Eight Telecom discussion thread

cloudystar

I was in Shandong, China the past week roaming with eight 5G and ZYM 5G.

Both lines roaming on China Mobile 5G and China Unicom 5G respectively.

I'd say the roaming experience is solid and reliable although 5G is not always available depending on where we travel to.

xiaofan

I was in Shandong, China the past week roaming with eight 5G and ZYM 5G.

Both lines roaming on China Mobile 5G and China Unicom 5G respectively.

I'd say the roaming experience is solid and reliable although 5G is not always available depending on where we travel to.

Great. It is good that eight 5G is able to connect to China Mobile 5G network.

My eight S$8 4G plan could only connect to China Mobile 4G network (still pretty good) but not 5G, in South Fujian.

I bought data eSIM from giga and it could connect to China Mobile 5G network (faster than 4G).

My brother's Gomo 5G plan was able to connect to China Mobile 5G network.

nuscape

Great. It is good that eight 5G is able to connect to China Mobile 5G network.
My eight S$8 4G plan could only connect to China Mobile 4G network (still pretty good) but not 5G, in South Fujian.
I bought data eSIM from giga and it could connect to China Mobile 5G network (faster than 4G).
My brother's Gomo 5G plan was able to connect to China Mobile 5G network.

can use tiktok with Eight in China?

xiaofan

I do not really use TikTok and I did not eight China roaming with TikTok.

However I tested SIMBA, CUniq and giga China data eSIM very briefly with TikTok and they were okay.

I was using two Poco X7 Pro phones for the short trip to South Fujian, China.

By right eight should work as well. You may want to disable location access if you encounter issues.

SIMBA roaming, no issues with 1080p60 HDR YouTube video.

MeWatch live TV works fine.

Singtel Cast live TV works fine (tested with the free CH501 JiaLe).

StarHub TV+ seems to work fine as well (tested with the free preview channel)

Singapore Pools website works fine.

TikTok seems to works fine as well but I do not really use TikTok.

Now I have used 920 MB roaming data on SIMBA.

Tested CUniq 4G S$9.9 plan roaming data with YouTube, meWatch and TikTok as well, all are working fine.

YouTube is only up to 1080p on Poco X7 Pro phone.

Tested free voice roaming call using Eight Mobile and SIMBA, both are working fine to call Singapore number and China number.

However, there is one problem, looks like many numbers in China now default to block international call.

Same for Singapore, you can choose to block international call and SMS, often during the initial setup stage.

Interestingly giga data eSIM (bought from giga Shopee official shop at S$1.86, 5 days, 1GB), is the only one which can connect 5G NSA (China BroadNet).

Typing the reply on this data eSIM.

MeWatch and TikTok work fine.

Somehow can not connect to Speedtest server.

I visited Jinjiang (晋江)and Shishi (石狮) in South Fujian today.

Eight (China Mobile) seems to perform a bit better than SIMBA (China Telecom ) and CUnq (China Unicom). I can seel the obvious lag when loading HWZ forum using SIMBA and CUniq, but not Eight.

Honda_typeR

Just went to 8 lucky plaza service centre to feedback on a non existent coverage at a particular space at vivo city.

Send emails no reply for several days. Settings have all been done accurately and 100% is 8 coverage at that area.

Personnel claims feedback also do not know manager or network team will look into it.

What kind of reply is that, is it pay peanuts get monkey attitute. Pay peanuts must at least work la. slow i still can accept, zero reception is pay peanuts get middle finger meh.

i told him loop me in on the email and i will settle with 8 management if no reply.

P.S I am on 5G 14.80 plan, not their lowest tier.

hclee01

Hi, can I check if anyone has this issue before?

I went to port in my line to Eight recently? I am pretty sure that I clicked through their voice call plan to subscribe for the Triple 8 Plan. However, when the confirmation comes in, it is showing as Triple 8 Data Plan instead.

Is there any one to change the Data Plan to a voice call plan? I am pretty sure I have made the right selection. I have just dropped them an email but thought it will be good to know if there are any past experiences. Thanks alot.

shawniiex

Just went to 8 lucky plaza service centre to feedback on a non existent coverage at a particular space at vivo city.

Send emails no reply for several days. Settings have all been done accurately and 100% is 8 coverage at that area.

Personnel claims feedback also do not know manager or network team will look into it.

What kind of reply is that, is it pay peanuts get monkey attitute. Pay peanuts must at least work la. slow i still can accept, zero reception is pay peanuts get middle finger meh.

i told him loop me in on the email and i will settle with 8 management if no reply.

LOL you pay singtel $50 plan they will just reply you ok will look into it. And surely nothing will happen also.

sibeiTrolled

I went to port in my line to Eight recently?
It gave you a choice to "Use current number" right?

When i tried to register for the data only plan, there wasn't any choice and it would say

"You have chosen a data-only plan"
Data-only mobile plan comes without a phone number. This can be used for devices e.g. Tablets, Cameras, Cars, or any secondary device. This can be good for your travel to Singapore and 58 countries with roaming data included!

