Eight Telecom discussion thread

~sabaisabai~

I was drawing up a spreadsheet for myself to show the differences between eight maxx simba...
Maxx really made it so obvious with 10c cheaper for successful port-in promo, 11GB more for local data, 1GB more for APAC data...
crazy.gif

yeah. looks attractive. only no idd calls. doesn't matter. we can use WhatsApp to call

at least m1 maxx has phone support.

so far eight is smooth for me. but will monitor few more months. if got issues then I may port out to maxx

eight is so aggressive taking new sign up. I'm very sure they are not able to handle massive subscription for now given that they are new.

I wouldn't want to top up many months to the extend I'm tied down. cannot jump. I'll top up monthly. if other mvno has better offer and good support I may jump 🤣

Habrosus

https://www.eight.com.sg/help

Frequently Asked Questions

https://www.eight.com.sg/faq-renew-recharge-and-billing

• What happens if I do not renew my plan?
    • If you miss the date to renew your plan, you can renew it the next day. Simply do it on eight account or visit our retailers/ service centre.
    • At your plan expiry, the plan will go into a grace period of 60 days. During which you can receive SMS and notification to recharge. After 60 days, you will continue to receive SMS, however all unused wallet credit will be forfeited.

~sabaisabai~

Actually I read your post yesterday about forgetting to enter NDP promo code and so when I signed up online yesterday evening I specifically remembered to enter the NDP promo code but at the summary it shows 30 days free but also shows the promo code being captured so to test I clicked the (x) beside the captured promo code to release it then I backed out of the application process then I started a fresh application and entered the promo code and the summary still shows 30 days free and the promo code being captured so I just submitted and hope for the best.

you ported in successfully? can you see 2 cycles of plan in eight apps?

Habrosus

https://www.eight.com.sg/faq-manage-my-account

• How do I terminate the mobile plan?
    We are sad to see you leave Is this something we can fix? Please write in to us at helpme@eight.com.sg with the details.

There are a few ways for termination:
    • You can let the mobile plan run its current cycle and not reload
    • Head over to our service centre for termination, please bring along your NRIC that was used for the registration of the number
    • You can write in to helpme@eight.com.sgwith the below details as part of user verification. Do note that this action will be irreversible.
      • Name as per NRIC:
      • Last 4 digits of NRIC:
      • Your eight number:
      • Your date of birth:
      • Photo of the back of your SIM card/Screenshot of your “myAccount” login

loganrunning

......on top of many people waiting to be spoon-fed.

agree here.

MVNO is low price for a reason. self-help and do own legwork. insert <peanuts>

NDP promo: just above the Super Eight "buy" button, there is bold letters, Promo code: EIGHTNDP2024
If miss it, then just shrug shoulders, accept accountability and consequences. Then, decide to stay or not, afterall, it's still 30 days free, just not 88. if still want 88 days, port out, and in.

For those that want full service, want to be spoon fed, not want to travel a short distance to resolve issues (how big is sg? Ubi is next to an MRT!!!), want service centres near office/home, got pretty girl to attend and key in info instead of doing by self online, then the only choice is MNO.

XGZ1503

https://www.eight.com.sg/help

Frequently Asked Questions

https://www.eight.com.sg/faq-renew-recharge-and-billing

• What happens if I do not renew my plan?
    • If you miss the date to renew your plan, you can renew it the next day. Simply do it on eight account or visit our retailers/ service centre.
    • At your plan expiry, the plan will go into a grace period of 60 days. During which you can receive SMS and notification to recharge. After 60 days, you will continue to receive SMS, however all unused wallet credit will be forfeited.
So need to manually renew even if there is credit in our wallet?

~sabaisabai~

agree here.
MVNO is low price for a reason. self-help and do own legwork. insert <peanuts>
NDP promo: just above the Super Eight "buy" button, there is bold letters, Promo code:
EIGHTNDP2024
If miss it, then just shrug shoulders, accept accountability and consequences. Then, decide to stay or not, afterall, it's still 30 days free, just not 88. if still want 88 days, port out, and in.
For those that want full service, want to be spoon fed, not want to travel a short distance to resolve issues (how big is sg? Ubi is next to an MRT!!!), want service centres near office/home, got pretty girl to attend and key in info instead of doing by self online, then the only choice is MNO.

agree lo. I forgot to enter code. so only 30 days free. but it doesn't matter. just pay for $8 plan. Still cheap

~sabaisabai~

spoken like a mature adult !
lols.. its logic mah, is my fault that i forgot to enter, i myself to blame leh
so just go with it lor, like you said, port in and port out again to sign with the code but to me, is not worth the trouble. if give 30 days free, it is good enough for me liao, means i need not to pay for one month

this line is for my family one, simba to eight. not my own line. for me i chose $8 cos i need the 8gb roaming data. pretty smooth port in from simba although i did it via online.. heng ah:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

loganrunning

I was drawing up a spreadsheet for myself to show the differences between eight maxx simba...

