Eight Telecom discussion thread

Habrosus

Indeed. I was just giving a quick example. My wife will upgrade to iPhone 18 later this year or early next year (some reports say this year there may be no standard iPhone 18, only iPhone 18 Pro). So I can compare at that time with my Poco X7 Pro and Poco X8 Pro Max.

But there are many such reports, compare iPhone flagship to Android flagships or Huawei flagships, and iPhones have poorer signal receptions.
Strangely, my newly upgraded Simba SIM card has been giving me smooth-as-butter surfing in my iPhone 13PM since Day 1.

Even showing 1 bar more than my Singtel 1528.
:o

Guess I should observe further. :grin:

ukey

Yes, that's the current rumor consensus, that the most expensive iPhone 18 models will be introduced this September (including the first foldable iPhone) followed by the "regular" iPhone 18 and 18e models in or about March, 2027....

But the iPhone 17e (introduced in March, 2026) is already an excellent phone and the best value in the current new model range. Typically available starting under S$800 from local mobile phone shops (new, activated, usually 350+ days of remaining warranty).
Can also try https://shop.singtel.com/accessories/rrp-products/apple-iphone-air

Think SingTel clearing stock. 1039 for ip air no contract.

Skypower

Eight has "fake" roaming, it is suitable for Whatsapp texting, or iMessage only.

If you try to stream, it is super slow. If you try to send / receive a Whatsapp video, it is taking a long time to load. Websites will take a long time to load

"Real" roaming is when you use Singtel's postpaid like 5G enhanced plan, those types of lines will give you normal speeds. Speeds of up 700Mbps can be had....

So, the question is 900GB of extremely slow speed or 50GB of high speed

I am a cheapskate, so I will stick to the cheap plan and rely on wifi for any "real" internet usage
try connect to VPN everytime u feel things are slow... my experience is good after connected to VPN.

comcrepe

Guys, these days I am facing lot of connection issues with EIGHT, Whatsapp Video Call having lot of problems, is it me only or others also facing similar network issues!
yes, i'm facing similar issues. for mine, the issues are failed calls and i'm not referring to calls made via whatsapp. just regular calls to my mum's landline or mobile phone. calls will fail and i thought my mum did not place her landline phone back in the cradle properly.

i did a test call to my 2nd mobile (also on eight mobile) and can't call. i had to toggle airplane mode, wait a few seconds then i can call out. did the same test calls from my 2nd mobiel to confirm it's not my iphone issue, same problem. both iphones on eight mobile network have failed call issues.

my work place is in the bugis area so i thought it's congestion. just did a test at night at home and faced similar problems. test call 5 times, will fail at least twice.

HuatKway

yes, i'm facing similar issues. for mine, the issues are failed calls and i'm not referring to calls made via whatsapp. just regular calls to my mum's landline or mobile phone. calls will fail and i thought my mum did not place her landline phone back in the cradle properly.

i did a test call to my 2nd mobile (also on eight mobile) and can't call. i had to toggle airplane mode, wait a few seconds then i can call out. did the same test calls from my 2nd mobiel to confirm it's not my iphone issue, same problem. both iphones on eight mobile network have failed call issues.

my work place is in the bugis area so i thought it's congestion. just did a test at night at home and faced similar problems. test call 5 times, will fail at least twice.
I'm dying to this issue since the port. I restarted my phone multiple times, have the correct settings, my alternate Simba SIM works but my eight can never call or receive calls even with volte enabled. at my wits end because it's my main number. really regretted signing for 1 year and porting over. any bros have any suggestions? also reported to their support early this week, sent a chaser email. none got a response. really a bad lesson learnt to never be cheapskate :(

TyL3r_DuRd3n

I'm dying to this issue since the port. I restarted my phone multiple times, have the correct settings, my alternate Simba SIM works but my eight can never call or receive calls even with volte enabled. at my wits end because it's my main number. really regretted signing for 1 year and porting over. any bros have any suggestions? also reported to their support early this week, sent a chaser email. none got a response. really a bad lesson learnt to never be cheapskate :(
did u ever activate a function in your phone of no-show-caller-ID ?
Hide caller ID: *31#
Unhide caller ID: #31#

No harm trying. Let us know the result.

comcrepe

think the only solution or lesson to learn here is never sign a contract with any telco in the future.