This plan is unable to send / receive calls and SMS and does not support port-in of your number. Please verify your ID to proceed.

So if you managed to port in and that you have to type in your current number, it should be the voice plan and not the tourist sim / data only sim

Habrosus

LOL you pay singtel $50 plan they will just reply you ok will look into it. And surely nothing will happen also.
Oh, I even had to enlighten their CSO about the difference between auto roaming and data roaming hor! The duration was from placing my lunch order until I finished and got outside the restaurant. And trust me, back then Singtel sure as hell wasn't charging peanuts! :s13:

Singtel has Silly Shirley to give you her undivided attention too. :grin:

hclee01

It gave you a choice to "Use current number" right?

When i tried to register for the data only plan, there wasn't any choice and it would say

So if you managed to port in and that you have to type in your current number, it should be the voice plan and not the tourist sim / data only sim
Yes, i did inputted my number to port over. I shall wait till the porting is completed to see what plan I am in. Many thanks for your inputs!

eurofunk

Anyone notice their renewal dates getting 1 day earlier by the months? Putting aside the 31 days and 30 days in certain months. Eight has been renewing the plan earlier by 1 day and expiry has also been like earlier by less a day.
Eg. It used to renew say on 1st May and next renewal will be 1st June, then 1st July renewal to 1st Aug. Then suddenly it has been renewal 31st Aug and expires on 30 sept. Then renews on 30 sept and expires on 30 Oct, then it became auto renew on 30 Oct and expires on 29 Nov..followed by 29 nov renewed and expires on 29 Dec. Then sneakily it now says expires on 28th Jan 2026 instead of 29th Jan despite renewal on 29th Dec. So every month progressively they “makan” a day earlier through each renewal?

Mancunian2

Anyone notice their renewal dates getting 1 day earlier by the months? Putting aside the 31 days and 30 days in certain months. Eight has been renewing the plan earlier by 1 day and expiry has also been like earlier by less a day.
Eg. It used to renew say on 1st May and next renewal will be 1st June, then 1st July renewal to 1st Aug. Then suddenly it has been renewal 31st Aug and expires on 30 sept. Then renews on 30 sept and expires on 30 Oct, then it became auto renew on 30 Oct and expires on 29 Nov..followed by 29 nov renewed and expires on 29 Dec. Then sneakily it now says expires on 28th Jan 2026 instead of 29th Jan despite renewal on 29th Dec. So every month progressively they “makan” a day earlier through each renewal?
yes, I noticed this too

xiaofan

1. eight and SIMBA use 30 days billing, not monthly billing.

You can see the pricing is like S$14.8 per 30 days for the eight 5G plan. eight home Internet is at S$28.8 per 30 days.
https://www.eight.com.sg/

SIMBA plan is like S$12 per 30 days. SIMBA fibre internet is at S$29.99 per 30 days.
https://simba.sg/home

2. Edit to add:
Singtel heya and the replacement Singtel hi! 4G postpaid plan also use 30 days billing cycle.
https://heya.sg/
https://www.singtel.com/personal/products-services/mobile/hi

M1 Maxx is also using 30 days billing cycle.
https://www.m1.com.sg/terms-and-conditions/maxx
“Cycle” and “month” refers to 30 days.

yhw22

no problem with social media app as long you using local telecom simcard or non-china simcard. you will have problem accessing social media app with china simcard or wifi.
social media: whatsapp, facebook, etc......

xiaofan

There are reports of users having issues with TikTok when using eight and SIMBA roaming in China.

I guess that is probably specific to the phones or some corner cases.

skazzz

It was the same in my case, which is why I went directly to StarHub. Using your example, you have to report to Vivo endlessly till resolved or considering including IMDA (walking through a garden path with IMDA also).

StarHub service has been steadily deteriorating. Even when internal issues arise, they are often ignored.

Instead, eight customers are taken through basic troubleshooting steps—like walking through a garden path—only to be told the problem is beyond their scope.

It was only after involving a StarHub engineer onsite and filing an IMDA report that the stance shifted, with the company (eight) now claiming the matter has been escalated to the network team.

To make matters worse, StarHub management even suggested trying 5G, despite the fact that there is no coverage. At this point, it’s not about how many “G” you have

hclee01

Wait for the port-in process to complete and the app info updated.
Hi.. thanks for your inputs. Can I check typically what's the timeline for porting in to be completed? I have signed up online and collected SIM card yesterday at the authorised dealer in the afternoon around 2pm. To-date, it has yet to be ported over.

xiaofan

Hi.. thanks for your inputs. Can I check typically what's the timeline for porting in to be completed? I have signed up online and collected SIM card yesterday at the authorised dealer in the afternoon around 2pm. To-date, it has yet to be ported over.

Usually it takes one day to three working days.

Habrosus

Probably tonight, so check about 9am tomorrow for app update. Otherwise... with the New Year holiday, expect a further delay.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.