Eight Telecom discussion thread

neptunesea

Now I just hoping there's 5G even for basic $8 plan or senior plan
Definitely not so soon to have 5G on the bottom tier $8 plan, as there would be no incentive for most to upgrade to the higher end plans.

So far none of the 3 telcos have publicly indicated to phase out 4G. Globally only T-Mobile in the US has pledged to do so. With the shutdown of 5G NSA, tourists in singapore would only be able to roam on 4G, as 5G SA roaming is yet to take off.

BBCWatcher

Unlikely for the S$8 4G plan, not any time soon anyway.
I've pointed this out before, but I think at least one of the MVNOs should try a split 5G/4G allocation to see if they can fetch a dollar or two of additional revenue per budget minded subscriber — if it's technically possible. For example, on a hypothetical S$9.80 plan Eight could offer 18GB of 5G data and 288GB of 4G data. And perhaps even discontinue their S$8 plan for new subscribers. Many MVNOs in other countries have plans with a "skinny" allotment of "full speed" data followed by a larger allotment of "decent speed" data.

jess_sy

Unlikely for the S$8 4G plan, not any time soon anyway.

However, for Senior Plan, Singtel and Gomo have the 5G S$6 Senior plan, Starhub 5G Senior Plan Passion Card offer is also at S$6. So I think there is a chance for eight to have S$5 or S$6 Senior plan in the future.
Yeah even the singtel hi plan is also 5G

ichinisan

Now I just hoping there's 5G even for basic $8 plan or senior plan

Even if they were to have 5G for the $8 plan/senior plan, I reckon it would be something like a port-in promotion offering 5G for a few months like what some other MVNOs have.

I wonder if Eight will upgrade their plans now that other MVNOs like Zero1/Zym have really good promotions for port-ins and new sign ups.

The $10.10 plans that Zero1 and Zym have, comes with more attractive roaming data now and also 5G for 6 months.

Eight's $11.80 and $14.80 plan are more expensive, don't have free 5G and the roaming pales in comparison. For eg. the APAC roaming only covers 6 countries and 8 countries respectively while Zero1/Zym APAC roaming covers 13 countries. International roaming is only 8gb as compared to 15gb too.

xiaofan

gapboy

https://www.eight.com.sg/locations/service-centres/

Hi for sim card replacement, is it really as per the above link, only these few locations? :)

Any idea what happens if I fail to renew my plan and there's balance inside? (For my case auto-renew is not enabled and I lost my sim) :(
yea they have these "few" locations. Even mvno like Z1 also have limited service locations

xiaofan

Thanks bro, jialat Im not even near any of these

But for this, do u know?
Any idea what happens if I fail to renew my plan and there's balance inside? (For my case auto-renew is not enabled and I lost my sim) :(

The balance will be gone. You have to go to the service centre to sort out the issue in this case.

https://www.eight.com.sg/critical-information-summary/

Credits in the Main Balance have cash value but are non-refundable or exchangeable for cash. Any unused credits at termination will be forfeited.

frizee

gapboy

Thanks bro, jialat Im not even near any of these

But for this, do u know?
Email them first or FB chat them .. let them know when you are available to go down.. at least have a record to check with them as it was reported. You might need to take some time off from work to settle it.

Main Service Centre Locations (Mon-Fri, 11AM-7PM):
Clementi Service Centre: Blk 442 Clementi Ave 3, #01-87, Singapore 120442 (near Clementi MRT).
Pasir Ris Service Centre: 71 Pasir Ris Drive 3, #01-05, Singapore 519872 (Pasir Ris Bus Interchange).
Punggol Coast Service Centre: 1 Santul Walk, #01-312, Singapore 829858 (Punggol Coast Bus Interchange).

** Maybe good to port out this telco since it is giving you so much issues..

frizee

Email them first or FB chat them .. let them know when you are available to go down.. at least have a record to check with them as it was reported. You might need to take some time off from work to settle it.

Main Service Centre Locations (Mon-Fri, 11AM-7PM):
Clementi Service Centre: Blk 442 Clementi Ave 3, #01-87, Singapore 120442 (near Clementi MRT).
Pasir Ris Service Centre: 71 Pasir Ris Drive 3, #01-05, Singapore 519872 (Pasir Ris Bus Interchange).
Punggol Coast Service Centre: 1 Santul Walk, #01-312, Singapore 829858 (Punggol Coast Bus Interchange).

** Maybe good to port out this telco since it is giving you so much issues..
No lah because I misplaced my sim card, so far no issues bro :)

Ya I email them already, maybe after 11am/6pm I rush over bah

gapboy

Haha just see if they can chop chop issue me e-sim or physical sim cuz my renewal is in 3 days time :D
not sure it is chargable. Google AI

Based on Eight's official information, replacing a lost SIM or eSIM card is generally not chargable.

Cost: SIM replacement is free of charge at Eight Service Centres.
Process: You need to visit one of the eight Service Centres for a replacement SIM or eSIM.
Requirements: The account holder must be present in person for verification.

frizee

not sure it is chargable. Google AI

Based on Eight's official information, replacing a lost SIM or eSIM card is generally not chargable.

Cost: SIM replacement is free of charge at Eight Service Centres.
Process: You need to visit one of the eight Service Centres for a replacement SIM or eSIM.
Requirements: The account holder must be present in person for verification.
Wah ok can, if chargeable then i sian already

Lunch if got time i chiong down and see how bah :)

Thanks!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.