Anyway, it seems to be working fine this morning. i will try again when i am at work next week to see if the issue surfaces again.

If it does, then I'll just port out. my billing cycle refreshes on 30 june so the most i lugi 8 bucks if i port out next week.

ZhuTou!

The email is useless. They cant do anything. U have to go down their service ctr. The email will ask u to go down as well.

Eight have lots of weird issue recently. Saw in fb, i think someone cannot receive call from hospital. The rest no problem. For my own case, i cannot receive incoming call and sms. After going down service ctr for 3 times, ongoing for 1 mth, still cannot resolve. So i decided to port out instead. Solved my issue instantly.

HuatKway

think the only solution or lesson to learn here is never sign a contract with any telco in the future.

Anyway, it seems to be working fine this morning. i will try again when i am at work next week to see if the issue surfaces again.

If it does, then I'll just port out. my billing cycle refreshes on 30 june so the most i lugi 8 bucks if i port out next week.
yea bro... saving that 20+ dollars and a year of suffering. they have basically non existent support for emergency issues. have to head down to their small service center and they also couldn't help.

kun1he2

Perhaps the issue may be more prevalent, just that most of us probably hardly use normal voice calls these days to notice.

Might be useful to provide more details:
- Physical SIM or eSIM?
- Mobile phone model?
- Single or Dual SIM active (possible interference?)
- Location?
- 4G or 5G?
- etc?

HuatKway

The email is useless. They cant do anything. U have to go down their service ctr. The email will ask u to go down as well.

Eight have lots of weird issue recently. Saw in fb, i think someone cannot receive call from hospital. The rest no problem. For my own case, i cannot receive incoming call and sms. After going down service ctr for 3 times, ongoing for 1 mth, still cannot resolve. So i decided to port out instead. Solved my issue instantly.
the stupid thing I went down to their service center and they said have to do via email because they can't help. lol

HuatKway

got give clementi service centre lady a chance to help u resolve this?
that day I went was the guy. first time I went was the lady who helped me generate a new esim. the guy escalated to his tech team for help via email which I'm still waiting for it.... I tried every setting I can already lol...

HuatKway

Perhaps the issue may be more prevalent, just that most of us probably hardly use normal voice calls these days to notice.

Might be useful to provide more details:
- Physical SIM or eSIM?
- Mobile phone model?
- Single or Dual SIM active (possible interference?)
- Location?
- 4G or 5G?
- etc?
Physical SIM or eSIM? -esim
- Mobile phone model? -samsung s25 ultra
- Single or Dual SIM active (possible interference?) - single and dual tried. I had to activate my simba over this phone because it couldn't work
- Location? - west. I tried when I was east and central both couldn't work anyway
- 4G or 5G? - tried both

volte is present. simba can dial out and receive. eight just says number not valid when I dial out and doo doo doo... friends can't call me either.

Habrosus

that day I went was the guy. first time I went was the lady who helped me generate a new esim. the guy escalated to his tech team for help via email which I'm still waiting for it.... I tried every setting I can already lol...
It's the Clementi one that couldn't resolve but to seek help via email as well? Then gong-gong already.

It's either that guy is new, your issue is very serious, or Eight really gong2 liao.

Punggol one CMI that I knew, not been to the Canberra one, Lucky Plaza latest visit looks alright though I was only there to collect SIM card, Clementi one I thought is our only hopeful hope especially with a certain lady (or 2) there but now...

🤔

Forget email lah, that one I consider CMI already.

HuatKway

It's the Clementi one that couldn't resolve but to seek help via email as well? Then gong-gong already.

It's either that guy is new, your issue is very serious, or Eight really gong2 liao.

Punggol one CMI that I knew, not been to the Canberra one, Lucky Plaza latest visit looks alright though I was only there to collect SIM card, Clementi one I thought is our only hopeful hope especially with a certain lady (or 2) there but now...

🤔

Forget email lah, that one I consider CMI already.
yea bro. this is amazingly bad. laughing at my own stupidity actually. I'm thinking to forsake my 100+ paid and just port over now .. damn Sian also

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.