Eight Telecom discussion thread

Habrosus

Yeah usa and Japan lol.. even chat with them before expiry also no to no avail.

Then best part come back, they deregistered my number just 1 day after renewal expiry. Had to wait till 9am when chat is back to restore. Crappy experience. Called singtel hotline and they can't do anything.
You chose the cheaper MVNO, ST won't be so stupid to do anything when it's not earning your $. Unless yours is the true ST line, then maybe...

IMDA is the boss, right? The party to complain if you think they've done something wrong.

yonkou

Anyone has tried Eight signal in Malaysia? Are they on 4g or 5g signal in Malaysia?

Valdyr

lol surprise so many hwz people are in that fb group :LOL: :LOL: he is a retiree v free ma

Buay paiseh retiree but use AI Generated profile photo of a young fictional person, some more create multiple FB Profiles.

What's more funny, got "Welcome to our new members" post, inside the list of names got two of the admin own account there. Nice act 🤡 :ROFLMAO:

MGeaR356

You chose the cheaper MVNO, ST won't be so stupid to do anything when it's not earning your $. Unless yours is the true ST line, then maybe...

IMDA is the boss, right? The party to complain if you think they've done something wrong.
Haha I know but was trying my luck since it was before 9am and the webby mentioned - heya by Singtel

yusoffb01

Guys read somewhere that volte is not available in eight.

But somewhere in this thread that 1 aug, ruling is all mvno will have volte? Can't find the new article on it leh..

Read somewhere that starhub mvno redone has volte?

Gonna port over to eight next month. Heya really messed up with only sms otp when I was overseas for 3 weeks and no roaming. So my accumulated mins were forfeited.
9pEdDsP.jpg

see volte icon

xsoldix

Don't know what template they using for their web page.

I search faq and spotted weird stuffs.
here's the link / source:

:ROFLMAO:

I ask Gemini GPT

Isoton Australia isn't a mobile service provider itself, but rather a company that enables other companies to provide mobile services. Here's a breakdown:
  • What Isoton Does: Isoton is a Mobile Virtual Network Enabler (MVNE). They provide the technology and infrastructure that allows other companies, called Mobile Virtual Network Operators (MVNOs) to offer mobile phone services. Think of them as the behind-the-scenes engine that powers some of Australia's mobile brands.
  • Isoton's Track Record: Founded in 1988, Isoton has been a major player in the Australian telco scene for over 30 years. They were one of the first companies to launch a dedicated MVNE platform and have facilitated millions of mobile activations for various brands.
  • Who Uses Isoton? Large and small telco companies partner with Isoton to launch their own mobile brands or sub-brands. Some well-known Australian MVNOs that likely leverage Isoton's platform include Kogan Mobile, Lebara, and iiNet.
If you're interested in mobile service plans, you'd want to check out the offerings of Isoton's MVNO partners rather than Isoton itself. However, Isoton plays a crucial role in enabling competition and innovation in the Australian mobile market.

crystalnox

My eight sim reports that it is 5G SA and VoNR capable on iPhone. Of course not provisioned by eight sadly.
VoLTE definitely working.

dgeralds

Found the answer...

Hi all. Quick question. Planning to go to retailer today.

1. Have port-in started for EIGHT? - started as of 7 Jul 2024

2. Does EIGHT have Esim? If I go to retiler, can I get e-sim? - Esim not started yet as at 7 Jul 2024

I found he following in EIGHT website (under Activation)..."lease come over in person, as the regulation requires the sign-up to be physically present with your identification documents. If you cannot head down, sign up online and opt for eSIM or postal mail delivery!"

Thank you.

gapboy

Hi all. Quick question. Planning to go to retailer today.
1. Have port-in started for EIGHT?
2. Does EIGHT have Esim? If I go to retiler, can I get e-sim?
I found he following in EIGHT website (under Activation)..."lease come over in person, as the regulation requires the sign-up to be physically present with your identification documents. If you cannot head down, sign up online and opt for eSIM or postal mail delivery!"
Thank you.

Port in at shops... No eSIM.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.