Eight Telecom discussion thread

xiaofan

chaiscool

Eight 4G network smh cannot even do basic google search cuz every attempt kena captcha bot sia. Moi now try to use openvpn to home router, seems to bypass it.

So for those who struggle with it can try too.

xiaofan

Eight 4G network smh cannot even do basic google search cuz every attempt kena captcha bot sia. Moi now try to use openvpn to home router, seems to bypass it.

That is different issue from congestion. Basically eight 4G is using CGNAT (no public IPv4 address) and the upstream IPv4 address is shared by many users. It may be flagged by Google.

Singtel 4G and Singtel 5G NSA will have similar things. They also use CGNAT. In fact, I believe all the mobile networks here in Singapore use CGNAT on the IPv4 side.

For 5G SA connections you will usually get IPv6 and much less likely to be flagged by Google.

Using VPN will help to sort out the issue. Reboot the phone may get a new shared IPv4 address and may well sort out the issue as well.

Easy well is to use Cloudflare 1.1.1.1 Warp VPN (not the DNS mode). It is free. It is not a traditional VPN but should work for this purpose (also okay for public WiFi security).

chaiscool

That is different issue from congestion. Basically eight 4G is using CGNAT (no public IPv4 address) and the upstream IPv4 address is shared by many users. It may be flagged by Google.

Singtel 4G and Singtel 5G NSA will have similar things. They also use CGNAT. In fact, I believe all the mobile networks here in Singapore use CGNAT on the IPv4 side.

For 5G SA connections you will usually get IPv6 and much less likely to be flagged by Google.

Using VPN will help to sort out the issue. Reboot the phone may get a new shared IPv4 address and may well sort out the issue as well.

Easy well is to use Cloudflare 1.1.1.1 Warp VPN (not the DNS mode). It is free. It is not a traditional VPN but should work for this purpose (also okay for public WiFi security).
Those 3rd cloudflare kind vpn go where? Moi initially tried vpn but the search result all foreign country one. Hence, moi used openvpn to moi own router.

Also, moi feel like it's apple issue sia. Moi other android phones like never kena.

xiaofan

Those 3rd cloudflare kind vpn go where? Moi initially tried vpn but the search result all foreign country one. Hence, moi used openvpn to moi own router.

Also, moi feel like it's apple issue sia. Moi other android phones like never kena.

Cloudflare free Warp VPN server will only use SG server here in Singapore. The free version is not a good VPN server but just nice for this purpose.
https://one.one.one.one/

Warp+ paid subscription is needed for those who want full VPN features (eg: connect to different server locations).

No issues for you to use VPN server on the router. I do that as well (Wireguard VPN server on OpenWRT router).

xiaofan

Signed to Eight 5G this morning and ported in my number from MyRepublic. Got an eSIM QR code with temporary number, which I activated and within 3 hours, my old number was ported in and the old MyRepublic line closed. Very impressive!

Nice.

Within StarHub network (StarHub, giga, eight, MR 5G plans, CUniq and RedOne), the porting process seem to be pretty fast as per the reports.

My colleague was porting from giga 5G plan to eight 5G and the whole process took less than one hour.

Across networks it may take longer. I have done porting from M1 Maxx 5G to CUniq 4G (physical SIM), and then from CUniq 4G to Singtel hi! 4G (eSIM). Both took about two working days (not counting the physical SIM delivery time in the first case).

The longest recent report was from M1 Maxx to Singtel MVNOs during December 2025 time, which took much longer than the typical three working days time frame, as M1 Maxx had quota for porting out.

yuri2

I just signed up for eight seniors plan, 4G.
I don't have such problem with google search, using Brave browser.

skazzz

The same problem comes up quite often when using Safari on iOS.
The problem doesn’t occur while using Wi‑Fi.

xiaofan

The same problem comes up quite often when using Safari on iOS.
The problem doesn’t occur while using Wi‑Fi.

For WiFi you are usually not using CGNAT and has your own public IPv4 address (not shared with others).

1) Fibre ISPs not using CGNAT be default:
SingTel, M1, StarHub, Whizcomms, eight Home Internet.

2) Fibre ISPs using CGNAT be default:
Myrepublic (with paid static IPv4 add-on to get public IPv4 address)
Viewquest (with paid static IPv4 add-on to get public IPv4 address)

SIMBA (no options to get public IPv4 address, but can get IPv6).