Maxx really made it so obvious with 10c cheaper for successful port-in promo, 11GB more for local data, 1GB more for APAC data... :crazy:

I have lines on both, as they serve different needs for me, so i'm neutral towards the differences

price-wise, they are about the same.

porting wise, maxx had a shorter wait time ie "port in approved" to start of porting in process, but a longer time to complete ie when line was fully functional at 1000 (about 11 hours TAT)

eight had a longer wait time because i activated the line around 2100, so i probaly missed the time slot for that night. but on the following night, the actual port in process was less than 3 hours, fully functional after 0300 (when i checked, it may have completed before that).

m1 support is more mature simply because they have been around longer, but it could be much better given it's age. Still, i'm keeping an eye on whether they will pull stunts as mentioned in the m1 mobile thread.

end of day, mobile (or even fibre internet) service should be like utilities - boring and invisible like water and electricity and gas. pay regularly, service delivered promptly and regularly, and you don't think about it.

~sabaisabai~

Maxx really made it so obvious with 10c cheaper for successful port-in promo, 11GB more for local data, 1GB more for APAC data... :crazy:
and the difference is - maxx has phone support, whereas eight does not have it
even with $9.90, it is also cheap to come with phone support plus 10gb data roaming

amazingone

https://www.eight.com.sg/faq-manage-my-account

• How do I terminate the mobile plan?
    We are sad to see you leave Is this something we can fix? Please write in to us at helpme@eight.com.sg with the details.

There are a few ways for termination:
    • You can let the mobile plan run its current cycle and not reload
    • Head over to our service centre for termination, please bring along your NRIC that was used for the registration of the number
    • You can write in to helpme@eight.com.sgwith the below details as part of user verification. Do note that this action will be irreversible.
      • Name as per NRIC:
      • Last 4 digits of NRIC:
      • Your eight number:
      • Your date of birth:
      • Photo of the back of your SIM card/Screenshot of your “myAccount” login
This should be pinned, but there will definitely be people coming back asking to be spoonfed with this information. :crazy:

loganrunning

lols.. its logic mah, is my fault that i forgot to enter, i myself to blame leh
so just go with it lor, like you said, port in and port out again to sign with the code but to me, is not worth the trouble. if give 30 days free, it is good enough for me liao, means i need not to pay for one month

this line is for my family one, simba to eight. not my own line. for me i chose $8 cos i need the 8gb roaming data. pretty smooth port in from simba although i did it via online.. heng ah:ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

yah, i cut one line to port in. lucky i took my time, because they announced NDP promo, so ported in and got 88 days. Can't complain...

i was also lucky with the port in to eight and maxx. both fast and troublefree. both cases done online, despite reading the cases here. i dunno, lucky, stupid, or needing excitement :ROFLMAO:

loganrunning

and the difference is - maxx has phone support, whereas eight does not have it
even with $9.90, it is also cheap to come with phone support plus 10gb data roaming

not defending eight, but for m1, they already have a call centre operation, so the marginal cost of adding maxx phone support is lower than for eight.

hopefully eight can scale up quickly and meet the expectations they set

~sabaisabai~

yah, i cut one line to port in. lucky i took my time, because they announced NDP promo, so ported in and got 88 days. Can't complain...

i was also lucky with the port in to eight and maxx. both fast and troublefree. both cases done online, despite reading the cases here. i dunno, lucky, stupid, or needing excitement :ROFLMAO:
same here lor, i dont know if i am lucky or not too, cos my port in also very smooth, trouble free too :p
song song gao zoolong? :ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

~sabaisabai~

If number not that pretty, just cancel. Then apply again. This time round put in the promo code ok le.
i am okay to pay. no worries lah, $8 only, not $80
no no no, not for me, too troublesome.. thus i am ok to pay $8 for trouble free
is one of my family number to port in, cannot change number

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.