Eight Telecom discussion thread

BBCWatcher

i can ask him to monitor for the next few days and try ur trick. But by rite 5G on maxis (should be usable for roaming). if need to force to use 4G to work or worst case it continues to show EDGE, then something is wrong with eight (roaming)....
Eight includes all 3 of Malaysia's largest mobile networks as roaming partners — a competitive advantage, actually. Why the fixation on Maxis? If Maxis isn't working well for you, switch to CelcomDigi or U Mobile.

sibeiTrolled

then it could be eight’s problem?
I wouldn't say it's eight problem.

Maybe due to congestion on roaming partner side or de-prioritze for eight user 🤷‍♂️

Sometimes when I forcefully set it to 5g then back to 4g only, it will just work.

This is just an issue when going into JB via bus using woodlands. Never faced issue when going in with car

hereiam7788

Eight includes all 3 of Malaysia's largest mobile networks as roaming partners — a competitive advantage, actually. Why the fixation on Maxis? If Maxis isn't working well for you, switch to CelcomDigi or U Mobile.

I dun think other partners work.

if u roam in jaybee u will know. So far only maxis works but the rest no even specified in the partners list.

MrRayded

Im in KL now with a Maxis prepaid sim as my 2nd sim, it is extremely obvious eight roaming with Maxis is heavily throttled/deprioritized, oftentimes im left without signal/internet while the Maxis Hotlink Prepaid Sim is perfectly fine with 4 bars and at least 4G connection.

Switching to Celcom & U-Mobile manually and roaming experience is much better on Eight with strong and stable connection. Anyone know how to change the default preferred telco to Celcom & U-Mobile on android for Eight instead of manually having to choose every time?

TyL3r_DuRd3n

Eight's signal in my new BTO estate is really CMI.
Simba also bad.
Fellow neighbours in telegram chat said Maxx is worst, no signal :s13::s13::s13::s13::s13:
Only singtel-backed network can make it.
Now I am finding singtel-back MVNO with the most generous roaming data and also at the same time affordable like eight, care to share? :grin:

chari-men

Simba also bad.
Fellow neighbours in telegram chat said Maxx is worst, no signal :s13::s13::s13::s13::s13:
Now I am finding singtel-back MVNO with the most generous roaming data and also at the same time affordable like eight, care to share? :grin:
Time to forfeit your bto and move liao.. it's a sign lol...

amazingone

Simba also bad.
for Singtel you may want to look at 5G plan from them and their MVNO, as their 4G nowadays isn't as good as the past

hereiam7788

Simba also bad.

indeed, even same roaming partner network maxis connected, eight is significantly weaker than vivifi. Proven.

previously thought of moving to eight due the fact that I can make idd calls or local calls when roaming and 10gb roaming data in APAC. Now I am hestitate.

AMD_Duron

Simba also bad.
Just port to Zero1 Streamo freedom plan lor, assume you are on eight, stay for 6 months get 6 months free, effective cost/month is $7.50 over 12 months, you get 5G (perpetual with eventual move to 5G SA) and ST network coverage with generous APAC and one time MIT roaming data.

A7997A

Just port to Zero1 Streamo freedom plan lor, assume you are on eight, stay for 6 months get 6 months free, effective cost/month is $7.50 over 12 months, you get 5G (perpetual with eventual move to 5G SA) and ST network coverage with generous APAC and one time MIT roaming data.
The trade off is the lost of VoWifi (this is the big one for me), free roaming calls & roaming beyond the 13 countries. Oh yea, also the risk for getting charged for unintended inbound call.

AMD_Duron

The trade off is the lost of VoWifi (this is the big one for me), free roaming calls & roaming beyond the 13 countries.
I see.. what is your use case for VoWifi? Poor voLTE at your area?

Free roaming calls then ST MVNOs not best option. Your requirements quite high, might want to consider dual mobile lines then. Unless you want to consider subscribing to add-ons.

A7997A

I see.. what is your use case for VoWifi? Poor voLTE at your area?
Primarily for SMS OTP on airplane mode. About 99.99% of my inbound cellular calls are spam calls.
Makes a huge difference for battery life, both in terms of run time per charge as well as extending the service life of the battery. I have a 4 year old iPhone with 93% battery life and a 18 month at 98% battery life.

Also great for OTP while overseas, it works even if roaming doesn't.
Free roaming calls then ST MVNOs not best option. Your requirements quite high, might want to consider dual mobile lines then. Unless you want to consider subscribing to add-ons.
Free roaming call & roaming beyond 13 countries is just pointing out the drawbacks, not a major concern for me. Being charged for unintended inbound call is a far bigger concern, which is applicable for Singtel MVNOs.
Simba & eight both work for me, although there are times I do wish for faster performance.

Lasogette

Just switched to eight and noticed the upload and download speed like slower than circles life. Maybe is my own feeling only. Lol.

But overall quite ok as I don't really download things alot.

Circles life got a sim swap lock protection u guys know if eight has it also ?

tidus792

Just switched to eight and noticed the upload and download speed like slower than circles life. Maybe is my own feeling only. Lol.

But overall quite ok as I don't really download things alot.

Circles life got a sim swap lock protection u guys know if eight has it also ?
No. That's probably uniquie to Circles only.

Baddieko

I went Jb KSL mall and City square tried Umobile is best for 8 with full bars. Celcom and Maxis speed is slow.

I heard Ipoh and Penang better use Maxis?

How about China? Anyone went can use WhatsApp , facebook?

elijahtcc

I went Jb KSL mall and City square tried Umobile is best for 8 with full bars. Celcom and Maxis speed is slow.

I went Penang Georgetown.. Maxis not working for me.. Only CelcomDigi working fine.. Strangely, in the airport, U-Mobile is working fine, but cannot get signal in the hotel I stay.. So I use CelcomDigi for the whole trip..

amazingone

Eight roaming in China can use WhatsApp and other banned social media at there, the partnered China Mobile network is strong.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.