eight Telecom discussion thread

kitkat2

if your underground MRT refer to green line from Outram Park to Bugis. Dont worry. dont said M1. singtel , starhub all no reception.. Tested all these traffic light myself.
Giga same
Eight also same.
So.. just be patient
sometimes I prefer to take bus. :LOL:

davi502

noob here, why is this eight plan so popular?

doesn't starhub connection sucks?

Im considering zero1 for sub $10 plan, but open to eight if there's something magical abt it

Correct me if I'm wrong, don't think there's any other mnvo that offers this amount of free IDD mins, especially useful for calling back home country SG landlines such as bank hotlines etc. Imagine losing your wallet while overseas and need to block all your CCs and for some reason cannot login via the bank apps to do so. Happened to my family member before.

Maybe apart from Simba lah

hkchew03

Even Malaysia own telecom isn't great in bolehland.

Free roaming data is liddat one
So far the hotlink card works, there are times of disconnection/poor network, but will resume itself, whereas eight case is once it turn into "G", there is totally no internet connection and it doesn't switch back to 4g. Had to go into airplane mode and back to resume working.

hkchew03

Their APN settings have issues. The 2G network is not forbidden and despite phone setting as LTE as preferred, it will always connect to the strongest but unusable 2G Maxis.
Started like yesterday and continued to today.
Yes, wonder why, cos I don't rmb having such issue in early March when I was in Msia.

hkchew03

Our experience in MY roaming are always great, JB and Sabah both were good with Maxis. Both iPhone 14 Pro. I don’t understand what was your hiccups though. My friend uses Infinix also great fyi. Works in Japan well also. For an $8 plan, I can’t expect more.
It was fine in earlier march, but somehow started behaving weird last few days. Definitely not network issue as my other maxis(hotlink) in the same phone had no issue. Likely APN issue or just deprioritized.

hkchew03

My eight roaming is flawless in JB and KL tho, could be your phone don't have the required bands.
Nah, then how do u explain flawless maxis (hotlink) connection on the exact same phone (dual sim). If it is due to band issue, I would not even see 4g or 5g.

hkchew03

That's why I've been switching to Simba when that happens.

Even with my Hotlink cards, connection hasn't been smooth for the past few months already.

On recent visits with Simba and Hotlink on dual SIM phones, I'd let Simba roam until I'm sure Maxis is stable before switching the data source over.

If left to auto detect, Eight could hook onto U Mobile instead, something I've not encountered until late last year.
Hotlink has been alright, been using it for almost 2years. Not perfect but no complain. So far havent had eight switch to TMobile, it just randomly goes into 2g mode for no reason, when hotlink still maintained 4g/5g. I don't rmb facing this issue when I was there in early March. Same phone, same card, same network.

mosmos

Hi, anyone can recommend which SIM router can we use and put eight Sim card inside for home usage. Thank you

Able to plug in landline phone

2022-10-2205-33-2683.webp
2022-10-2205-33-5315.webp

RSKeisuke

been hearing lots of complain about not able to make phone calls when roaming..

so what is the key to ensure voice call can be made?

eddy0505

Nah, then how do u explain flawless maxis (hotlink) connection on the exact same phone (dual sim). If it is due to band issue, I would not even see 4g or 5g.
Because local sim has priority over roaming sim what. Imagine those higher priority bands got filled up/congested, then the lower the bands you move to, the weaker your connection..then if your phone lack certain bands then straight away downgrade to 2G liao ma. This also happened in Vietnam HCM when I was there with my friends. My Simba and Eight pretty good connection there, then some friends total cmi connection coz their phones lack certain bands.

chaiscool

if your underground MRT refer to green line from Outram Park to Bugis. Dont worry. dont said M1. singtel , starhub all no reception.. Tested all these traffic light myself.
Giga same
Eight also same.
So.. just be patient
How moi see ppl still can play game and watch shows in that route? 5G?

hkchew03

Because local sim has priority over roaming sim what. Imagine those higher priority bands got filled up/congested, then the lower the bands you move to, the weaker your connection..then if your phone lack certain bands then straight away downgrade to 2G liao ma. This also happened in Vietnam HCM when I was there with my friends. My Simba and Eight pretty good connection there, then some friends total cmi connection coz their phones lack certain bands.
Eh, u mixing band and priority,both are different thing... If I lack the band, how do u explain hotlink still in 4g/5g on the exact same phone...

chaiscool

Im considering zero1 for sub $10 plan, but open to eight if there's something magical abt it
This is just moi and moi old poco f1 but moi cannot use volte to make and receive call with zero1 $7 plan but can with eight $8 plan.

So magic for moi haha

wav35_

yes i read the FAQs.

for my case, it is advance payment for a renewal that has yet to start.
anyway i will ask Eight whether i can void the renewal that has yet to start or change the plan upon renewal,
may not be successful but never ask never know.
Can update the rest here would be good.

As expected, request not successful, even though my renewal has not started and its an 'advance payment'. In Eight terms, its called 'stacked plan'.

So lesson learnt, dun be gei kiang like me and go 'recharge' early - pay in advance for the next renewal that has yet to start.

wav35_

for me, the main draw is the roaming.
for $8, i get 10GB APAC roaming and its a no-brainer.
tried it in BKK last year and it worked very well.

the new $11.80 plan with 8GB Intl roaming is even better.

for local 288GB data, i have used it for hot spot multiple times connecting to laptop and it always works well.
downside is when underground MRT is in transit to the next stop, the connection is always very slow or at times non-existent - that does not really bother me though but if its important to you, then this is the downside.

and oh, 288 mins IDD talktime also came in useful unexpectedly. had to make a unplanned call to Japan last year and i did not have to worry about $$/charges at all. the call connection was pretty smooth too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.