3) Potential issues with CGNAT:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carrier-grade_NAT?wprov=sfla1

• In cases of banning traffic based on IP addresses, a system might block the traffic of a spamming user by banning the user's IP address. If that user happens to be behind carrier-grade NAT, other users sharing the same public address with the spammer will be inadvertently blocked.[7] This can create problems for forum and wiki administrators attempting to address disruptive actions of a single malicious user sharing an IP address with legitimate users.
  • Streaming media services may see CG-NAT activity as equivalent to VPN or account sharing traffic. Such services often block or ban VPN users for breaching terms of service under an assumption they are accessing content from a cheaper region in an attempt to pay less money for the service, and account sharing traffic being blocked for multiple distinct households or users accessing the content for the price of one login.

xiaofan

How's the 5G eight network so far??

1) Different reports here. Some say no much improvement over eight 4G, some say good.

Personally I feel eight 5G will be quiet a bit better than eight 4G. I do not have eight 5G myself but I have eight 4G and StarHub Prepaid S 5G. I can say StarHub Prepaid S 5G is quite a bit better.

My colleague ported from giga 5G to eight 5G and he told me no differences between the two for local usage. Pricing is also similar but eight 5G provides much better roaming benefits including free voice roaming. He would not consider eight 4G at all as he feel eight 5G price is already quite reasonable.

Also you need to consider the cost difference between eight 4G and eight 5G. Some users just tahan eight 4G despite the obvious congestion issue. My other colleague using eight 4G plan as the main line feels the deteriorating situation but he is still okay since the effective price is only S$4 per month.

I use eight 4G as a backup line and for roaming. I will for sure choose eight 5G over eight 4G if I need to use one of them as the main line.

2) But if you compare with other providers using SingTel 5G network, eight 5G may be a bit worse for local usage.

3) All in all, you have to test by yourself. Different people have different use cases and preferences. Some prefer to pay a bit more for more stable connection, some prefer to pay lower cost and can tahan some inconveniences.

Mancunian2

How's the 5G eight network so far??
after using it for almost a month, I find Eight 5G to be a vast improvement over its 4G sibling,
most of the time can get at least 300 mbps download, though upload is much slower

outdoors - no 5G dead spots where 4G didn't connect in the past
indoors - often revert to 4G, so 5G may not be that useful

I didn't take the MRT at all during the past month, so cannot comment

chari-men

1) Different reports here. Some say no much improvement over eight 4G, some say good.

Personally I feel eight 5G will be quiet a bit better than eight 4G. I do not have eight 5G myself but I have eight 4G and StarHub Prepaid S 5G. I can say StarHub Prepaid S 5G is quite a bit better.

My colleague ported from giga 5G to eight 5G and he told me no differences between the two for local usage. Pricing is also similar but eight 5G provides much better roaming benefits including free voice roaming. He would not consider eight 4G at all as he feel eight 5G price is already quite reasonable.

Also you need to consider the cost difference between eight 4G and eight 5G. Some users just tahan eight 4G despite the obvious congestion issue. My other colleague using eight 4G plan as the main line feels the deteriorating situation but he is still okay since the effective price is only S$4 per month.

I use eight 4G as a backup line and for roaming. I will for sure choose eight 5G over eight 4G if I need to use one of them as the main line.

2) But if you compare with other providers using SingTel 5G network, eight 5G may be a bit worse for local usage.

3) All in all, you have to test by yourself. Different people have different use cases and preferences. Some prefer to pay a bit more for more stable connection, some prefer to pay lower cost and can tahan some inconveniences.
Nice.. yup the main difference of eight vs giga is the roaming and idd offerings.. I find the giga 5G network coverage much more stable than my gomo 5G.. less airplane mode of death...probably can test the singtel 5G vs eight 5G speeds next time when I port lol ...

chari-men

after using it for almost a month, I find Eight 5G to be a vast improvement over its 4G sibling,
most of the time can get at least 300 mbps download, though upload is much slower

outdoors - no 5G dead spots where 4G didn't connect in the past
indoors - often revert to 4G, so 5G may not be that useful

I didn't take the MRT at all during the past month, so cannot comment
Yup my giga 5G upload speeds also not that great.. but download is pretty stable..sounds just like eight 5G..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.